mono track -> stereo track

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

mono track -> stereo track

Postby metl4evr » Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:37 pm

Hey all,

Is there an easy way to do this? Is there a function that can simply make a mono track (and / or it's events) into stereo? If there isn't, why isnt there? :D Just sayyyyyyin
Cubase 7.5 64-bit | Cubase 6.5.4 64-bit | Cubase 5.5.3 32-bit | Wavelab 7 | Windows 7 64bit | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Fireface 800 | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Titleist 910D2 Diamana 62g Stiff
User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby mpayne0 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:25 pm

Whats wrong with Cubase stereo delay?

I don't know if any plugin is going to generate any sort of difference information thats gonna be any more interesting than copying detuning, pan, etc.

Otherwise you're going towards chorus and that sort of stuff.

What exactly did you have in mind? You want difference information created from a mono source. What do you want Cubase to do? Do you really want Cubase to do it for you?

*Not that I haven't thought of it before too.
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:34 pm

mpayne0 wrote:What exactly did you have in mind? You want difference information created from a mono source. What do you want Cubase to do? Do you really want Cubase to do it for you?

Obviously he wants to switch a mono track to a stereo track. Insert a stereo FX into a mono track, and you have found why this can be helpful sometimes.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby curteye » Thu Apr 04, 2013 2:44 am

Aloha guys and interesting thread.

IMHO there is no way to truly make a mono track into a stereo
track. The track has to be recorded in stereo from the git-go.

As mentioned there are ways to 'effect' a mono track so it appears
to sound in stereo. But no amount of recording/DAW magic can really give
you what was not there in the first place.

You can get close. But no cigar.

Old guy story:
I had a client a numbers of years back that insisted on
recording/editing/mixing an entire project all in mono.
(his cheque cleared so who was I to argue?)

Once we were all done he spent mucho more $$$ to send off his work to
one of the big houses to be mastered IN STEREO!!!

He said that doing it that way made his music sound way more 'in yo face'.

And he may have been right!

But unfortunately I never heard from him again or the results of the mastering;
but it was quite an experience in recording/producing music.

My 1st and only all mono project.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mac Pro w/3 4k monitors.
On-line in Jan 2015

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5018
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 183 times

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby metl4evr » Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:18 am

scheizer....

it seems I haven't been clear. I'm not looking to make a mono track SOUND like its in stereo, i'm merely looking to make the track STEREO in one fell swoop. Why? well... have you ever tried to apply a stereo reverb effect to a mono track? in comes out as a summed down mono version of the stereo effect. So, in order to hear in STEREO, you have to convert the track to a stereo track to facilitate a stereo effect. NOW.... this involves creating a new STEREO track and then transferring all events to this stereo track OR exporting the track back into the project as a STEREO track. both of which seem to beat around the bush a bit, so to speak.

I just figured it'd be cool to be able to RIGHT CLICK on the event or track, and be able to convert the whole kit and caboodle to stereo.

not sure theres much need for that, but I run across it CONSTANTLY in my line of work.

:)
Cubase 7.5 64-bit | Cubase 6.5.4 64-bit | Cubase 5.5.3 32-bit | Wavelab 7 | Windows 7 64bit | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Fireface 800 | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Titleist 910D2 Diamana 62g Stiff
User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby ThePresent » Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:17 am

metl4evr wrote:Hey all,

Is there an easy way to do this? Is there a function that can simply make a mono track (and / or it's events) into stereo? If there isn't, why isnt there? :D Just sayyyyyyin

No there isn't.
There are ways to get stereo-ish, like curteye said, to get close, but no switch, no button.
ThePresent
----------------
i5 750 - Windows 7 64 Bit - Cubase 6.5.5 32 bit - Arturia Minimoog V - M-Audio Fasttrack Pro - Emu XBoard 61
ThePresent
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby glittle » Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:07 am

Yes. Seconding metal4evr's question. How to quickly make a mono track stereo so that you can use stereo insert efx. This happens all the time. I've taken to just always making stereo tracks from the start which seems a little wasteful when recording mono sources (80% of the things I record) just so I don't have to deal with the converting later.

-----
http://balloonastronomy.com
http://balloonastronomy.bandcamp.com
glittle
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby curteye » Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:00 am

glittle wrote:I've taken to just always making stereo tracks from the start


+1
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mac Pro w/3 4k monitors.
On-line in Jan 2015

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5018
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 183 times

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby metl4evr » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:26 pm

curteye wrote:
glittle wrote:I've taken to just always making stereo tracks from the start


ABSOLUTEY!!

*BUT* I'm a mix engineer. I often am handed projects to mix. They're almost NEVER all stereo tracks.

Steiny? Any way I can submit a feature request?? :)


+1
{'-'}
Cubase 7.5 64-bit | Cubase 6.5.4 64-bit | Cubase 5.5.3 32-bit | Wavelab 7 | Windows 7 64bit | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Fireface 800 | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Titleist 910D2 Diamana 62g Stiff
User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby metl4evr » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:37 pm

Also, I started THIS thread, which kinna deals with the same thing... but not exactly.

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=37968
Cubase 7.5 64-bit | Cubase 6.5.4 64-bit | Cubase 5.5.3 32-bit | Wavelab 7 | Windows 7 64bit | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Fireface 800 | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Titleist 910D2 Diamana 62g Stiff
User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby cyclical » Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:50 am

Solo the track
File / Export / Audio Mixdown: make sure "stereo" and "audio track" are selected.

Done.
cyclical
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:51 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby metl4evr » Wed Apr 10, 2013 4:34 pm

Yes i know, but when you have a project that spans over an hour with a big track count, and lost of DSP, that takes ALOT of time. 15-20 minutes anyways. Not worth it.
Cubase 7.5 64-bit | Cubase 6.5.4 64-bit | Cubase 5.5.3 32-bit | Wavelab 7 | Windows 7 64bit | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Fireface 800 | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Titleist 910D2 Diamana 62g Stiff
User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby Yutaka » Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:44 am

metl4evr wrote:it seems I haven't been clear. I'm not looking to make a mono track SOUND like its in stereo, i'm merely looking to make the track STEREO in one fell swoop. Why? well... have you ever tried to apply a stereo reverb effect to a mono track?


The reason why there is no such feature in Cubase is because just about everybody uses aux sends for the above situation. There should be some articles on how to set up an aux send, and why it is useful, if you do a google search.
Yutaka
Junior Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby jb » Thu Apr 11, 2013 2:05 am

You can just [control] drag the mono audio to a new empty stereotrack. (Use [control] for not moving the file in time). Move your plugins to the new track by dragging them in the mixer, while displaying inserts, or create a mixerpreset of the old settings if you already had plugins and sends on it. When using Waves plugins for example create a preset in the plugin preset manager (not the cubase preset manager). Then recal the stereoversion of the plugin, and recal the preset.

To start mixing mono files from another studio on stereotracks;
You could create (or copy) a template with only stereotracks, fx returns, groups, and your master plugins, so already loaded with plugins and all.. Then import (drag) the mono audio to NEW mono tracks (on the bottom of the arangement), then put all the files were you want them on the stereotracks, then delete the unused monotracks and start mixing..

A mono file will just play normaly on a stereotrack, it's the plugins that are usualy different so you will always have to change those into stereoversions..

You can also move your mono plugins to the stereo-channel (loaded with a mono track), and insert a "mono to stereo" reverb or other effect after them, and from then on stereo effects in the chain.

You can record a mono wav file on a stereotrack just by selecting a mono ASIO input. The waveform and the file will be mono. So no need for mono tracks actualy...(I rarely use them).

Files from other studio's often have "dual mono" stereotracks (stereo sounds on 2 mono tracks panned left-right) Those you will have to bounce to a stereo-interleaved file to be able to import them on a stereotrack. I have a "bouce" output set to 0dB routed to no ASIO output for that in my standard template.
Studio: Cubase 6.5.5 (& 7.5) 32 bits on Windows 7 64 bit.
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/nov10/a ... 64-bit.htm (tip).

Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/2x RME Digiface PCI
Intel Q6600 @2.40Ghz /Asus P5K/4gb/NVIDIA GeForce 850 GT/RME multiface PCI
Controllers:
Ipad2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000, 2x BCF 2000
User avatar
jb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: mono track -> stereo track

Postby metl4evr » Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:14 am

Holy smoke dude! THAT was the answer that I was hoping to get and didn't honestly think I would!! Thank you SO MUCH, u just simplified my life big time!! :-)
Cubase 7.5 64-bit | Cubase 6.5.4 64-bit | Cubase 5.5.3 32-bit | Wavelab 7 | Windows 7 64bit | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Fireface 800 | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Titleist 910D2 Diamana 62g Stiff
User avatar
metl4evr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests