Recording from a Mixer

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Recording from a Mixer

Postby JDX1063 » Fri May 24, 2013 4:50 am

Hello All,

this is my first post on this site. I am entirely new to home recording and have bashed my head in for countless hours trying to figure this one thing out - multi track recording. I currently have a Yamaha MG124C Mixer connected to a mic'd amplifier and a vocal mic. I record the output through the Left output of the mixer and route this into my laptop's microphone jack. Is multi track mixing even possible with this configuration? I feel that USB or firewire are the only way to go when it comes to multi track recording. Please let me know. Thank you for your time

:mrgreen:
JDX1063
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 4:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Split » Fri May 24, 2013 8:58 am

Multi-track mixing yes.
Multi-track recording, no not really.

You need a multi-input audio interface for that!
??????Split
slightly uncertain principles


i7 2600k 16 gig C6.5.3 W7 64
3x24" monitors

and more stuff than a stuffy thing in stuffy land
User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5231
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Strophoid » Fri May 24, 2013 2:36 pm

To record multiple inputs simultaneously, you'll indeed need an audio interface with multiple inputs.
What you are doing now is summing all the signals of your instruments together to form 1 signal and record that. That's fine, but there is no way to split them up into separate tracks again in Cubase, for separate processing.

However, you can of course still do a multitrack recording if you do 1 instrument at the time.
Record your amp first, and then on a second pass record the mic to a different audio track in Cubase.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3945
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby JDX1063 » Fri May 24, 2013 3:18 pm

thanks fellas

so, from my understanding, I would need one of these guys - http://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=11973691 - to do simultaneous multi track recording?
JDX1063
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 4:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Scab Pickens » Fri May 24, 2013 5:02 pm

JDX1063 wrote:thanks fellas

so, from my understanding, I would need one of these guys - http://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=11973691 - to do simultaneous multi track recording?


The type of interface you will need depends on the type of recordings you will be doing.

If you are tracking a live band you will need many more inputs than if you are mainly working alone.

If your input needs are limited, something along the lines of this ...

http://www.amazon.com/Focusrite-2i2-USB ... 956&sr=1-3

... would probably get the job done nicely.

Or, for a Steinberg product I think the new UR22 looks pretty nice ...

http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/au ... /ur22.html

I wouldn't go lower in price/quality than the examples I've given (there are a few others in that price range as well that are nice units). You want to make sure you are getting something with decent mic preamps.
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby thinkingcap » Fri May 24, 2013 9:07 pm

You can record your amp and vocal mic on two different tracks at the same time by panning them L/R and recording the line in of your soundcard instead of the mic in.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Scab Pickens » Fri May 24, 2013 9:41 pm

thinkingcap wrote:You can record your amp and vocal mic on two different tracks at the same time by panning them L/R and recording the line in of your soundcard instead of the mic in.


Hey, there you go! Always "thinking" :) .

Now, does this laptop have a line in? Hmmm ...
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby thinkingcap » Sun May 26, 2013 3:05 am

Scab Pickens wrote:
thinkingcap wrote:You can record your amp and vocal mic on two different tracks at the same time by panning them L/R and recording the line in of your soundcard instead of the mic in.


Hey, there you go! Always "thinking" :) .

Now, does this laptop have a line in? Hmmm ...

I´m quite sure it does......
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby JDX1063 » Sun May 26, 2013 6:12 am

Alrighty, i'll definitley give this panning method a shot. Would I just pan each mic to a side, and then in cubase record the left to one track and the right to another? I reviewed my laptop's specifications and saw that the mic in was a mono input. I will still give this a shot.

On another note, I have been considering the usefulness of my mixer altogether... I sense that a mic->interface->laptop set-up would be simpler and just as good as a mic->mixer->interface->laptop configuration. What use is a mixer, if cubase has most of the functionalities that my physical mixer provides?
JDX1063
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 4:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Split » Sun May 26, 2013 8:12 am

JDX1063 wrote:Alrighty, i'll definitley give this panning method a shot. Would I just pan each mic to a side, and then in cubase record the left to one track and the right to another? I reviewed my laptop's specifications and saw that the mic in was a mono input. I will still give this a shot.

On another note, I have been considering the usefulness of my mixer altogether... I sense that a mic->interface->laptop set-up would be simpler and just as good as a mic->mixer->interface->laptop configuration. What use is a mixer, if cubase has most of the functionalities that my physical mixer provides?


Yes you would treat a stereo input as two mono inputs. you obviously would need a stereo input for this to work!
??????Split
slightly uncertain principles


i7 2600k 16 gig C6.5.3 W7 64
3x24" monitors

and more stuff than a stuffy thing in stuffy land
User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5231
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby thinkingcap » Sun May 26, 2013 1:19 pm

JDX1063 wrote:I reviewed my laptop's specifications and saw that the mic in was a mono input. I will still give this a shot.

Which is why I said use the line in (apart from impedance and signal level issues)
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby JDX1063 » Tue May 28, 2013 9:36 pm

On another note, I have been considering the usefulness of my mixer altogether... I sense that a mic->interface->laptop set-up would be simpler and just as good as a mic->mixer->interface->laptop configuration. What use is a mixer, if cubase has most of the functionalities that my physical mixer provides?
JDX1063
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 4:37 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Strophoid » Wed May 29, 2013 3:07 pm

This is true, but you will have to give up your mixer EQ for example. You can of course still use EQ in Cubase, but I personally quite like shaping my sound on the hardware mixer, so I just have to do the small adjustments in Cubase.

Also make sure the audio interface you pick can supply phantom voltage on the mic inputs in case you ever want to record a condenser mic, as well as a high-Z/instrument input for direct guitar recording. If you've got those, you don't really need a mixer anymore for your recording.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3945
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Scab Pickens » Wed May 29, 2013 6:27 pm

JDX1063 wrote:On another note, I have been considering the usefulness of my mixer altogether... I sense that a mic->interface->laptop set-up would be simpler and just as good as a mic->mixer->interface->laptop configuration. What use is a mixer, if cubase has most of the functionalities that my physical mixer provides?


In my opinion, the more inputs you get on an interface the more you could do without your mixer.

The mixer could still be useful if, for example, your interface only had two inputs and you wanted to record a multi-miced drumkit. You could get a sub-mix to a stereo out from your mixer and record that into a stereo pair on your interface and onto a stereo track in Cubase.

Really, there is nothing stopping you from running everything through your mixer before your interface. It's all personal preference. You'll have to figure out what works for you.

I started out with a mixer/simple interface setup and now have a multiple input interface and have ditched the mixer from the DAW.
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Strophoid » Fri May 31, 2013 12:16 pm

Just today I got a really good deal on a Mackie Onyx 1620i mixer, which is a 16 channel mixer and firewire audio interface in 1. I get a 8 mono and 4 stereo channel analog mixer, and all these channels are also available in Cubase :).

Pretty neat, would've been way too expensive for me normally, but I got lucky ;). Got one for €280 new, where they normally sell for at least €900 here.

I think this gives you the best of both worlds, although there are some drawbacks of course. This model I got has only 1 stereo firewire output, so if you want to use outboard effects on already recorded material, you'll need to do some patching. Especially since apparently the insert points on the mixer are post AD, so you can't print your hardware effects while recording.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3945
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Scab Pickens » Fri May 31, 2013 2:27 pm

Strophoid wrote:Just today I got a really good deal on a Mackie Onyx 1620i mixer ...


Nice score, Strophoid!

Here's a flashback for you ...

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 78#p157360

:)
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Recording from a Mixer

Postby Strophoid » Fri May 31, 2013 10:29 pm

Hah, wicked, good memory :lol:
This shop does daily auctions with mostly B-Stock items, which means they're products customers returned within the 60-day contemplating period. I get full warranty and all the accesories so it's really as new.

The size factor is still an issue though, I'll have to be creative and do some modding to my desk to make space for it. Gonna try it first, worst case scenario is I sell it again and make over €200,- profit :P
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3945
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 121 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest