Shure M57 Mic not working thru UR28M.

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Shure M57 Mic not working thru UR28M.

Postby Jeffseventy » Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:53 am

Can anyone help me. I thought this dynamic mic would work thru my UR28M. It isn't making a blip on my channel.
Thanks alot for any help.
Microsoft Windows7 Home Premium 64/Cubase 7 Artist/ UR28M/Tascam US100/Yamaha MOX-6/DSI Mopho/Microkorg/Korg Monotron Delay/Korg Monotron Duo/Korg Monotron/Korg Monotribe/ElektroFaust PhotoTheremin/Stratocaster/Gibson SG Standard/Gibson J45/Martin DX-1/Digitech RP255/Doepfer Dark Time/ SE Boomstar 4075/ART Pro Channel II/Waldorf Rocket/Eventide Space-Time Factor-Mod Factor/4 Harmonicas
User avatar
Jeffseventy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:34 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shure M57 Mic not working thru UR28M.

Postby thinkingcap » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:12 am

Jeffseventy wrote:Can anyone help me. I thought this dynamic mic would work thru my UR28M. It isn't making a blip on my channel.
Thanks alot for any help.

Set up Cubase as explained in the manual.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Shure M57 Mic not working thru UR28M.

Postby Split » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:24 am

Apart from setting up Cubase correctly, what sort of lead are you using XLR-TRS or XLR-XLR ?
??????Split
slightly uncertain principles


i7 2600k 16 gig C6.5.3 W7 64
3x24" monitors

and more stuff than a stuffy thing in stuffy land
User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Shure M57 Mic not working thru UR28M.

Postby Jeffseventy » Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:27 pm

Split wrote:Apart from setting up Cubase correctly, what sort of lead are you using XLR-TRS or XLR-XLR ?

Hey Split, thanks for the reply. I'm using xlr-xlr. I got an new xlr-xlr cable with the mic. I also tried my old xlr-xlr that I have been using successfully with my condenser mic for 2 years.(thinkingcap!)
I also tried running thru my old Tascam US-200. No luck.
The mic is brand new. If I turned the gain all the way up on my UR28 or the little Tascam the level meter registers only when I tap firmly on the mic grill. Only when tapping. Speaking or shouting does nothing. Gain has to be way up.
Thanks alot. Let me know if I can provide any more info.
Microsoft Windows7 Home Premium 64/Cubase 7 Artist/ UR28M/Tascam US100/Yamaha MOX-6/DSI Mopho/Microkorg/Korg Monotron Delay/Korg Monotron Duo/Korg Monotron/Korg Monotribe/ElektroFaust PhotoTheremin/Stratocaster/Gibson SG Standard/Gibson J45/Martin DX-1/Digitech RP255/Doepfer Dark Time/ SE Boomstar 4075/ART Pro Channel II/Waldorf Rocket/Eventide Space-Time Factor-Mod Factor/4 Harmonicas
User avatar
Jeffseventy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:34 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shure M57 Mic not working thru UR28M.

Postby distante » Thu Apr 11, 2013 2:30 pm

Sounds like a bad mic problem, not an UR problem to me. :ugeek:
Hear and See "Corazón" a Rock Song made with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( PC 64bits system / Core i7 3773K )
Scarlett 2i2 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( Laptop 64bits system )
*Always the latest version avariable.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart
User avatar
distante
Member
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Shure M57 Mic not working thru UR28M.

Postby Jeffseventy » Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:25 pm

distante wrote:Sounds like a bad mic problem, not an UR problem to me. :ugeek:


Yeah distante, i tried another dynamic mic and it worked fine. Thanks for your reply. :D
Microsoft Windows7 Home Premium 64/Cubase 7 Artist/ UR28M/Tascam US100/Yamaha MOX-6/DSI Mopho/Microkorg/Korg Monotron Delay/Korg Monotron Duo/Korg Monotron/Korg Monotribe/ElektroFaust PhotoTheremin/Stratocaster/Gibson SG Standard/Gibson J45/Martin DX-1/Digitech RP255/Doepfer Dark Time/ SE Boomstar 4075/ART Pro Channel II/Waldorf Rocket/Eventide Space-Time Factor-Mod Factor/4 Harmonicas
User avatar
Jeffseventy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:34 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cpechet1 and 1 guest