iC Pro and iPad first generation

iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby Cochrane » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:03 am

Hello,

does the brand new iC Pro work with the first generation of iPads (iOS 5.x.x)?

Thanks,
Cochrane
NUENDO 5.5.3 NEK - Q9650 3GHz Quad - VISTA/64 - 8GB RAM - 4TB HDs - RME HDSP 9652 - nVidia 8500GT passive - nVidia NVS 290 passive - 2*24" + 2*20" --- CUBASE 6.5.4 - Q9550 2.8GHz Quad - W7/64 - 8GB RAM --- Wavelab 7.2, HALion Sonic, VG2, GA3, HALion 4.5, VB, The Grand 3
Cochrane
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby Home Studio 87 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:22 am

one guy in gearslutz forum say it works
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 / Intel Corei7 2600k / 16384 Mo DDR3 / Seven x64 / UAD2 Quad & 2x UAD2 Duo / TC Powercore PCI / RME HDSP Multiface PCI / CMC Controllers / Faderport / iPad 3 / Cubase 7.5 x64...
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby crohde » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:13 pm

Hi Cochrane,

Officially we only support the new ones because older devices might not be powerful enough to handle big Cubase projects.
Best regards,

Carlos Mendoza Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook
User avatar
crohde
Moderator
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby maaaquemeseyo » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:38 pm

It works, but it's not very smooth and crashes often (I've only have checked in C7.0.1, project contains about 60 channels).
Anyway, I think it's a really great idea, and sooner or later I'll have to upgrade my iPad :mrgreen:
maaaquemeseyo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby John Purser » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:12 pm

iPad 1 works but not smoothly - not worth trying if you don't have the latest model (so I went and bought the latest - for more reasons than just running Cubase iC Pro!)
Cubase 7.06 | Windows 7 Home Premium | 64 bit | Intel i5 | NVIDEA GeForce GTX570
John Purser
Junior Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby byresman » Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:44 pm

crohde wrote:Hi Cochrane,

Officially we only support the new ones because older devices might not be powerful enough to handle big Cubase projects.



Can you point me to where it says that you only support new devices please? I specifically checked to see if my operating system on the ipad 1 was suitable, ie, over the operating system limit and it is. You specify over OS 5 - I have 5.1.1 installed on my ipad. It definitely doesn't say anywhere in the app store that the iC Pro is not suitable for iPad 1.

This doesn't seem right. Now you announce that it doesn't work. Normal practice is that if someone tries to install an app that will not work on his device a dialogue appears saying that the software is not suitable for that device.

Is there any way I can have a refund?

Byresman
byresman
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby crohde » Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:15 pm

byresman wrote:
Can you point me to where it says that you only support new devices please? I specifically checked to see if my operating system on the ipad 1 was suitable, ie, over the operating system limit and it is. You specify over OS 5 - I have 5.1.1 installed on my ipad. It definitely doesn't say anywhere in the app store that the iC Pro is not suitable for iPad 1.

This doesn't seem right. Now you announce that it doesn't work. Normal practice is that if someone tries to install an app that will not work on his device a dialogue appears saying that the software is not suitable for that device.

Is there any way I can have a refund?

Byresman


Hi Byresman,

Please check the official product website:
http://steinberg.net/cubaseicpro
At the bottom you can find the supported devices.

You can get a refund through your iTunes account.
Best regards,

Carlos Mendoza Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook
User avatar
crohde
Moderator
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: iC Pro and iPad first generation

Postby nicopoche » Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:19 am

Hello !

I confirm that this app is too slow on Ipad 1 to be used correctly. I bought it because on AppStore it is just said "Ipad" for the compatitbility, so I thought it meant all Ipads...
Maybe the next upgrade will improve performances. ;)

Nicolas
nicopoche
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubase iC Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests