Ci1 Problems..

This section is about Steinberg's USB audio interfaces CI1, CI2 and CI2+

Ci1 Problems..

Postby Dantrix » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:50 pm

Hi i just bough a Ci1 today! After installing & registrate it i have some problems :s

I plugged my headphones into the phonein and i just have sound on the left channel of my headphones, same happens when i plug my headphones into the L/R output i still have sound on the left channel, so anyone here know what i should do to fix this?

And a another problem is that when i playing on my keyboard,listening to music the sound just disappear for 2-3 secs and this still repeat 10sec space.
Dantrix
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby rtorstrick » Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:45 pm

Do your headphones play in both ears when you are playing back audio from the computer?

Also, it sounds as if you are getting audio dropouts. You may need to optimize your computer for audio and/or adjust your ASIO driver to a larger buffer size. There is a lot of information in this forum on how to do both. Just search on "optimize".
Windows 7
Cubase 7.5.30, Halion 5.04, Wavelab 8.5
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2TB SATA media drive, 500 Gb storage drive
UAD-2 Solo, UAD-2 Duo, Yamaha KX8, Steinberg MR816csx, CC121, Waves 9: IR-1, Vocal and Diamond Bundles, L316, iZotope Ozone 5, RX2
User avatar
rtorstrick
Junior Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby Dantrix » Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:23 pm

Hi, my headphones works perfectly back on the interigated soundcard!
So any ideas what this is caused by?

And i still get cutouts, i did what that guide was telling me.
Dantrix
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby Bane » Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:58 pm

Run this to evaluate your computer's strength. You may also want to check about getting a powered hub, which will increase the amount of power your CI can suck from the computer if the computer proves weak.

http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud
User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby rtorstrick » Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:12 pm

My question was, do you get stereo playback THROUGH THE CI1 when you are playing a mix out of your DAW. The test was, is the CI working as designed. From your answer, I still don't know.

I think the CI series separate the inputs one to an ear, 1 to the left and 2 to the right. Ridiculous, I know, but that seems to be the case.

Try pressing the MONO button.
Windows 7
Cubase 7.5.30, Halion 5.04, Wavelab 8.5
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2TB SATA media drive, 500 Gb storage drive
UAD-2 Solo, UAD-2 Duo, Yamaha KX8, Steinberg MR816csx, CC121, Waves 9: IR-1, Vocal and Diamond Bundles, L316, iZotope Ozone 5, RX2
User avatar
rtorstrick
Junior Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby Dantrix » Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:41 pm

Hi i did the DPS/latency check, and my computer scored 156, so i actually dont see the problem but i can try to buy a USB hub to check out there will be any difference :)

But i have tried now for 3-4 days to get the sound into the R-Channel of my phones, pushed every buttom on the UI but i still dont get it :/
Dantrix
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby Bane » Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:05 pm

The powered hub should only fix your audio dropout problems, not your output in one ear ordeal. Just wanted to clarify.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud
User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby rtorstrick » Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:15 pm

I'll give it one more shot. When you report hearing sound only in one ear, what is your sound source?
Windows 7
Cubase 7.5.30, Halion 5.04, Wavelab 8.5
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2TB SATA media drive, 500 Gb storage drive
UAD-2 Solo, UAD-2 Duo, Yamaha KX8, Steinberg MR816csx, CC121, Waves 9: IR-1, Vocal and Diamond Bundles, L316, iZotope Ozone 5, RX2
User avatar
rtorstrick
Junior Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby dryates » Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:25 am

I'm having the same problem.

I'm using Reaper. Audio played through my "normal" speaker setup sounds fine. Audio played through the Ci1 unit, whether I use headphone, L, or R outputs, only plays into the left channel. Thoughts on this?

Using Vista Ultimate. Not sure what other info to include. Drivers are up to date. Windows is up to date.

Thanks!
David
dryates
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby dryates » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:11 am

I'm now testing with Windows Media Player playing out through the Ci1 through the headphone jack, and this is also only playing through the left channel. Could it be a faulty device?
dryates
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby rtorstrick » Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:04 pm

Have you tried Steinberg Support? Contact info is available here somewhere...

It might be worth checking the Windows Multimedia setup for your hardware, too.
Windows 7
Cubase 7.5.30, Halion 5.04, Wavelab 8.5
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2TB SATA media drive, 500 Gb storage drive
UAD-2 Solo, UAD-2 Duo, Yamaha KX8, Steinberg MR816csx, CC121, Waves 9: IR-1, Vocal and Diamond Bundles, L316, iZotope Ozone 5, RX2
User avatar
rtorstrick
Junior Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Ci1 Problems..

Postby Bane » Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:32 pm

This is one of those situations where it would be nice to sit at your house/studio and analyze the connections of everything. Being that I've never had problems with panning, I would really have to work to reproduce the results.

That means I'm either wicked genius or kinda lucky. Which would you say?

Image
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud
User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 37 times


Return to Steinberg CI Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests