UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers

UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby Discoworx » Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:51 pm

As a LONG time user of both Hardware & an "raving mentalist" of Software plugs , Im aware that certain C++ Code base, algorhtyms & Filters (from pre built open source libraries are available & widely used)...(Im not talk here about Synthedit.

So this comes as NO surprise to me. Analogue emulations & the bastardized brethren , many times inherently use simple Impusle Responses in their signal chain... So to discover that UAD (the hailed lord of analogue emulators,and a company many people "rave about".

Well watch this!. Like many fancy "Analogue" GUI's fool the people into thinking, IF it LOOKS expensive, its going to sound expensive. NONSENSE. If you fall into that type of thinking, Production is not your field of expertise. LISTEN then make a judgement.

Personally I take this as a compliment to Steinberg! :lol:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... f7vn_aVTq4


Move this post to wherever Helge.
I7 3770 3.4 Ghz LGA1155 - GigaByte Z77X-DH3 Rev 1 M/B - 16Gb Kingston Hyper X 1600Mhz - 128Gb OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 - GTX660 2Gb GFX - Silentium Brutus 410 - Thermaltake Smart 630

http://www.allymac.net
Discoworx
Member
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:41 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby G-string » Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:27 pm

I have the basic stuff of uad plus a few bits and pieces and yeas the vog is one of them I got it in a summer sale for $49 .
Now for a while I have been thinking that the uad plugin's are the same old stuff just repackaged over and over again to make them look brilliant but now this sort of tube is floating about I hope uad open a Steinberg account and come on the forum and explain them selves as this is a blatant rip off :evil:
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 845 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby serenity » Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:14 pm

Hi,

Could you do a similiar test to newer versions od 1176, LA2A and Pultec ? I'm *quiz* of to buing them 6 years ago and now them try to sell them again...Oh boy.
Pawel

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit / Cubase 7 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
User avatar
serenity
Member
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby haloinreverse » Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:16 pm

I think this users reply to your video says it all.

"This test is hugely flawed. Based on the settings you have (10 / 10 / 40 / 100 / Flat (red)) - which is the 100hz flat preset, the VOG wouldn't be doing any processing work - at least nothing of value. Are you intentionally misleading viewers? Perhaps you should read the manual. Try again with something like 10 / 6 / 40 / OFF / Flat (green). You should soon realize Cubase stock EQ can't give you the same resonance spike - which is the whole fricking point of the plugin. Uggh."

Seriously I use the UAD stuff on a daily basis, Steinberg makes an excellent piece of software, but the EQ and effects processing can't even touch the UAD stuff with a 10 foot pole.
MSI X79A-GD45, Intel i7-3820 3.6ghz, 16gb of ram, Windows 7 x64, SSL MX4 Audio Card, SSL Alpha Link Madi AX Converters, 2x UAD-2 Quad cards, 1 UAD-2 Solo
User avatar
haloinreverse
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby curteye » Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:44 am

Discoworx wrote:As a LONG time user of both Hardware & an "raving mentalist" of Software plugs , Im aware that certain C++ Code base, algorhtyms & Filters (from pre built open source libraries are available & widely used)...(Im not talk here about Synthedit.

So this comes as NO surprise to me. Analogue emulations & the bastardized brethren , many times inherently use simple Impusle Responses in their signal chain... So to discover that UAD (the hailed lord of analogue emulators,and a company many people "rave about".

Well watch this!. Like many fancy "Analogue" GUI's fool the people into thinking, IF it LOOKS expensive, its going to sound expensive. NONSENSE. If you fall into that type of thinking, Production is not your field of expertise. LISTEN then make a judgement.

Personally I take this as a compliment to Steinberg! :lol:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... f7vn_aVTq4


Move this post to wherever Helge.


Aloha D and thanks for the link. Very informative.

I have always thought the the best plug ever made is 'factory installed'.
Yer ears.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Breaking in a Mac Pro. Will be on-line soon.

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby Helge Vogt » Thu Jul 11, 2013 9:10 am

Discoworx wrote:Move this post to wherever Helge.


Did it ;)
Helge Vogt - Team Leader Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Helge Vogt
Moderator
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 141 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby Guest » Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:29 pm

i'll add in a comment also, I saw some videos like this once and decided to give it a try, so what I did was I looked at what a pultec boost does using a frequency analyser. first think i noticed is it was a strange boost.. the curve on the left was steeper than the right.. so I tried and tried an eventually copied the eq curve using several points.. and yes it sounded to my ears almost identical, if not identical.... but it was difficult to copy, difficult to manipulate, where as with the UAD pultec plugin, it was a turn of a knob...
that's the point... yes some settings may be duplicable with other eq's, but it isn't very musical, id much rather choose the frequency and turn the knob. especially when working quickly.
Guest
 

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby folkfreak » Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:52 pm

Helge Vogt wrote:
Discoworx wrote:Move this post to wherever Helge.


Did it ;)



I think when the topic was vice versa you had it closed ?
Interesting....
folkfreak
Junior Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby haloinreverse » Thu Jul 11, 2013 7:53 pm

Xtigma. wrote:i'll add in a comment also, I saw some videos like this once and decided to give it a try, so what I did was I looked at what a pultec boost does using a frequency analyser. first think i noticed is it was a strange boost.. the curve on the left was steeper than the right.. so I tried and tried an eventually copied the eq curve using several points.. and yes it sounded to my ears almost identical, if not identical.... but it was difficult to copy, difficult to manipulate, where as with the UAD pultec plugin, it was a turn of a knob...
that's the point... yes some settings may be duplicable with other eq's, but it isn't very musical, id much rather choose the frequency and turn the knob. especially when working quickly.


EXACTLY
MSI X79A-GD45, Intel i7-3820 3.6ghz, 16gb of ram, Windows 7 x64, SSL MX4 Audio Card, SSL Alpha Link Madi AX Converters, 2x UAD-2 Quad cards, 1 UAD-2 Solo
User avatar
haloinreverse
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby Psychosurf » Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:05 am

DFTT.

UAD is a descent company just try the plugs and use your ears
Psychosurf
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:41 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby neilwilkes » Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:45 pm

I have been keeping an eye on this blog since it was shown to me, and it is nonsense from start to finish.
UAD tell you quite openly exactly what it is, and moreover it is simply a hell of a lot faster to use than a general DAW EQ, and will not take up 2 bands to do it either. It's a genuine emulation of a piece of kit built by Little Labs, manufactured in 2009. See http://www.littlelabs.com/vog.html

Where is the problem?
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request
neilwilkes
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby mpayne0 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:58 pm

neilwilkes wrote:I have been keeping an eye on this blog since it was shown to me, and it is nonsense from start to finish.
UAD tell you quite openly exactly what it is, and moreover it is simply a hell of a lot faster to use than a general DAW EQ, and will not take up 2 bands to do it either. It's a genuine emulation of a piece of kit built by Little Labs, manufactured in 2009. See http://www.littlelabs.com/vog.html

Where is the problem?

Bunch of guys around the world can't get their HPFs right, and they are finally letting it out.
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: UAD ripoff Cubase!!

Postby jpgtr » Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:06 pm

neilwilkes wrote:...moreover it is simply a hell of a lot faster to use than a general DAW EQ,


I'm always looking for an excuse to lose the "ball-and-chain" that is the UAD DSP dongle, however, in my comparisons and trials I too usually find this is generally the case: I don't believe UA plugs necessarily sound better than other solutions, but they are much easier to use and I can achieve the results I need lightning fast. No fuss, no muss...
2012 Mac Pro 10.8.4, 24 GB RAM, Cubase 7.0.6 (and 6.0.7), UAD-2 Duo
jpgtr
Member
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 12 times


Return to VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest