Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get ai7

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.

Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get ai7

Postby alexis » Sat May 10, 2014 3:52 am

Hi -

I just bought a ur28M, and the package has the Cubase ai6 included. I just installed and activated it, but now can't find how to upgrade it to the current version ai 7.x.x ... can someone give me a pointer please?

Thanks!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2328
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby Makumbaria » Sat May 10, 2014 5:08 am

Register your license inside my steinberg. Your Ai6 version will become Ai7 automatically.
Cubase 7.5.30 / 6.5.5 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC / Halion Sonic 1.6.3 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / M-audio Fast Track Pro

Ivory II Italian Grand / Addictive drums & Keys / GPO / Alicia Keys Piano / Abbey Road Modern Drums / Ezdrummer / Sampletank / Miroslav Philharmonik CE / VSL / POD Farm / Amplitube / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio Visualizer / Voxengo Redunoise / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters EBULoudness
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby alexis » Sat May 10, 2014 5:14 am

Makumbaria wrote:Register your license inside my steinberg. Your Ai6 version will become Ai7 automatically.


Woo-hoo, will do, can't wait - thanks, Makumbaria!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2328
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby alexis » Sat May 10, 2014 1:31 pm

Makumbaria wrote:Register your license inside my steinberg. Your Ai6 version will become Ai7 automatically.


EDIT: I'm very bummed, it didn't work out that way. It says "Activation registers your product", and so I activated hoping it would morph into AI 7 as you mentioned, but it just stayed AI 6.

Is this a process you went through also? ... any other suggestions from you, Steinberg, or anyone would be greatly appreciated -

Thanks!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2328
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby Makumbaria » Sat May 10, 2014 6:30 pm

Well, I did this twice (using Cubase AI 6 licenses that came with CMC controllers) and all of them become Cubase AI7.
Cubase 7.5.30 / 6.5.5 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC / Halion Sonic 1.6.3 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / M-audio Fast Track Pro

Ivory II Italian Grand / Addictive drums & Keys / GPO / Alicia Keys Piano / Abbey Road Modern Drums / Ezdrummer / Sampletank / Miroslav Philharmonik CE / VSL / POD Farm / Amplitube / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio Visualizer / Voxengo Redunoise / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters EBULoudness
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby alexis » Sat May 10, 2014 6:44 pm

Makumbaria wrote:Well, I did this twice (using Cubase AI 6 licenses that came with CMC controllers) and all of them become Cubase AI7.


OK, thx Makumbaria. If you happen to remember any more details or a step-by-step, please let me know.

In the meantime, maybe Steinberg can help out on Monday.

Thanks -
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2328
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby alexis » Sun May 11, 2014 7:29 pm

I've gotten to the step where mysteinberg is asking for a 25-entry activation code for AI 7. Yes, AI 7 is installed, and presumably usable, but it will run out of time unless I put in the activation code, or at least that's what mysteinberg is telling me.

If anyone knows how I can get that, I'd be really happy, greateful, and have much less of a headache!

Or is there a way to bypass that, since I bought the UR28M (and updated the firmware to Version 2.1)?

Thanks -
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2328
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby Joel Gragg » Mon May 12, 2014 2:40 pm

Hello Alexis,

You must also register your UR28M's serial number in your MySteinberg account. This will qualify you for the Cubase AI7 activation code inside your MySteinberg account and provide you with the 25 digit download access code and the 32 character activation code. If you have registered the hardware and already and downloaded AI7 but do not see the 32 character activation code, I would advise submitting a support request under MySupport in your MySteinberg account. In the support request please include your username and provide your serial number for the UR28M. From there a support agent can provide you with the needed information to update your license to Cubase AI7.
Joel Gragg
Steinberg US Support
Joel Gragg
Moderator
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 4:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby alexis » Mon May 12, 2014 3:02 pm

Joel Gragg wrote:Hello Alexis,

You must also register your UR28M's serial number in your MySteinberg account. This will qualify you for the Cubase AI7 activation code inside your MySteinberg account and provide you with the 25 digit download access code and the 32 character activation code. If you have registered the hardware and already and downloaded AI7 but do not see the 32 character activation code, I would advise submitting a support request under MySupport in your MySteinberg account. In the support request please include your username and provide your serial number for the UR28M. From there a support agent can provide you with the needed information to update your license to Cubase AI7.


Thank you, Joel Gragg!

The UR28M shows as being registered in Mysteinberg>MyProducts>Hardware.

But something you wrote caught my eye:
You must also register your UR28M's serial number in your MySteinberg account. This will qualify you for the Cubase AI7 activation code inside your MySteinberg account and provide you with the 25 digit download access code and the 32 character activation code.


How does it "provide" me that, in which window? Do I need to have the UR28M connected to the laptop at that specific time?

I did put in a request to support over the weekend, and am waiting for an answer. I don't recall their asking for the serial #, but I will certainly provide it if they contact me and ask. I wonder, can I PM you with it to pass along to them, or will that just get too messy?

Thanks again!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2328
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby Makumbaria » Mon May 12, 2014 3:20 pm

alexis wrote:
How does it "provide" me that, in which window? Do I need to have the UR28M connected to the laptop at that specific time?!


In my case, activation code was printed on a sheet of paper that came with each CMC hardware.
Cubase 7.5.30 / 6.5.5 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC / Halion Sonic 1.6.3 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / M-audio Fast Track Pro

Ivory II Italian Grand / Addictive drums & Keys / GPO / Alicia Keys Piano / Abbey Road Modern Drums / Ezdrummer / Sampletank / Miroslav Philharmonik CE / VSL / POD Farm / Amplitube / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio Visualizer / Voxengo Redunoise / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters EBULoudness
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby alexis » Mon May 12, 2014 10:20 pm

Problem solved.

Heard back from Steinberg support by email today just now - they sent me a 32 digit code, which I put into my soft e-Licenser. Now I open up Cubase AI 7 and it says nothing about a time-limited application. So, I think that means I'm in!

Kudos to Steinberg support ("Chris Dobbs"), they got back to me within 1 working day with a complete fix for the problem.

Thanks for everybody's help. I have no idea why it didn't work, but now it does, so I am happy!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2328
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Just bought ur28M - has ai 6 ... can someone help me get

Postby Chris Dobbs » Tue May 13, 2014 2:09 pm

Glad to hear we could help! :-)
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 32 times


Return to Cubase LE and Cubase AI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest