Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.

Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby bernardmic » Thu May 09, 2013 6:06 pm

Surprise... I did upgrade from 7 to 8. All worked fine. Entered new code in eLicenser. Fine again. But my original WLE7 was not removed... Why was it not removed ? I don't understand...

If I go Un-install WLE7 will I damage common files to WLE8 ? Or will a clean uninstall of 7 occur ?

Or else should I simply redirect the WLE7 shortcuts to recycle bin ?

Or should I keep both versions installed in cases bugs show up in 8 ?

Help anyone ?
bernardmic
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby Vocalpoint » Thu May 09, 2013 6:21 pm

bernardmic wrote:Surprise... I did upgrade from 7 to 8. All worked fine. Entered new code in eLicenser. Fine again. But my original WLE7 was not removed... Why was it not removed ? I don't understand...


I think that is by design and it's a good thing. All Steinberg products are designed to be installed side-by-side with another version. This has many benefits - the most important being the use of an older - but much more stable and mature version while the new one comes around.

I always leave my old version in place for several months after a new release...then once the new one can be totally trusted - do a bit of cleanup.

VP
Bruce McDonald
Vocalpoint Studios
Calgary, AB Canada
Vocalpoint
Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby PG » Thu May 09, 2013 6:29 pm

As VP says, this is by design.
If you want to uninstall WLE 7 *after* you install WLE8, the best way is to do it by hand, just erasing the WLE 7 folder.
Philippe
PG
Moderator
 
Posts: 3648
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby bernardmic » Thu May 09, 2013 6:50 pm

Thanks both VP and PG. Will wait for some time and do clean up as suggested.

Instead of deleting the 7 directory PG would it not be cleaner to use the un-install feature ? For the sake of killing some Windows Registry entries ? Would it be safe to un-install 7 without damaging the 8 version ?
bernardmic
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby PG » Thu May 09, 2013 7:04 pm

To be safe, do as i explained.
Philippe
PG
Moderator
 
Posts: 3648
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby bernardmic » Thu May 09, 2013 7:09 pm

Understood PG

Many thanks for your help.
bernardmic
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby MrSoundman » Thu May 09, 2013 7:13 pm

PG wrote:If you want to uninstall WLE 7 *after* you install WLE8, the best way is to do it by hand, just erasing the WLE 7 folder.
Does this also apply when removing WL7 after WL8 is installed?
Cubase 7.5.30 x64 | WaveLab 8.5.10 x64 | HALion 5.0.1 x64 | HSO 1.5 x64 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | Windows 7 x64
User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby PG » Thu May 09, 2013 7:35 pm

Yes
Philippe
PG
Moderator
 
Posts: 3648
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby bernardmic » Thu May 09, 2013 7:56 pm

Furthermore, I have noticed that eLicenser displays a red entry. Looks like a demo license. The demo was replaced by a valid purchased one.

Should I worry about the red item ?
Attachments
Invalid_bug.jpg
Invalid control in elicenser
(163.69 KiB) Not downloaded yet
bernardmic
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby Arjan P » Thu May 09, 2013 8:48 pm

bernardmic wrote:Furthermore, I have noticed that eLicenser displays a red entry. Looks like a demo license. The demo was replaced by a valid purchased one.

I think we all have that one - I certainly do. It's some sort of MP3 Encoder 'soft' license (one that resides on the computer hard disk). Don't know why it's there, but it doesn't bother me..
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 8.5.10 | Cubase 6.5.5 / 7.5.30 | HALion Sonic 1.6.3 | Win7 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 ----- SoundByte Studio
User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Upgrade to WLE8 did not remove WLE7

Postby Vocalpoint » Thu May 09, 2013 9:46 pm

bernardmic wrote:Furthermore, I have noticed that eLicenser displays a red entry. Looks like a demo license. The demo was replaced by a valid purchased one.

Should I worry about the red item ?


Hmmm...I seem to remember "Elements" required the purchase of the Frunhof MP3 encoder whereas that cost was not a concern for the "full" version of WL.

I would expect the same to be true for WLE 8. The MP3 license is not free...I don't think....

I do not have this "red" entry in my license summary....

VP
Bruce McDonald
Vocalpoint Studios
Calgary, AB Canada
Vocalpoint
Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times


Return to WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mrtomcat and 2 guests