Cubase on Virtual Machine

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby chrisSG » Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:49 am

Sorry if this has been asked before, but the search function ignores "virtual" saying it's too common of a term... and I couldn't find any relevant results using other keywords.

I have a very powerful PC (top i7, tons of RAM, SSD,...) that can run several virtual machines at the same time. When I used to produce music at home about 10 years ago I had a dedicated DAW, but today with the dramatic evolution in virtualization it seems really redundant...

So I'm considering purchasing the latest Cubase, but I want to avoid buying a second PC just for it, and I don't want to run it on the main PC as the family has access to it and I'm afraid they screw something up. Questions:

- Would the latest Cubase work on a VMWare virtual machine (or others), at least in terms of USB dongle?
- Does anyone have experience with such a setting?
- Any hints on how a decent sound card (like an Audiophile 2496) would perform in a VM?
- In short, any clues if anything virtual could work at all.

Thanks a lot in advance,
Chris
chrisSG
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby Jarno » Wed Apr 17, 2013 3:20 pm

I wouldn't run Cubase on virtual machine. It's one unneccessary layer of software between Cubase and hardware. This might hurt your audio performance quite hard.

In your case I would suggest following solution.

1. Get a virtual machine software which tuns on the top of the OS. (don't know if VMWare works this way)
2. Remove all functionality you don't need for DAW work from the native OS. Minimal setup would be
2.1. Cubase
2.2. Virtual machine system
In this setup Cubase runs on native OS and all 'home computer' software on virtual machine.

As I've never used virtual machine systems for Cubase, there may be others with better solutions.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier
User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby chrisSG » Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:16 am

Thanks Jarno for this interesting idea. But my need for a VM is also for mobility, as I'd love to carry it around with me on a USB 3.0 stick... probably I'm dreaming!
chrisSG
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby Elektrobolt » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:44 am

I think Jarno means that you should probably run Cubase on the primary or main OS installation (if there is such a thing or similar using VMWare) and any *other* software installations you want to use on virtual installations.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby suntower » Sat Oct 11, 2014 5:37 am

I'm bumping this because for people with large CPRs, being able to run Cubase in multiple instances of VMWare would be a BOON to mankind.

(Imagine being able to have several large projects running simultaneously. I get hot just thinking about it.)

I've asked Matthias if RME hardware supports it. I hope he answers.

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby davidarnett » Sun Jan 25, 2015 1:48 am

I took a quick look at this because I have found installing multiple VSTs and things like Komplete on a new system everytime I upgrade a complete waste of time, it can take days. A VM would make more sense.

I work a bit with VMware so may be able to help. I also am good at typing stuff into google. So first off:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMZzwUmkDjA

This guy seems to be doing it, so it's possible.

So VMware is one of many virtualisation options, and that has a few different options within itself. But in summary VMWare is a very solid, easy to use and mature software which gives you direct access to hardware (Meaning probably ASIO, USB licencer etc), VMware player is free, but you may find limits in how many cores or how much memory it can use in powerful systems (Until you buy a full licence ~£180). You would also need the licence for commercial use.

Multiple instances of VMware VMs.. If you have powerful hardware you could do this, but you would be sharing CPU/memory access etc with both VMs, this may affect performance of the Cubase VM. And if you want to run one VM on multiple PCs to share the hardware, this is called clustering, and the technology isn't really there for that yet.

Could you stick the VM on a USB stick and run from that? Yes, although this would probably be slow (In terms of loading times), and it would need to be a fairly high capacity USB stick. USB3.0 would probably not be so slow if it's a high end memory stick.

Would there be preferred hardware? As I understand it, probably not. Because the virtualisation gives the virtualised OS direct access to the PCI bus (To the card), so the virtualisation layer shouldn't interfere.

In terms of other options, virtual box is probably the most solid competitor, by oracle. This is free (GNU licence).
davidarnett
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 1:19 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby Qbass-007 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:44 am

Personally, I'd much rather have a dedicated DAW machine that only I have access too, skip the newest Cubase and use the older version I already have. Having your own dedicated music machine is hardly redundant IMO.
User avatar
Qbass-007
Member
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:36 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby chi_mike » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:53 am

As long as the VM see's the audio device. I know VMware has issues with firewire ports, you should be fine.

Actually that's a heck of a way to clone your setup and have a setup in the cloud too. I have a 24 core 128gig setup but haven't put VMware on it yet. I might just to see how it handles.
X8DT3-F, Dual Xeon X5650, 128 Gigs ECC, GTX 650Ti, EVGA 750W,2 EMU 1820M, Artist 8.05
Windows 10 ( 9926 ) , 8.1
MCI JH-24 2" 24 track machine...mostly for transfers now.
ARP Odyssey II -- with the three little pads. 2813 model.
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum.
User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest