MR Version 1.7.4 Update Issue?

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.

MR Version 1.7.4 Update Issue?

Postby GeoMax » Thu Jan 31, 2013 5:47 pm

Installed upgrade on Cubase 7.0.1 (64bit) host. OS Windows 7 (64).
VST Performance Meter shows the Disk Cache Load pegged at 100%...even when nothing is playing back.
Prior to the update, there wasn't any indication on the meter at all. Windows Performance Monitor shows disk activity at 1% Highest active time.

NOTE: I run my system without any page-files. Perhaps that is was is making it appear to peg?
When I look at process explorer, my system is basically idling while playing back a project with 4 Midi/VSTs and 10 analog tracks with 32 samples in the ASIO buffer setting. CPU never goes over 33%. I have 32GB of ram and only use 5 GB during the whole execution. Disk activity just barely registers.

IS this normal behavior for the meter, or a bug?

UPDATE: I added page-files to the OS Drive and the Project drives and it didnt change the meter from pegged.
Cubase7.5.0(64bit), Win7(64), Asus P9x79 Pro, i73930, 32GB, (7) 1TB (64mb cache)SATA-600 7200RPM Drives - Dual Steinberg MR816CSX - HALion 5 - Trilian Bass Module - The Grand 3 SE - Addictive Drums, WAVES (64bit) Mercury + Studio Classics Native, MeldaProduction mCreativeBundle
GeoMax
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: MR Version 1.7.4 Update Issue?

Postby Beagle15 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:51 am

Hmmm, I ordered C7 to upgrade from C6.5 with my MR unit and Win7 (64Bit). Very similiar situation. I'll be curious to see what happens. I'm holding off installing C7 until the next update which should be coming out by mid-February. Thanks for bringing this up.
Beagle15
New Member
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:11 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MR Version 1.7.4 Update Issue?

Postby MRedZac » Fri Feb 01, 2013 5:58 pm

For me, it works perfectly with the new driver. All problems fixed. Thx Steinberg !
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase Pro 8 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 3 : Dell Precision M4600, i7, 16 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase Pro 8 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu, http://www.steamshop24.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: MR Version 1.7.4 Update Issue?

Postby MRedZac » Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:03 pm

@GeoMax: Had this problem once already 2 weeks ago. Watch out for group tracks which all of a sudden changed type from group track to a normal track... In the mixer you can see this easily at the fader caps colour... This was the problem in one of my projects - once the misleaded track had been deleted, everything went back to normal...
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase Pro 8 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 3 : Dell Precision M4600, i7, 16 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase Pro 8 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu, http://www.steamshop24.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: MR Version 1.7.4 Update Issue?

Postby GeoMax » Sat Feb 02, 2013 5:29 pm

Thanks for the heads up. I actually was having that problem and figured out what i did that was making the Group track become a regular track...I loaded a track preset that I had saved on a regular vocal track. I could recreate it a bunch of times. I have not tried making a group track preset, but I would think that if it were going to transform the track, it should either warn you or not be visible as an option.
Cubase7.5.0(64bit), Win7(64), Asus P9x79 Pro, i73930, 32GB, (7) 1TB (64mb cache)SATA-600 7200RPM Drives - Dual Steinberg MR816CSX - HALion 5 - Trilian Bass Module - The Grand 3 SE - Addictive Drums, WAVES (64bit) Mercury + Studio Classics Native, MeldaProduction mCreativeBundle
GeoMax
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Steinberg MR816

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests