SAFFIRE PRO 40 AND CUBASE 7

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

SAFFIRE PRO 40 AND CUBASE 7

Postby EmptyParadise » Sun May 12, 2013 10:23 pm

I have read many discussions on this forum about a particular problem: Trying to record a track and adding an effect realtime. It seems everyone is getting the same problem I have. There is a horrendous delay in the time the monitor gets the signal processed back with the effect.

My vst connections are set up the right way. Mix Control seems to be set up the right way. I have read numerous steps watch a crap load of videos on youtube, but none fix this problem. I cannot for the life of me record a vocal track with the monitor button on without getting a delay for the processed signal. I would find it incredible I would need to switch my audio interface. I did not have a problem with cubase 6. It seems upgrading to 7 has done this.

So, if anyone can assist with this problem specifically for Saffire Pro 40, Mix Control version 3.2, Cubase 7, Mac OsX 10.8.3. If would be a great help, since my work has stalled due to this problem.
Carpe Diem
EmptyParadise
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 10:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: SAFFIRE PRO 40 AND CUBASE 7

Postby andyath » Mon May 13, 2013 2:25 am

Have a look at your pro 40 buffer size settings,

Adjust them smaller find a size that works well with your system make your recording them put it back to 1024 until you need to track something else's.
Pc with cubase on it few mics and a bit more stuff


User avatar
andyath
Member
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:41 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: SAFFIRE PRO 40 AND CUBASE 7

Postby Bane » Mon May 13, 2013 10:50 pm

Hey there,

When recording with Focusrite units, you'll need to mute the track in Cubase and raise the input's fader in MixControl (the appropriate mix's tab being selected) for zero latency monitoring while you record. Make sure that the correct mix is selected for each active output in the routing section at the bottom left. This setup will fix latency issues while you record, but the delays during playback can't be helped barring driver enhancements or system optimizations.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud
User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: SAFFIRE PRO 40 AND CUBASE 7

Postby galvinstephen » Thu May 23, 2013 5:52 pm

What buffer setting are you using?
We sometimes track at 256. There is some delay although that can work if you stretch your ears a bit. :)

We did use an RME Fireface at 64 samples which was barely noticeable.

For live work I have used a combination of Cubase and Focusrite monitoring - Running the main sound latency-free and simultaneously routing the signal through Cubase, adding delay, flanging, reverb. Just makes the sound bigger.

Personally I am not a fan of adding vocal effects live because they make it hard to get a good resonance.

Hope this is useful. Good luck, :)
Stephen Galvin
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 7.0.4, Sequel 3.0.1,


Desktop: Intel Duo 1866 MHz, 4GB RAM Intel SSD 120GB. Windows 7 Ultimate

Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.

Focusrite Saffire Pro40 Octopre. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
www.abcstudios.co.nz
www.singinglessonsauckland.com
www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
www.basslessonsauckland.com
User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: SAFFIRE PRO 40 AND CUBASE 7

Postby Carlo » Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:00 pm

Not sure what changed from Cubase 6 to 7, but: The trick is to SPLIT the signal you are monitoring into a DIRECT component and a FX component !
Use latency free monitoring from your focusrite for the direct signal and from the signal that is routed through Cubase and has latency use ONLY the FX component.
In Cubase you have monitor ON on the track you are recording, the volume fader all the way DOWN and the sendFX switched to PREFADER.
This routing setup allows you to work with heavy projects and high latency settings, while still providing perfect monitoring. Its the beauty of Mixcontrol and the Focusrite that you can do this as it does not disturb if the FX component has some latency. I have the exact same interface and think it is very good. IMHO you do not need another interface...
Let us know how you are doing and if any of the tips here helped.
User avatar
Carlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests