Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby SABrent0779 » Sat May 24, 2014 8:51 pm

I just purchased Cubase 7.5 Elements and have set up my Windows 8.1 PC with a Yamaha Audiogram 6 USB interface. I have downloaded and installed the most up-to-date drivers. Using both VST setups of Mono or Stereo, I can only get audio recordings on the left channel. I have toggled the buttons on the interface between Stereo and Mono - I have toggled the input settings on the tracks in my project between stereo and mono. I still only get recording on the left channel. At some point, i'd like to hear something in my right ear!

Clearly I'm missing something that's probably rather basic. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
SABrent0779
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby BriHar » Mon May 26, 2014 8:31 am

Generally if you're recording a single channel source (you don't mention what you're trying to record!) you'll want to record this to a mono track, which will route to your stereo output buss. If the Pan on the mono track is in centred, it should be heard in both speakers. If this isn't the case then you need to provide more details.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2172
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby SABrent0779 » Mon May 26, 2014 9:45 pm

Thank you for responding. I'm recording an acoustic guitar. It's plugged into the Input 2 on the Yamaha interface (mic/instrument toggle set to instrument). I'm recording it on a default Acoustic Guitar track, with Input set to Mono ln2 and Output set to Stereo. The Pan is set to the middle (C). After recording, I can hear the track in my left headphone, and when I pan to the right, it goes silent - no sound from the right. I've tried different headphones with the same result.
SABrent0779
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby BriHar » Tue May 27, 2014 9:47 am

I think your recording track is a stereo track (even though it can have the input set to a mono in, it will record on only one channel of the stereo pair).
In this case your 'Pan' control isn't actually a Pan but rather a 'Balance' control - hence the effect you're getting.
Look at your events in the project window do you see a waveform only on one side of a pair?
You can't change the track from stereo to mono so you'd have to create a new mono track for recording in future.
You can also, in your present case, change the Pan control to a Stereo Combined Panner (see pg. 186 of the manual) and set for summing of the channels.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2172
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby SABrent0779 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:53 pm

Sorry it's taken so long to respond to your reply.

I have a single line in my events pane, which tells me I am on a mono track. I have recorded other tracks where there are two lines in the event.

For what it's worth, I've attached a screen grab if that helps.
Attachments
SABrent stereo-mono question capture 1.PNG
stereo - mono issue 1
(108.6 KiB) Not downloaded yet
SABrent0779
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby BriHar » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:56 pm

Yes the tracks are indeed Mono ( o instead of oo like the stereo Basstrack) so that's good.
Are we still referring to the Acoustic track or is the Vocals 2 track the same problem?
Perhaps show a pic of your VST outputs window (fully unfolded)
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2172
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby SABrent0779 » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:06 pm

Here's my VST outputs.
Attachments
VST Outputs.PNG
(10.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
SABrent0779
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby BriHar » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:44 pm

You don't have Control room activated right? What version of Cubase are you using - it doesn't look like the full version?
I'm not familiar with your particular interface, but what happens if you remove (delete) the Mono out?
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2172
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Newbie - having trouble recording right AND left channel

Postby SABrent0779 » Thu Nov 27, 2014 5:52 pm

Well, gee. I thought I purchased Cubase 7.5 from the Steinberg website. My "About" screen says I have Cubase Elements 7 (7.07, build 2277).
SABrent0779
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests