Midi out to sound module

Midi out to sound module

Postby Musikmagistern » Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:32 pm

I have à keyboard Connected to My ipad with Irig. Midi out to My roland integra 7 sound modul.. Cubasis dont let me play the sounds from the modul... I have to put the midi Cable to thru..and then i cant record
..why?
Musikmagistern
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Frieder » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:09 am

Hello,

this is the intended behavior at the moment. Cubasis has no MIDI-THRU in the sense that it forwards the MIDI Data from the MIDI-IN automatically to the MIDI-OUT. MIDI-OUT only outputs the notes that are triggered by the track. So you would have to:

1. Record the MIDI-Data that you want to forward to your sound module (e.g., using a built-in sound for monitoring)
2. Playback the MIDI-Data and send it to your sound module

Kind regards,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Dan77 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:43 pm

Will this be implemented in the future? I have bought Cubasis for the sole reason of using it mainly with external hardware. It's now almost usseless to me and the price was quite high. Otherwise I love the look and feel and would really want to see this implemented for your suggested workaround is not satisfactory for me, as i need to hear what im playing. It also makes it impossible to record other apps like polysix from external hardware keyboard. Please fix this.

Dan
Dan77
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Frieder » Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:03 pm

Hi Dan,

thanks for letting us know. I see the use-case for this function and we indeed thought about adding an option to the setup to enable that MIDI is forwarded from the MIDI-IN to the MIDI-OUT of the interface. So let us see what the future updates bring.

Kind regards and have a nice weekend,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Tlgdmb123 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:25 pm

I would like the midi thru feature too please :)
Tlgdmb123
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Tlgdmb123 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:54 pm

On a very similar note - when using external synths in background eg bs16i and funkbox, the mixer fader does not seem to transmit volume controller data to adjust the volume of the external synth. Is this correct ? If so similarly to the midi through please add this.

One of the best features of Cubasis is the ability to route midi to various background apps but we need better features such as midi thru, filtering of midi data, midi cc data manipulation, midi clock and so on. :)
Tlgdmb123
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby allenfehr » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:16 am

how do i play back the midi tracks using the sounds from my synth module?
allenfehr
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:10 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Frieder » Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:45 am

allenfehr wrote:how do i play back the midi tracks using the sounds from my synth module?


Hello,

just connect a MIDI-Interface to your iPad and choose it as the output in the MIDI-Connections tab. If you connect it to your sound module you should be able to hear the sounds of your sound module (plug in a headphone to your sound module or send the Audio of your device back to Cubasis if you have an interface that has Audio and MIDI).

I hope this helped.

Kind regards,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby ipadmusic.com » Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:26 pm

Musikmagistern wrote:I have à keyboard Connected to My ipad with Irig. Midi out to My roland integra 7 sound modul.. Cubasis dont let me play the sounds from the modul... I have to put the midi Cable to thru..and then i cant record
..why?

There is an app for that )))
I posted screenshots on how to setup this with MIDI bridge http://www.ipadmusic.com/blog/2013/1/10/cubasis-tips-and-tricks-midi-through-with-midi-bridge
ipadmusic.com
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby atlatnesiti » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:21 am

That is so true. I find MIDIBridge totally indespesible - it is for MIDI what AudiouBus is for Audio :)
iMac i7 2.8GHz 16GB RAM, OS X.10.10, iOS 8, iPad 4 64GB LTE, iPad Air 128GB LTE, iApogee Quartet, M-Audio Axiom PRO 49, Cubase 7.5, Logic Pro X, Ableton Live Suite 9, Reason 7, Tracktion 5, WaveLab Elements 8, various iOS Apps, VSTi's, AU's and hardware synths...
User avatar
atlatnesiti
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:48 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Tlgdmb123 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:19 pm

Yeah a big thumbs up from me for midi bridge & Nic there is very very helpful and pro-active.
Tlgdmb123
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi out to sound module

Postby Dan77 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:47 pm

All fine with MIDI bridge, but it does not support Cubasis track selection. Cubasis should automatically route incoming MIDI to track MIDI output, like Cubase does
Dan77
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubasis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests