Network Setup

Network Setup

Postby SuStudio » Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:53 pm

Per the video tutorial, must you create a separate network to use Cubase IC PRo? What if I already have an established network and just want to use IC Pro across it instead of having to switch out of my existing into a specially created one for this app. Sorry if I'm missing something here but wanted to ask before buying.

Thanks!
Cubase 6.5 & 7.5 - Cubasis & ICPro
Macbook Pro 2.66 i7 - OS 10.8.5 8GB Ram - Dual internal drives
NI Audio6, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, Numerous VSTi & plug-ins.
SuStudio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Network Setup

Postby Armand Rochette » Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:20 pm

Hi,


You don't necessarily have to create another separate network.

Having an ad-hoc connection is needed if you don't have a local Wifi network or could also -in some cases- improve the overall performance of your network.


Cheers,
Software Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
Armand Rochette
Moderator
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:01 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Network Setup

Postby SuStudio » Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:30 pm

Ok, thanks. I have other remote desktop apps that run just fine over my existing network. The tutorial is a bit misleading as creating a separate network for me would mean leaving my existing network that I use for many audio-related tasks with Cubase, etc. Curiously, if you didn't have a local WiFi connection, you would create an Ad-Hoc one based on what medium, Bluetooth?
Cubase 6.5 & 7.5 - Cubasis & ICPro
Macbook Pro 2.66 i7 - OS 10.8.5 8GB Ram - Dual internal drives
NI Audio6, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, Numerous VSTi & plug-ins.
SuStudio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Network Setup

Postby Armand Rochette » Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:55 am

Hi,


Ad-hoc is using the Wifi protocol as well, it's just a device-to-device network let's say.


Cheers,
Software Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
Armand Rochette
Moderator
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:01 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubase iC Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests