Anyone here using a 'Drobo' for Cubase audio work?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Anyone here using a 'Drobo' for Cubase audio work?

Postby curteye » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:46 am

Aloha guys,

Been hearing (podcasts) and reading (blogs) about using
a 'Drobo' as a fast secure stable file storage system.
(either with HDDs or with SSDs).

Wondering if this kind of thang is up to the task of doing
heavy DAW work?

Other than for basic file storage/archive, I could find no examples of
pro studios utilizing this device.

So asking now if anyone here is using one and if so, sup wi dit?

TIA (thanks in advance)
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Anyone here using a 'Drobo' for Cubase audio work?

Postby JCschild » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:06 pm

great for back up sucks for any type real time work
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Anyone here using a 'Drobo' for Cubase audio work?

Postby curteye » Fri Jul 05, 2013 2:06 am

JCschild wrote:great for back up sucks for any type real time work


Aloha J and thanks.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 196 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests