Connecting 2 MR816CSX with 2 Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.

Connecting 2 MR816CSX with 2 Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic

Postby lowjk » Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:30 pm

Hi,
Managed to get 2 MR816CSX at blow out prices.
I am new at this so please advise on the following:
Can I just connect the 2 Focusrite OctoPre to the 2 MR816s with ADAT cables and they will lock in time?

I assume that one MR816 will be the master and the other the slave. Does the slave send clock signals through the ADAT cables for clocking? Do I need to connect the BNC clock? or do i need a Clocking device?

Thanks,
JK
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Connecting 2 MR816CSX with 2 Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic

Postby Norbury Brook » Thu Apr 25, 2013 3:08 pm

yes you connect the way you say and The focusrite's will clock via ADAT. you can daisy chain the fire wire connection on the two MR units so you'd have 32 IO with your 2 focusrite's.

Be aware though that you'll only have zero latency direct hardware monitoring on your first(master MR unit) so in your case that would be the 8 MR analogue inputs and the 8 focusrite inputs connected to it via ADAT.



MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64
Norbury Brook
Member
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Connecting 2 MR816CSX with 2 Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic

Postby djmj » Wed May 15, 2013 5:33 pm

Norbury Brook wrote:yes you connect the way you say and The focusrite's will clock via ADAT. you can daisy chain the fire wire connection on the two MR units so you'd have 32 IO with your 2 focusrite's.

Be aware though that you'll only have zero latency direct hardware monitoring on your first(master MR unit) so in your case that would be the 8 MR analogue inputs and the 8 focusrite inputs connected to it via ADAT.



MC


I just bought an Octopre MKII and have only one MR816x. So I will have Dm from all 16 mic pres using adat link?
Regards
Johan
djmj
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Connecting 2 MR816CSX with 2 Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic

Postby Norbury Brook » Sun May 19, 2013 10:25 am

yes, you will.

MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64
Norbury Brook
Member
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times


Return to Steinberg MR816

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest