220v to 110v hardware

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

220v to 110v hardware

Postby infamy » Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:40 am

Hey all, I am currently after a compressor which does not have a 110-220v switch.
I was wondering if anyone else out there uses adapters in there set up and could tell me if it affects their performances.
Anyone else's opinion is greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Cubase 5.5.3, Windows 7 x64bit, 8gb ram, 3.4ghz quad core, Novation nio 2/4, Novation X-station, Roland JP-8080, JBL LSR 2300, KRK10s
infamy
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 220v to 110v hardware

Postby BriHar » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:33 am

I've replaced practically everything I had which ran on 110V and what remains I've replaced the power supplies in the devices.
I never noticed any serious degradation when running 110V 60Hz gear on a stepdown transformer from 220V 50Hz.
The volatage was in fact just a tad lower primarily to offset the dutyfactor (60-50Hz) but this was primarily of concern for motors (also had power tools).
Hope that helps some. ;)
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.30 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1983
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: 220v to 110v hardware

Postby infamy » Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:48 am

BriHar wrote:I've replaced practically everything I had which ran on 110V and what remains I've replaced the power supplies in the devices.
I never noticed any serious degradation when running 110V 60Hz gear on a stepdown transformer from 220V 50Hz.
The volatage was in fact just a tad lower primarily to offset the dutyfactor (60-50Hz) but this was primarily of concern for motors (also had power tools).
Hope that helps some. ;)

Nice one, time to get some imports :)
Cubase 5.5.3, Windows 7 x64bit, 8gb ram, 3.4ghz quad core, Novation nio 2/4, Novation X-station, Roland JP-8080, JBL LSR 2300, KRK10s
infamy
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests