Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Postby n1kki6 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:07 am

All,

I just picked up a UR44 to replace an old alesis usb mixer that died on me. I used to be able to record skype calls on the old mixer without problem by sending the stereo mix to usb, it wasn't optimal because both myself and my buddy were on the same track. I could get us on separate tracks by panning left and right.

So when I started looking for a new interface the usb mixers were all normal usb with stero output like my last one and I really wanted the ability the usb 2.0 multi tracking moving forward just in case. The UR44 looked to have more and better features and the presonus and focusrite at the same price. Overall I am super happy with it, but for the life of me I can not get my DAW to recognize skype calls unless I output from a lineout into a line in.

I am using adobe audition, I can select any of the 6 inputs without problem and they record and sounds fantastic, what is weird, is that I can't get adobe audition to record the skype call, the skype call is coming out of my speakers and headphones. Also, for the inputs I only have lines 1-6, i do not have an option for stereo so this is probably why. I can get the call recorded if I patch one of the headphone outs into a line in, or patch one of the lineouts to a line in. The linouts however seem to be balanced right a bit and lose a bit of bass. Within the dspmixer it also doesn't appear I can assign my outputs their, so it is all in the DAW, input 1, go to output 3.

I am obviously missing something but don't know what or where to start. Do I have to use cubase, are their plugins I need to load into audition?

My audio devices are disabled except for the UR44 as my default recording an playback device, in dspmixeffects I can also see the skype call meter.

Ultimately I would like my voice and the skype call on separate tracks.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
(110.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
n1kki6
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Postby BriHar » Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:17 am

I think this is an example of where the loopback function might be of use.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.10 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2622
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 248 times

Re: Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Postby n1kki6 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:44 pm

Thanks, I will try using that.
n1kki6
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Postby n1kki6 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:59 pm

Loopback worked great for getting my pc audio back to the DAW. Now to figure out how to separate tracks. When using loop back the PC audio is limited to inputs 1 and 2 in the daw. The problem now is that all interface inputs loopback.
n1kki6
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Postby n1kki6 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:24 pm

I kind of have a work around. If I record mono and pan the mic input all the way left it won't pick up on the loopback allowing me to record split channels between the skype call and the input. Not sure if this is the optimal solution though, any other input would me great.
n1kki6
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Postby Avgvoice » Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:37 am

Are you on PC or Mac? I'm on PC and have long used a program called TotalRecorder to record Skype calls. You select "Software" among its input choces, and then specify to put you and the other party on separate channels. No further adjustments needed, at least with the E-Mu interface I used for years. Until the E-Mu driver became problematic (never updated since 2011) and I switched to Steinberg UR 824. I was able to record the conversation the other day in that manner. Today, I keep getting echo, but that's another matter. TotalRecorder costs a few dollars, but works like a charm, and I recommend it especially for quick archiving jobs and (the video version) for capturing online video like webinars, etc.

UPDATE: I got rid of the echo by turning going to the Windows sound setup, chose Advanced (I forget whether this was in Play or Record), and either checked or unchecked "Let other apps use..." (Have forgotten that, too). When I do a skype test call, the test lady is on one channel, I'm on the other. But she's also on my channel with a bit of lag. So am still seeking the perfect setup for Skype.
Avgvoice
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:14 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Skype calls, what am I missing

Postby PeppaPig » Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:19 pm

Audacity (PC freeware) has the ability to record what you're hearing without any mucking around with your audio set-up.
Cubase Pro 8. Steinberg UR44. AMD FX 8350E OC 4.5GHz (watercooled), Windows 7 64bit Samsumg 840 and 850 SSDs, 16Gb RAM. 64Gb static pagefile on SSD
PeppaPig
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 24 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests