Thunderbolt as a second drive

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Thunderbolt as a second drive

Postby BuckW » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:45 pm

I have a MacBook Pro and I will soon need more disk space. Is anyone currently using a thunderbolt as a second drive without latency issues. If it works it will save me buying a new computer. If the answer is yes, what manufacturer did you buy.

Buck
Cubase 7.5
Mac Pro (new), 32GB ram, 6 core, 1TB internal SSD
MacBook Pro, 8GB ram, 750GB internal
Audio interface: MR816x
BuckW
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:39 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Thunderbolt as a second drive

Postby Brandy » Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:33 am

I recently did some research - and, after a couple of years of "thunderbolt" - there are only very few drives on the market. Talking about 2,5'' drives here btw. There is one drive which comes in 1TB - it is from Bufallo. Do a search.
Interesting for me is, that it has USB3.0 as well, that way I could "fill" the drive on my Studio DAW (Windows7) and use it on my MacBookPro. I went SSD recently which made a new Computer out of the Laptop - but coming from 750GB hd now with 500GB SSD I am missing some storage space...

But I do not know if there will be any latency. I would say: No. I can work even from a USB2 drive quite fine, as long as it is not TO complex.. Thunderbold should be way faster... AFAIK about 20 times compared to USB2?!

I dislike the fact that all thunderbolt stuff is expensive as hell...
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C6/C7.5 - N5.5/N6 - WL7 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001
Brandy
Member
 
Posts: 835
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Thunderbolt as a second drive

Postby Brandy » Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:37 am

There is a drive from Freecom as well with 1TB and USB3... I wish that there would be drives available from companies like Western Digital etc. Because I never went wrong here, I never used a drive made my Buffalo and/or Freecom..?
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C6/C7.5 - N5.5/N6 - WL7 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001
Brandy
Member
 
Posts: 835
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Thunderbolt as a second drive

Postby theRoyal1 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:50 am

Brandy wrote:There is a drive from Freecom as well with 1TB and USB3... I wish that there would be drives available from companies like Western Digital etc. Because I never went wrong here, I never used a drive made my Buffalo and/or Freecom..?

Buffalo and Freecom do not make actual hard drives, yes they make external drives.
But, Inside you'll find a variety of drives from different mfg.
WD, Seagate, IBM, Samsung etc...

Whenever getting a ExHDD, you can do a little research and find what mfg is in those specific drive.
afa a Thunderbolt drive, WD does have aMyBook Thunderbolt :geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Thunderbolt as a second drive

Postby BuckW » Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:24 pm

Thanks,

I'm trying not to buy a new computer. I like my Mac but having issues with the latest operating system Mountain Lion. Cubase 7 does support Snow Leopard. I attend a monthly training given by Cubase. They seam to think Windows is a better operating system for Cubase. They were not sure about the latency with Thunderbolt as well, but suspect it would not be a problem
Cubase 7.5
Mac Pro (new), 32GB ram, 6 core, 1TB internal SSD
MacBook Pro, 8GB ram, 750GB internal
Audio interface: MR816x
BuckW
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:39 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Thunderbolt as a second drive

Postby theRoyal1 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:57 am

I'd agree.
The only thing I'd recommend is go Internal before you go external.
The only reason I'd recommend an external drive is for storage and not for constant access.
With an internal SSD you will see a big difference in performance & load times.
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 27 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests