WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7

WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

Postby Johnny B Richman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:36 am

Just accidentally I discovered this weird behaviour (I consider it a bug).
Open 16 bit audio file (WAV) and apply (render) any 32 bit supported plugin (like StereoExpander) => the processed audio (or selection only) should be 32 bit (or whatever the plugin outputs e.g. whatever WL shows in Bitmeter when used in realtime) however it is only 16 bit (in WL6 it is 32 bit as it should be). Happens both in 32 and 64 bit version of WL7.
The workaround I found out is to save the 16 bit audio file as 32 bit first and then apply the plugin -> only then the processed audio is 32 bit as expected.

"Create 32 bit float temporary files" is selected in Audio File editing preferences -> File.
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, ATI Radeon HD 5750 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase 6.5.5 WaveLab 8.0.3, HALion 5
User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

Postby PG » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:02 pm

Thanks for the report, well seen, you are right, this is a bug when using the function "render in place". The original file bit resolution is taken into account rather than the preference. There is an easier work around that your finding: modify the bit resolution as displayed on the picture: this takes almost no time.

Philippe
Attachments
2013-01-30_13-01-07.png
(40.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Philippe
PG
Moderator
 
Posts: 3527
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

Postby Johnny B Richman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:17 pm

Yes it happens when "Process in place" is used - I forgot to mention it specifically.
And thanks for that tip - much faster indeed. (I hope you fix it soon anyway ;)
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, ATI Radeon HD 5750 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase 6.5.5 WaveLab 8.0.3, HALion 5
User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

Postby markino » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:49 pm

If I well understand what is happening here, I noticed in elements the resulting bit dept is 16 bits, either with process in place or with Create named file. I'm lucky I Always apply dither to 16 bit, because this thing leaves me with an impression of "what is going on with Wavelab?" This is a very essential function.
Marco
markino
Member
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

Postby PG » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:13 pm

No, with "Create Named file", the result depends on the file format dialog. This means this is under control. There is no bug there.
Philippe
PG
Moderator
 
Posts: 3527
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

Postby markino » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:21 pm

Thanks PG, sorry, no desrespect meant!
Marco
markino
Member
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: WL truncates rendered audio to 16 bits

Postby PG » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:22 pm

I did not see any derespect ;)
Philippe
PG
Moderator
 
Posts: 3527
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 73 times


Return to WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest