home made woofer problem

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

home made woofer problem

Postby shadowfax » Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:28 pm

Hi..Looked all over the net for an answer to this but got nowhere and thought maybe someone here might know the answer..I have a pair of Genelec 8020A's and of course the bass aint good enough because they are so small, the Genelec woofer thingy is an eye watering price so I'm looking at making a bass bin myself..the question is will my Genelecs run/power a passive 10 inch speaker from the xlr sockets or does it have to be an active bass bin? if it has to be active how do i make it so? is there a special amp available for this purpose..suppose there must be, not a techie so struggling with this, any enlightenment would be great...thanks, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby thinkingcap » Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:55 pm

shadowfax wrote:the question is will my Genelecs run/power a passive 10 inch speaker from the xlr sockets

No
shadowfax wrote:or does it have to be an active bass bin?

It can be a passive bin powered by an external amp fed from active x-over, or depending on the design of the woofer you might get by without x-over.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby shadowfax » Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:27 pm

Ok think I'll give up cause you've just lost me...thought I could buy an empty bass bin, put a speaker in it and connect up but clearly there is a lot more to it..damn!!! :( thanks anyway..Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby GroovinDJ » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:10 pm

shadowfax wrote:the Genelec woofer thingy is an eye watering price


Which one are looking at? There's a whole range, from the 5040B (not expensive) to ones more than 10x the price.
Cubase - Yamaha n12 - Ableton Live Suite - Reason - Sony Acid Pro - Adobe Audition - Sony Vegas - Virtual DJ - Traktor - Gizmolabs RPM
User avatar
GroovinDJ
Junior Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Great Britain, England, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby shadowfax » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:20 am

Around 400 quid is expensive in my book...just found a pair of Tapco S5's with a matching SW10 sub woofer..reckon I'm gonna go for them at 270 quid...then sell the Genelec 8020a's and get some of the money back, the review in Sound on Sound puts the Genelecs and the Tapco's around the same place.........Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby GroovinDJ » Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:32 pm

That sounds like a bargain. Let us know how they sound once you've got 'em.
Cubase - Yamaha n12 - Ableton Live Suite - Reason - Sony Acid Pro - Adobe Audition - Sony Vegas - Virtual DJ - Traktor - Gizmolabs RPM
User avatar
GroovinDJ
Junior Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Great Britain, England, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby BriHar » Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:22 am

You might also look at Adams. ;)
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.30 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1983
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby shadowfax » Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:39 pm

I didn't give up mate, I just realized it was easier and quicker to buy a set of speakers with a matching woofer thingy...If I built one it would probably turn the fridge off whenever i switched it on...you know it makes sense...Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby shadowfax » Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:42 pm

BriHar wrote:You might also look at Adams. ;)


couldn't see any when I was looking to buy on e bay, but thanks for the input..I'm always doing things in a hurry...life's too short yuknow..Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby shadowfax » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:01 pm

Yeah, gave up trying to make one, as Clint Eastwood said.."a man's got to know his limitations" thank fook I know mine cause I'd have screwed me whole monitoring thing !!!..best to you mate...Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: home made woofer problem

Postby shadowfax » Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:25 pm

Well, got the Tapco S5's with the SW 10 sub bass and gotta say they sound way better than the Genelec 8020A's that I've got..but that's just me..would probably sound crap to other muso's but for the money I reckon it's a step up..Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests