Lenovo E31

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Lenovo E31

Postby BriHar » Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:34 pm

Hello,
The wife tells me I have to buy a new PC for our home office :D (the existing one is a Pentium III 800MHz clunker). In my project studio I have a Pentium IV 3.2 GHz PC. So we agreed I should buy a new PC for the studio, and move the P4 into the office.
I'm currently considering a Lenovo E31 Tower with Xeon 3.3Ghz Processor 8GB Ram, 180GB SATA3 SSD Drive + 150GB 10000 rpm SATA Drive w/32MB cache.

Would this be a good system for Cubase 6.x ?

I'm running a UR28M as audio interface and a BCF2000 as a controller plus MIDI Port.
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1572
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: Lenovo E31

Postby BriHar » Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:09 pm

Maybe 16Gb ram would be better?

Lenovo E31 Tower
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1572
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: Lenovo E31

Postby BriHar » Wed Feb 06, 2013 1:00 pm

Just thought I'd update this.
I left it with 8 GB Ram.
It's running like a charm with both CB5 and 7 as well a with PT10
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1572
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 67 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alexhealy and 2 guests