Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby beerbong » Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:59 pm

sonicstate wrote:I mean... so stone me, but in comparison below C6 mixer looks better to me than c7.

Steve Helstrip wrote:Here's your direct comparison, with equal widths:

Image

+1 I agree. New MC seems to have too much wasted space
BB
beerbong
Member
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby JMCecil » Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:09 pm

If you close all racks to just have the mixer, the rack configurations do not restore the racks. You have to click on the rack button to get it to toggle. However, that replaces the size information. So you can't see any of the rack until you manually drag the mixer big again.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 170 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby Antonis Tarlizos » Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:10 pm

JMCecil wrote:Unless I'm missing it, we still need key commands to open and close the Channel Selector and Control Room Meter on the MC.

+1!!!
Intel i5, SSD-drive, 8GB RAM, Win8x64, Cubase 7x64,
My mission: use as little as possible non-Steinberg, non-StevenSlate and non-iZotope plugins
User avatar
Antonis Tarlizos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby Antonis Tarlizos » Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:12 pm

Love the update, but, for the first time since I updated to 6.5, my Cubase is crashing frequently (daily).

I noticed (2nd time in a row), when I opened or closed the mixer (can't remember)(by hitting the F3-button)
Other time I think I was or opening Variaudio or unfreezing something

anyone else?
Intel i5, SSD-drive, 8GB RAM, Win8x64, Cubase 7x64,
My mission: use as little as possible non-Steinberg, non-StevenSlate and non-iZotope plugins
User avatar
Antonis Tarlizos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby JMCecil » Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:17 pm

hmmm... thought I posted this. Hope it wasn't deleted ... Maybe because I called the way the multi-select solo/mute functionality works on the MC a bad name? Anyhow...

Video showing goofy multitrack solo behavior.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hULFUDJQ ... ycI8N9dVIg

Multi-select solo even with QLink still doesn't work. Unless someone can explain to me why the above video makes any sense.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 170 times

Re: 7.0.5-Once again changed what worked fine

Postby stevef » Sat Jun 29, 2013 11:39 pm

Completely threw me this one as well. Why the change? For years it has been one way, and now it is another? Is there a new setting or something, or is this a bug? Even worse as I flit between Cubase and Reaper a lot and it's the other way in Reaper. I don't quite understand why it changed.

And System Preferences is not an option, as I don;t want 'natural scrolling' and I certainly haven;t changed anything since 7.05.

Please change back.
stevef
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby distante » Sun Jun 30, 2013 1:38 am

beerbong wrote:New MC seems to have too much wasted space


+1000000000
Hear and See "Corazón" a Rock Song made with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( PC 64bits system / Core i7 3773K )
Scarlett 2i2 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( Laptop 64bits system )
*Always the latest version avariable.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart
User avatar
distante
Member
 
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: 7.0.5-Once again changed what worked fine

Postby bender-offender » Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:27 am

Thanks for the advice Steveinchicago, but like the other Steve said, it changes the scroll for all programs, not just Cubase.
Mac Os 10.8.5 i7 3630k 6-Core - MR816 CSX - Apogee Duet 2 - PC i7 2600 16GB w/ VE Pro - Cubase 7.5 - A black mouse pad
User avatar
bender-offender
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:44 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.0.5-Once again changed what worked fine

Postby SteveInChicago » Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:54 am

bender-offender wrote:Thanks for the advice Steveinchicago, but like the other Steve said, it changes the scroll for all programs, not just Cubase.
Sure. Sorry it wasn't helpful.

I've been using utilities that override the Mac OS settings on a per application basis, USB overdrive is one, it's free, and Steermouse, which is $20.
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4854
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 115 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: 7.0.5-Once again changed what worked fine

Postby Weasel » Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:54 am

USB overdrive is one, it's free
Nope. $20 also and worth every penny, been using it for years.

The great thing about this app is that you could have a few apps open that require different mouse customizations and as soon as you switch focus to another app, USB Overdrive automatically switches configs. I couldn't get through the day without this in my graphics studio. And yes, I have it set up to reverse the scrolling for Cubase.
QuadCore 2.66 Nehalem w/8gbRAM - OSX 10.6.8 /10.8.5- C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU 424e/2804MkIII - PODxt - 2-MIDI Express 128's --- DualCore 2.8 iMac w/4gbRAM OSX 10.6.8 - C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU/ULmk3 --- D8B/V5.1 - GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....
User avatar
Weasel
Member
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby mrjixies » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:22 am

Plugins still go into hide mode on second monitor......................... sigh.... when is this going to be fixed?????
mrjixies
Junior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:16 am
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: 7.0.5-Once again changed what worked fine

Postby dr4kan » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:28 am

bender-offender wrote:Hello,

This may seem like no big deal to some, but it completely messes up workflow, which to others, is a big deal:

I like to use the mouse-wheel for quick zooming in/out horizontally in the Arrange and Key Editor windows. On Mac, you hold command while scrolling up/down on the mouse wheel. Prior to 7.0.5, I'd scroll down to zoom out and, obviously, scroll up to zoom in. I got very used to this over the years, yet (I think) 7.0.5 changed this to the opposite of what it was, i.e. scroll up to zoom out, scroll down to zoom in.

Is there a setting I'm missing? Did I accidentally do this in Mac OS? I've looked around the best I could to make sure it wasn't the OS.

If this was changed in 7.0.5, why? Why do the developers at Steinberg keep changing things that worked fine?? I've posted a few topics about this sort of thing, and it's beginning to really stink. Please Steinberg, if nobody asked for something to change/be fixed, please don't change it!


Same thing here. Without holding CMD the wheel works fine, so overriding its behavior will fix the zoom issue but will break the scrolling which is (still) fine.
Cubase 7.5, Mac i7 16 GB ram (512 + 512 Samsung 840 pro), OSX 10.9.0
MR816X, Motu Ultralite, UAD 2, MCU Pro, CC121, Adam A7x, Axiom 49...
dr4kan
Member
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby DrMax » Sun Jun 30, 2013 1:38 pm

JMCecil wrote:Mixer Channels

C6.5 ... clean, clear, concise, functions directly accessible without too much clickity clickity
Image

C7 ... fuzzy, space hog, pre area is a mess to look at, insert could be one of 10 plugs, and clickity clickity clickity to do anything with those areas. However, I haven't tried to set up the new hotkeys. Hopefully that will help
Image

Basically, the new mixer is like the early 90s internet browsing. Stuff just doesn't fit right. The only difference is I'm supposed to edit/mix with that instead of just read.


(This comparison is not fair. You can scale down the vertical size in C7. Then a smaller font is used.)

Correction: The comparison IS fair. I thought these were mixer screenshots, but this is the project window.

Dr. Max.
Cubase 7.5 64 Bit, Windows 7 64 Bit, gedrucktes HANDBUCH
EMU 1820m PCI-Interface
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz, 16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 465
User avatar
DrMax
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 12:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby DrMax » Sun Jun 30, 2013 2:14 pm

Xtigma. wrote:I'm Genuinely relieved that this is just a bug! and not a design decision! :) phew


I just wonder how this "bug" passed the test phase.
I mean it's kinda obvious isn't it?

Dr. Max
Cubase 7.5 64 Bit, Windows 7 64 Bit, gedrucktes HANDBUCH
EMU 1820m PCI-Interface
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz, 16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 465
User avatar
DrMax
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 12:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby KevetS » Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:18 pm

I haven't been that long a user of Cubase, started on 5 and now on 6.5, but would just like to add my voice to those critical of the UI.
Seems to me that Steinberg have taken a seriously wrong turn with 7.
Aside from any bugs that 7 may suffer (by and large they get fixed eventually), the UI is just plain horrible. It looks cheap and not at all business-like and ergonomic.
Unfortunately, IME it is unlikely that Steinberg will change it as developers rarely admit that they got it wrong.

Absolutely sticking with 6.5 for the foreseeable!
Cubase 6.5.5

Win 7 64bit
Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz
8 GB RAM
KevetS
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby PMF » Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:58 pm

OK, the mixer stuff is the way it is. I can live with it.

My problem is more the hanging and crashing since I installed 7.05. Some songs just wont load anymore. Cubase just freezes while loading the songs. It doesnt matter if the song has an older or newer format (C6.x oder 7.x)

This has always happened sometimes but never as much as now (2 Songs out of 5 will crash when loading). When I say crash I mean Cubase just freezes and has to be ended from the task manager. I thought it might have to do with some faulty plugin but I havent found out which one yet (if its that). The crashes are random.

It all of this wasn't an issue (or at least not as bad) with 7.04.

any ideas?

Apart from this I'm still really quite happy with C7 and I definetly do not want to go back.
Multitrack/Mastering HW: ASUS P8Z77-V LX, i7 3770 3.4GHZ, 16GB RAM, Graphics: ATI Radeon HD7750, 2 HD Seagate ST2000DX001: SYS C: 2TB, Data E:2TB, 1 ST2000DM001: Backup/Image 2TB Seagate, Soundcard RME HDSP 9652, ADAT HD24, OS WIN-7 64bit, Cubase 7.5.30 64bit, Sequel3 and Samplitude PRO-X 64bit.
User avatar
PMF
Junior Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby aas » Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:44 pm

I'm afraid 6 months after v7.0.0 release and 5 updates the mix console isn't fully ready...

I'm still not convinced by C7 mix console apart the new channel selection panel. I can't believe Steinberg decided such a big change without users' advice or validation ?!!!
Cubase 7.5.0 (32-bit) | Cubase 6.5.5 (32-bit) | iMac 3.06Ghz 4Go 1To OSX 10.8.5
Motu 896HD | Focusrite LiquidChannel 4PRE | TC PowerCore 6000 | UAD-2 Satellite
Motu Midi Express 128
User avatar
aas
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Steve Helstrip » Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:27 pm

After 2 days in action, I've had 5 unexplained crashes. I never experienced anything like this with 7.0.4. We clearly have a long way to go... :-/
Mac Pro i7, 12Gb, OSX10.9 MacBook Pro i7, 4Gb, OSX10.9
Cubase 7.5.20
Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby beerbong » Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:39 pm

On a positive note, I just want to say that on Windows 7, asio spiking seems drastically improved from 7.04. I'm getting about 20% better performance..

Projects that would only run at 2048 are now running smoothly at 1024 or even 512.
BB
beerbong
Member
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby G-string » Sun Jun 30, 2013 7:32 pm

3 crashes with 3 new plugin's , very strange ,if I use a new plugin after it's been installed Cubase closes , after that crash they run fine , how bizarre !!!!!
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Tp3 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 7:35 pm

beerbong wrote:On a positive note, I just want to say that on Windows 7, asio spiking seems drastically improved from 7.04. I'm getting about 20% better performance..

Projects that would only run at 2048 are now running smoothly at 1024 or even 512.

What is your audio card ?
Tp3
Junior Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:02 pm

KevetS wrote:I haven't been that long a user of Cubase, started on 5 and now on 6.5, but would just like to add my voice to those critical of the UI.
Seems to me that Steinberg have taken a seriously wrong turn with 7.
Aside from any bugs that 7 may suffer (by and large they get fixed eventually), the UI is just plain horrible. It looks cheap and not at all business-like and ergonomic.
Unfortunately, IME it is unlikely that Steinberg will change it as developers rarely admit that they got it wrong.

Absolutely sticking with 6.5 for the foreseeable!


no shame in going back to the drawing board, nobody's perfect; i would consider it mature of sb if they redid the whole thing from scratch.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, ...

http://www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby davidwhearn » Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:27 pm

I don't often get involved in discussions on forums, but for what it's worth I'm also very concerned about the design direction Cubase is headed in with v7. The new GUI decisions have all been terrible. I'm not sure what happened - 6.5 is a masterpiece by comparison.

From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater". The resizing thing is an unnecessary burden; it's practically impossible to design something that looks good at all sizes. Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

We all occasionally venture down roads that lead nowhere, and there's really no shame in reversing and heading in a different, better direction. Personally, I really hope Steinberg consider it. Until then, I'll remain on 6.5.
davidwhearn
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:39 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Marcus Bits » Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:55 pm

davidwhearn wrote:I don't often get involved in discussions on forums, but for what it's worth I'm also very concerned about the design direction Cubase is headed in with v7. The new GUI decisions have all been terrible. I'm not sure what happened - 6.5 is a masterpiece by comparison.

From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater". The resizing thing is an unnecessary burden; it's practically impossible to design something that looks good at all sizes. Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

We all occasionally venture down roads that lead nowhere, and there's really no shame in reversing and heading in a different, better direction. Personally, I really hope Steinberg consider it. Until then, I'll remain on 6.5.


wow! Color me impressed, very well done! They should hire you. everybody, Look at his design. Best ive seen yet.
C6.5 C7 | Custom Mac / Windows 8 |
i5 @ 2,8 Ghz / 560 Ti / 8 Gb ram |
Marcus Bits
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:38 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby beerbong » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:07 pm

Marcus Bits wrote:
davidwhearn wrote:I don't often get involved in discussions on forums, but for what it's worth I'm also very concerned about the design direction Cubase is headed in with v7. The new GUI decisions have all been terrible. I'm not sure what happened - 6.5 is a masterpiece by comparison.

From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater". The resizing thing is an unnecessary burden; it's practically impossible to design something that looks good at all sizes. Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

We all occasionally venture down roads that lead nowhere, and there's really no shame in reversing and heading in a different, better direction. Personally, I really hope Steinberg consider it. Until then, I'll remain on 6.5.


wow! Color me impressed, very well done! They should hire you. everybody, Look at his design. Best ive seen yet.


very nice indeed. special mentions are :

track name
track number
font and text size
overall contrast is brighter
BB
beerbong
Member
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 14 times

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JACKnight and 5 guests