i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby drums1225 » Mon Mar 07, 2011 9:12 pm

I am building a system that will be mainly, but not exclusively, for recording (several live instrument tracks, several plug-ins and a few virtual instruments), and also for some small scale home video editing, basic Microsoft Office tasks, and general web stuff. I don't want to break the bank, but I want a powerful and snappy system that will get the job done for several years to come, before needing to be upgraded.

I'm considering the i5 2500 and the i7 2600. Is it worth the extra $100 for an i7 2600 over an i5 2500 for a Cubase 6/Win 7 recording system? I see the i5 doesn't support multithreading, is that a major consideration, or might it be in the near future?

Are the Sandy Bridge issues still a consideration, or have they been worked out?

Opinions?

Thanks,
Chris
Cubase 6.55 | Win 7 Enterprise 64bit | Presonus Firestudio/Digimax FS
Core i7 2600 | ASUS P8P67 LE | 8GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
WD Caviar 500GB HDD | WD Caviar Black 1TB HDD
drums1225
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:10 pm

drastic difference between the 2 yes the 2600 is well worth it.

the fixed boards started shipping last week...
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby DJKeithPorter » Tue Mar 08, 2011 9:14 pm

drums1225 wrote:I'm considering the i5 2500 and the i7 2600. Is it worth the extra $100 for an i7 2600 over an i5 2500 for a Cubase 6/Win 7 recording system? I see the i5 doesn't support multithreading, is that a major consideration, or might it be in the near future?

Are the Sandy Bridge issues still a consideration, or have they been worked out?

Opinions?

Thanks,
Chris


Sorry to be so lame but, I just want to know.
i7 2600?
What does that mean?
Is that the GHz~~ 2.60GHZ?

What is Sandy Bridge?


Thanks for your time. 8-)
Dell XPS 8300 Intel® CoreTM i7 -2600 CPU @3.4GHz, 8GB , Windows® 7 Home Premium 64-Bit, Motu 828 mkII, M-Audio (Pro 88, Triggerfinger), IKMulti Media, Cubase 6.5, Komplete Ultimate 9 ,Maschine MKII 2.0
DJKeithPorter
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 11:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:56 pm

Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby Guest » Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:31 pm

thoughts inside my head -
(hmm... Searching Google for information.... What a radical concept!... )
Guest
 

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby plectrumboy » Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:02 pm

JCschild wrote:drastic difference between the 2 yes the 2600 is well worth it.

the fixed boards started shipping last week...

Scott,

Is this the hyperthreading difference? I've just read the Computer Shopper (UK mag) review of i5 2500 and i7 2600, and this suggests that bang per buck the 2500 is a beast; but if I understand correctly this doesn't have hyperthreading whereas the i7 2600 does. Does this make the definitive difference for Cubase?

Thanks for any information/opinion you can offer.

Steve.
Core i7 2600K @ 4.3Ghz on Asus Z68-V LX 8Gb running Windows 7 (64 bit), Samsung RF711 laptop 8 Gb running Windows 8.1 (64 bit), 2x UR824, Cubase 7.5.3 (64 bit), Halionsonic 2, The Grand SE3, HSO, Wavelab 8.5.1, Halion 5, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns, Mark 1, Groove Agent 3.02 with jBridge, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.
User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:35 pm

first lets get past the fact that any new system (well not so much i3) but most i5/i7 and AMD 6 core are more than plenty for most.

with that said the price difference from a 2500 vs 2600 from an audio/video POV
there is no comparison.
the 2500 is just below a 950, right there with an 870.
the 2600 is right there with a 970 and hangs with the 980x

reasons:
1) hyperthreading. The new sandy bridge's do HT better than the older processors
2) higher turbo and with SB you can leave turbo on where with older it had to be turned off.

and lastly a bigger cache 6 vs 8meg..
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby plectrumboy » Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:14 pm

Thanks, that's very helpful.

Steve.
Core i7 2600K @ 4.3Ghz on Asus Z68-V LX 8Gb running Windows 7 (64 bit), Samsung RF711 laptop 8 Gb running Windows 8.1 (64 bit), 2x UR824, Cubase 7.5.3 (64 bit), Halionsonic 2, The Grand SE3, HSO, Wavelab 8.5.1, Halion 5, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns, Mark 1, Groove Agent 3.02 with jBridge, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.
User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby dj cerberus » Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:04 pm

I have an i7 I would highly recommend it for music applications such as Cubase 6.

Its the most solid and stable CPU I've ever put into a system.

Hope all the comments persuade you into this fine processor! ;)
dj cerberus
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby drums1225 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:05 am

Thanks for the replies, everyone. I actually forgot I posted this here, and was just looking through the forum for similar threads, when I saw the one Istarted... DUH! :D

OK, I've decided on the i7 2600, and now I'm trying to settle on a motherboard. Based on stellar personal experience, I'm going with an ASUS board.

Scott, you mentioned, in another thread, that you'd recommend a P67 over the H67. What advantages does the "P" have over the "H" for a recording PC (and for someone who doesn't overclock)?

Thanks
Cubase 6.55 | Win 7 Enterprise 64bit | Presonus Firestudio/Digimax FS
Core i7 2600 | ASUS P8P67 LE | 8GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
WD Caviar 500GB HDD | WD Caviar Black 1TB HDD
drums1225
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby Jovas » Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:41 pm

Beam me up Scotty: My Cubase 5.5.3 performs better ASIO with hyperthreading off on my i7 920, ia the HT os SB that much better on Win 7 64 and Cubase 5/6?
Intel Core i7 920, Asus P6T deluxe, 3x2gb OCZ3X1333LV6GK, AMD Radeon HD 5850 1gb, 2x1tb Samsung Spinpoint F1, Focusrite Saffire LE, Windows 7 Home premium 64bit, Cubase 5.5.3 32bit
Jovas
New Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:17 pm

Jovas wrote:Beam me up Scotty: My Cubase 5.5.3 performs better ASIO with hyperthreading off on my i7 920, ia the HT os SB that much better on Win 7 64 and Cubase 5/6?



something is wrong with your system.. HT on Cubase performs better, P67 or X58 or P55.
guessing you dont have the cstates off?
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby Jovas » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:00 pm

JCschild wrote:
Jovas wrote:Beam me up Scotty: My Cubase 5.5.3 performs better ASIO with hyperthreading off on my i7 920, ia the HT os SB that much better on Win 7 64 and Cubase 5/6?



something is wrong with your system.. HT on Cubase performs better, P67 or X58 or P55.
guessing you dont have the cstates off?


Correct, the C-states allow speedstep eh? Might as well turn that off too then..

Aye Capt'n! :D
Intel Core i7 920, Asus P6T deluxe, 3x2gb OCZ3X1333LV6GK, AMD Radeon HD 5850 1gb, 2x1tb Samsung Spinpoint F1, Focusrite Saffire LE, Windows 7 Home premium 64bit, Cubase 5.5.3 32bit
Jovas
New Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:35 pm

turn off all cstates and turbo.. turbo sucks on X58 and it can cause issues for audio

oddly the 2600 is 100% the other way...

and turn back on the HT...
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby Guest » Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:26 pm

might a i7 970 worth against a i7 2600 for Cubase and video use?
actually i have a 950 but the cpu performance is not smooth with big projects...
that´s the reason i want to upgrade.
Guest
 

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby Guest » Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:52 pm

I've got a 950 and run very smoothly up to 200 tracks (combination of recordings and sample-based instruments). The type of CPU spikes your talking about are probably a bad driver or other hardware resource that's causing the problem. I'm running a UAD1 and RME 9632.

Perhaps your Powercore or Lynx card might be the issue? Ever tried removing one from the setup and then measuring CPU performance?
Guest
 

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:37 pm

team714 wrote:might a i7 970 worth against a i7 2600 for Cubase and video use?
actually i have a 950 but the cpu performance is not smooth with big projects...
that´s the reason i want to upgrade.


they are pretty much neck and neck. since you already have an X58 system the smart thing is to just drop the 970 in there and preferably over clock it.. it will hit 3.8GHz no prob.

with the price drop on the 970 it might be worth it. had you tried to OC you 950 yet? it will also hit 3.8GHz.
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby ceanganb » Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:56 pm

And how much do you think a i7 2600K with good air cooling (Noctua U12P SE2) can reach without pushing too much in a Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3-B3?

Other thing: for samples, is it worth overclocking Corsair Dominators 1600MHz?
A. Cabreira
Cubase 7.0.3 / Windows 7 X64 / M-Audio Fast Track C400
Intel Core i7 2700K / 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz / Asus P8H67-M EVO
ceanganb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Sat Apr 16, 2011 6:09 pm

4.5GHz should be easy
never oc the ram. you want the ram to come as close to 1600 as possible
anything past 1600 can be an issue without raising voltage in a big way (looking for unstable at that point)

we have even seen issues @ 1604

OCing on the SB systems is a tad different as its all having to do with Turbo
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby ceanganb » Sat Apr 16, 2011 7:52 pm

Ok, no RAM OC, so 1600Mhz is enough for good samples stream? I'll be using 4x4 GB. And let me try to understand one thing: the Turbo feature is an auto overclock, right?, so if I want to overclock, should I increase both multipliers the same amount, normal and turbo, or set them both to the same speed?

Thanks
A. Cabreira
Cubase 7.0.3 / Windows 7 X64 / M-Audio Fast Track C400
Intel Core i7 2700K / 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz / Asus P8H67-M EVO
ceanganb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby drums1225 » Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:09 am

OK, I've ordered everything... It came in just over $900, not including the OS, using Newegg.com and Tigerdirect.com. I'm getting the CPU at Microcenter for $250 (local pickup), when it's going for $300 everywhere else.

    Intel Core i7 2600 CPU
    ASUS P8P67 LE motherboard
    8GB (2 x 4GB) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM
    WD Caviar Black 500GB SATA 6.0 HDD
    WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6.0 HDD
    Corsair 650TX Enthusiast PSU (non-modular)
    EVGA GeForce 9500GT Dual Head GPU
    Plextor SATA DVD/CD burner
    Coolermaster - CM Storm Scout Mid ATX Case

I'm looking forward to building this bad boy! Everything should be here by mid-week. Wish me luck.

Thanks for your help, guys.
Chris
Cubase 6.55 | Win 7 Enterprise 64bit | Presonus Firestudio/Digimax FS
Core i7 2600 | ASUS P8P67 LE | 8GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
WD Caviar 500GB HDD | WD Caviar Black 1TB HDD
drums1225
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby plectrumboy » Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:36 am

Chris, that sounds like a beast - I'd be interested to hear your impressions when you've got it up and running.

Steve.
Core i7 2600K @ 4.3Ghz on Asus Z68-V LX 8Gb running Windows 7 (64 bit), Samsung RF711 laptop 8 Gb running Windows 8.1 (64 bit), 2x UR824, Cubase 7.5.3 (64 bit), Halionsonic 2, The Grand SE3, HSO, Wavelab 8.5.1, Halion 5, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns, Mark 1, Groove Agent 3.02 with jBridge, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.
User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby beatpete » Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:31 pm

JCschild wrote:
team714 wrote:might a i7 970 worth against a i7 2600 for Cubase and video use?
actually i have a 950 but the cpu performance is not smooth with big projects...
that´s the reason i want to upgrade.


they are pretty much neck and neck. since you already have an X58 system the smart thing is to just drop the 970 in there and preferably over clock it.. it will hit 3.8GHz no prob.

with the price drop on the 970 it might be worth it. had you tried to OC you 950 yet? it will also hit 3.8GHz.


I just installed a 970 (I had a 920) for quite a while) and I'm wondering if you have any advice on over clocking it? i tried a couple of things but because it's not "unlocked", I guess it's a little trickier (My 920 was easy).
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Steinberg MR816x, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.20 64bit
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit,Celeron G540,16 gb ram, VEPro.
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby JCschild » Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:44 pm

920 vs 970 should be the same tweaks.
way too much to put in a post..
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: i5 or i7 for Cubase 6/Win 7 system?

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:45 pm

JCschild wrote:
team714 wrote:might a i7 970 worth against a i7 2600 for Cubase and video use?
actually i have a 950 but the cpu performance is not smooth with big projects...
that´s the reason i want to upgrade.


they are pretty much neck and neck. since you already have an X58 system the smart thing is to just drop the 970 in there and preferably over clock it.. it will hit 3.8GHz no prob.

with the price drop on the 970 it might be worth it. had you tried to OC you 950 yet? it will also hit 3.8GHz.


no i did not overclock the 950 yet but i´d be very curious to know if there is a notable performance boost if i put an 970 in with 6 cores? Or are the cores unnecessary for better cpu performance and is "ghz" the more relevant fact?
Guest
 

Next

Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest