Cubase on Virtual Machine

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby chrisSG » Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:49 am

Sorry if this has been asked before, but the search function ignores "virtual" saying it's too common of a term... and I couldn't find any relevant results using other keywords.

I have a very powerful PC (top i7, tons of RAM, SSD,...) that can run several virtual machines at the same time. When I used to produce music at home about 10 years ago I had a dedicated DAW, but today with the dramatic evolution in virtualization it seems really redundant...

So I'm considering purchasing the latest Cubase, but I want to avoid buying a second PC just for it, and I don't want to run it on the main PC as the family has access to it and I'm afraid they screw something up. Questions:

- Would the latest Cubase work on a VMWare virtual machine (or others), at least in terms of USB dongle?
- Does anyone have experience with such a setting?
- Any hints on how a decent sound card (like an Audiophile 2496) would perform in a VM?
- In short, any clues if anything virtual could work at all.

Thanks a lot in advance,
Chris
chrisSG
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby Jarno » Wed Apr 17, 2013 3:20 pm

I wouldn't run Cubase on virtual machine. It's one unneccessary layer of software between Cubase and hardware. This might hurt your audio performance quite hard.

In your case I would suggest following solution.

1. Get a virtual machine software which tuns on the top of the OS. (don't know if VMWare works this way)
2. Remove all functionality you don't need for DAW work from the native OS. Minimal setup would be
2.1. Cubase
2.2. Virtual machine system
In this setup Cubase runs on native OS and all 'home computer' software on virtual machine.

As I've never used virtual machine systems for Cubase, there may be others with better solutions.
Cubase4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl drumkit | Olympic by Premier drumkit | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier
User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby chrisSG » Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:16 am

Thanks Jarno for this interesting idea. But my need for a VM is also for mobility, as I'd love to carry it around with me on a USB 3.0 stick... probably I'm dreaming!
chrisSG
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase on Virtual Machine

Postby Elektrobolt » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:44 am

I think Jarno means that you should probably run Cubase on the primary or main OS installation (if there is such a thing or similar using VMWare) and any *other* software installations you want to use on virtual installations.
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1365
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests