What's the point of the 2TR in?

This section is about Steinberg's USB audio interfaces UR824, UR28M, UR44, UR22 and UR12

What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby az_spunky » Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:30 am

I am wondering what the point of having the 2TR input jack if that signal is not passed to the computer? Am I missing something?
Cubase 7 :: HALion Sonic :: HALion Symphonic Orchestra :: Native Instruments Komplete 8 :: Arturia Analog Experience - The Laboratory :: K-Sounds Piano Samples :: Yamaha Motif ES8 :: Ensoniq SD1 :: Windows 7 64-bit :: 8GB RAM ::
az_spunky
New Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby qbury » Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:22 pm

I use mine to connect an external CD/IPod player. I can play commercial CD's via the same monitors and listening position I use for Cubase. It helps greatly when comparing commercial CD's to my own mixes. Also, if I just want to listen to a CD/IPod without loading Cubase I can do that too. If I'm trying to learn a bass line I can play a CD, plug my bass into an input, put on head phones and practice. This would work for guitar or keyboard as well. It's a very convenient feature.
Would it be cool to be able to record into your DAW via the 2TR...Yes! But..
Win 7x64 SP1| Dual Boot XP3 | i7 930 2.8Ghz | ASUS P6T SE | 6Gig Corsair 1600 DDR3x3 | UR28M | Cubase | 7.5x32 | 5.5.3x32 | Novation Impulse 61
qbury
Junior Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby Grim » Sat Aug 04, 2012 5:34 pm

I pipe my internet PC audio (on internal audio) into my aux in to have all the monitor switching options available for online audio, video etc. For me it's the perfect solution and along with the 3 monitor switching and mono button was why I chose the UR.
i7 930@2.8, 12Gb, W7HP x64, Cubase 7.5.30 x64, Audient iD22, Alphatrack, Wavelab Elements 7.2.1.
User avatar
Grim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby Francesckina » Sun Dec 16, 2012 2:07 am

Can you record the signal from the 2TR input? I have tried and have had no luck.
Francesckina
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 11:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby Grim » Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:03 pm

Don't think you can without wiring a pair of outputs back to your inputs 3/4. (Watch out for feedback loop)
i7 930@2.8, 12Gb, W7HP x64, Cubase 7.5.30 x64, Audient iD22, Alphatrack, Wavelab Elements 7.2.1.
User avatar
Grim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby bies » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:00 pm

Strange... 2TR input could be the only way to record audio returned from external MIDI sound module. Inputs 3/4 are distorted by preamps and/or AD/DA converters. I did not know it before buying...
bies
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:11 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby qbury » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:36 pm

bies wrote:Strange... 2TR input could be the only way to record audio returned from external MIDI sound module. Inputs 3/4 are distorted by preamps and/or AD/DA converters. I did not know it before buying...


If you have the latest firmware you can adjust the settings on inputs 3/4. There are no preamps on those inputs either. What do you have going into them?
Win 7x64 SP1| Dual Boot XP3 | i7 930 2.8Ghz | ASUS P6T SE | 6Gig Corsair 1600 DDR3x3 | UR28M | Cubase | 7.5x32 | 5.5.3x32 | Novation Impulse 61
qbury
Junior Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby bies » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:47 pm

I have the latest firmware and I can adjust the settings on inputs 3/4. But there is no "bypass mode". I have old keyboard with the only analog output (yes, I know it is unpractical in VST times but I still like some voices). Sound in 3/4 inputs of UR28M is affected by AD/DA converter or preamp or maybe something else. I turned off all effects, changed hardware configuration in mixer. Maybe it is not a distortion, but sound is not as pure as in 2TR in.
It is not a big problem, but I still wonder why 2TR in does not flow signal to the computer...
bies
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:11 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby BriHar » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:48 pm

You probably need to turn down the level of the signal on your Kbd. I have an old analog modular synth and do the same.
The 2TR input is meant for comparison with commercial or other material as qbury mentions in the 2nd post - this is what it's primarily for - for people who like to mix this way. Also once you mixdown and burn to a CD, it lets you listen to it over the original soundsystem. It wasn't designed to be a 7/8 input source.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2172
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby bies » Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:27 pm

Low level of signal combined with -10dBV sounds much better. Thanks!
bies
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:11 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's the point of the 2TR in?

Postby qbury » Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:11 pm

Glad to hear it's working for you. :D
Win 7x64 SP1| Dual Boot XP3 | i7 930 2.8Ghz | ASUS P6T SE | 6Gig Corsair 1600 DDR3x3 | UR28M | Cubase | 7.5x32 | 5.5.3x32 | Novation Impulse 61
qbury
Junior Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Steinberg UR Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest