Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers

Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Stefan Schreiber » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:01 pm

Dear CMC customers,

during our thorough test cycles we discovered a few incompatibility issues between some of our hardware products and the initial Cubase 7.0.0 release version. We highly recommend that you refer to this corresponding Knowledge Base article if and how your Steinberg hardware product is affected before updating to Cubase 7.

We know that this isn't great news but it's our goal to be transparent. Rest assured that we are taking all issues seriously and already scheduled actions to resolve them as soon as possible to make your experience with Steinberg products the best there is.

Best regards,

Stefan Schreiber
Stefan Schreiber - Product Marketing Manager Hardware
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!
Stefan Schreiber
Moderator
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby djthebandit » Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:41 pm

Yep problem detected. CMC-QC the EQ does not work.
Everything works perfect in Cubase 6.
djthebandit
New Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby braineeter » Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:46 pm

Not sure if this is the right place to mention this, but i've found another issue with CMC-TP and Cubase 7.

The slider, when in zoom mode, only seems to control the track editor -- when i try to use it on other pages, such as the key editor and the mixer, it does nothing at all.

FWIW, I've still got my key commands set up for horizontal zooming in and out, and they work perfectly on all editors.

Regards
Glenn
i5 2500k/8G DDR3/SSD System Drive & SATA III recording and sample HDDs/ RME Multiface/UAD2/
Duende and Liquid Mix
braineeter
New Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby braineeter » Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:49 pm

PS: I appreciate that Steinberg is on top of the known CMC issues -- happy to see that the EQ functionality will be fixed on the QC.

Best bet, of course, is for things to be working as expected, but if that's not possible, IMHO it's much better to see the software maker being proactive about problem issues, rather than leaving users in the dark.

Regards
Glenn
i5 2500k/8G DDR3/SSD System Drive & SATA III recording and sample HDDs/ RME Multiface/UAD2/
Duende and Liquid Mix
braineeter
New Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Sat Dec 08, 2012 6:17 am

I also have the same experience with the TP zoom not functioning except for the track view.
Guest
 

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby braineeter » Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:43 pm

Looks like it's all the slider functions, or at least all the ones i tried: locate, zoom, etc.

They work perfectly on the track editor, but do not work on any other Cubase 7 editor.

Can someone from Steinberg say whether this is recognized as a general problem, or is it something that only a few of us are experiencing?

Regards
Glenn
i5 2500k/8G DDR3/SSD System Drive & SATA III recording and sample HDDs/ RME Multiface/UAD2/
Duende and Liquid Mix
braineeter
New Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Lundin » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:21 pm

Shouldn't we have a thread for bugreporting for these units? I think i've found 2 new one's today which i believe didn't exist in C6 /6.5
Lundin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby djthebandit » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:08 pm

@lundin

Maybe this is that thread?
djthebandit
New Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Lundin » Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:30 am

djthebandit wrote:@lundin

Maybe this is that thread?

Mebbe, but i meant like this one.. some kind of official thread that's monitored by Steinberg
Lundin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby dmikulla » Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:16 am

I lost functionality of the back light of all CMC. Still works with Cubase 6.5 :(
dmikulla
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:35 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Lundin » Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:12 pm

dmikulla wrote:I lost functionality of the back light of all CMC. Still works with Cubase 6.5 :(

It works here C7 /Win 8 64-bit. Have you tried to re-install the CMC software?
Lundin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby JMCecil » Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:28 am

Again, QC no longer goes into "dark" mode when exiting Cubase. It goes to MIDI mode with all of the QC knobs powered up. Please turn everything off when exiting Cubase.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3751
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:12 pm

SORT THESE BLOODY EQ'S OUT FOR CHRIST SAKE IT'S BEEN NEARLY A MONTH AND YES I KNOW IM SHOUTING BECAUSE IM *quiz* OFF !
Guest
 

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Jaymo99 » Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:37 am

I have the same Issue with CMC-QC not working with the EQ... ironically i can assign knobs in I/O learn mode but dont have the same functionality like its suppose to be. looking forward to the fix. i dont really want to go back to cubase 6 just to have EQ functionality



K?


Thanks
My studio
Intel Xeon 2 x X5355 2.83 quad core/16 GB ram/ SSD main drive/Windows 7 64 bit/ Motu Ultralite Firewire 2G/ Ipad mini w/Cubase IC/CMC QC/CMC AI/Cubase 7.5/Waves V9/EZ Drummer/SD 2/EZ MIX/ Brainworx/Amplitube 3/MarkBass plug in/a bunch of NI stuff/ some Guitars/Basses/Roland XP60/POD v2.0 blah blah blah =o)
Jaymo99
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby sorin » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:09 pm

Mine to...........not working in cubase 7, cmc qc, and when i think i just make a order for cmc-ch......!
Have to reconsider this fast!
win 8 64 bit, Cubase 7.0.6 64 bit, ur28m, tc electronic powercore firewire, steinberg ch, qc, pd....
User avatar
sorin
New Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:21 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Killing Iris » Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:58 pm

Hi There

I have recently purchased Cubase 7 and the CMC-CH controller. These have both been registered on my new Steinberg account. I am running Windows 7 64Bit, with Cubase 64Bit installed.
For some reason I cant get my CH controller to work.
I have run the setup for 64Bit from the CMC Tools disk, and the unit does come on and is responsive to touch etc. However Cubase does not seem to pick it up.
I have gone to "Device Setup">Remote setup, but it still reads nothing. I have plugged in the unit before opening Cubase as stated.
I logged onto the hub and installed the latest Driver but still nothing. I have also updated Cubase 7 to 7.0.1
I have checked the forums and this seems to be a common issue among these controllers, but with no clear solutions.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Killing Iris
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:04 pm

have you actually installed the cmc in the device setup by click the + sign in the left hand top corner and adding the device ?
Guest
 

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Killing Iris » Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:26 pm

Yeah, Iv tried that. I click the 'plus' sign, a dropdown menu comes up, I click on CMC-CH and nothing happens.
I tried restarting and nothing.... So frustrating
Killing Iris
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:38 pm

have you clicked on the cmc in the device list and setup the midi i/o ?
Guest
 

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Killing Iris » Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Doesn't give me any options.. like I said "I go to "Device Setup" I click the 'plus' sign, a dropdown menu comes up, I click on CMC-CH and nothing happens. When it recognises the controller, Its supposed to appear under "Remote Devices" and from there I could set up - except it doesnt "recognise" it, no matter how many times I reinstall the drivers etc.
Killing Iris
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby sorin » Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:09 am

Hey good people from Steinberg,

I bought this cmc ch just for a day, and i already have a problem: when i try to make global bypass of insert eq send with shift is not working - with my cubase 7!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I already have problems with my cmc qc, now with this to.

It will take much time to fix this problems............??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
win 8 64 bit, Cubase 7.0.6 64 bit, ur28m, tc electronic powercore firewire, steinberg ch, qc, pd....
User avatar
sorin
New Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:21 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby musicmanny » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:42 am

EQ not working with Cubase 7 (32bit, running on WIN7 64bit) here either. Spent half the day uninstalling/reinstalling the CMC Tools, reverting back to its factory state and playing with the QC settings in the Device Manager until I read this post. I can set it up within Quick Controls fine but it's not responding to commands in EQ mode. Any update on the fix?
musicmanny
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby BriHar » Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:13 pm

Having read and understood that there are a few bugs to be ironed out, esp. with the QC, I have purchased all of the CMC units with the confidence that Steinberg will get these dealt with.

I may be superstitious, but I've gleaned from various posts that for the installation and particularly the firmware update, the unit should be plugged directly into a USB port rather than over a hub, and that any other CMC units should not be attached at this time. After the update the unit may be disconnected and then used over a hub.
True or false, this is what I did, and had absolutely no problems. In fact, because I have too few USB ports, I've daisy chained the hubs for the CMC units to another hub i.e. I have 2 7-port hubs reserved for the CMCs (plus a remote numeric keypad which I use for remote transport control) and these are plugged into another 7-port hub which is plugged into the PC. This works without any problems, the ports are each separately powered, but it seems to work even when the secondary hubs are not being powered (I power them anyway to prevent overloading (heating) the first hubs wallwart).

Now I have a question, or rather suggestion (plea) for Steinberg.
In windows Devices Control panel, there is an applet for the Yamaha midi driver. This has a tab for each CMC device, displaying a matrix and options. Nowhere is the function of the various matrix settings and options explained.
Would it be too much to ask that the Control panels be explained in a future update of the user manual or quickguide?
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1842
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Chew » Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:32 am

any news about the QC EQ fix?
Chew
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:16 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Mon Feb 11, 2013 1:13 pm

come on steiny give us a hint on here when the eq's will be sorted

regards
john
Guest
 

Next

Return to Steinberg CMC Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests