Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby JMCecil » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:15 pm

that is a great mock-up ... BUT, you still have the sizing problem. It won't necessarily scale. The issue here is trying to make a size agnostic mixer. That IMO is a mistake. You need a couple of really well done sizes. Not 1 size that is a compromise at every size.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3858
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 169 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby G-string » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:22 pm

davidwhearn wrote: Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

.


JMCecil wrote: You need a couple of really well done sizes. Not 1 size that is a compromise at every size.
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby aas » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:26 pm

davidwhearn wrote:I don't often get involved in discussions on forums, but for what it's worth I'm also very concerned about the design direction Cubase is headed in with v7. The new GUI decisions have all been terrible. I'm not sure what happened - 6.5 is a masterpiece by comparison.

From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater". The resizing thing is an unnecessary burden; it's practically impossible to design something that looks good at all sizes. Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

We all occasionally venture down roads that lead nowhere, and there's really no shame in reversing and heading in a different, better direction. Personally, I really hope Steinberg consider it. Until then, I'll remain on 6.5.


I like your mock-up !
Cubase 7.5.0 (32-bit) | Cubase 6.5.5 (32-bit) | iMac 3.06Ghz 4Go 1To OSX 10.8.5
Motu 896HD | Focusrite LiquidChannel 4PRE | TC PowerCore 6000 | UAD-2 Satellite
Motu Midi Express 128
User avatar
aas
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby maaaquemeseyo » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:31 pm

Steinberg NEEDs a good graphic designer, It's a shame that some audio engineers here can make best and useful designs than Steinberg's does. i have a new iMac, the top one, and the mixer zooms in and out like the 80's graphics, i really like the 80's sound, not the Sinclair Spectrum graphics...
New designer and a new graphics engineer please... My customers doesn't give me five (7.0.5) oportunities to do a job...
maaaquemeseyo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby JMCecil » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:35 pm

G-string wrote:
davidwhearn wrote: Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

.


JMCecil wrote: You need a couple of really well done sizes. Not 1 size that is a compromise at every size.

lol ... :lol:
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3858
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 169 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby jaslan » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:35 pm

I wish the mixer looked like this...

Mixer.gif
(192.86 KiB) Not downloaded yet

I have only been trying out C7 for a few days but, so far, as far as the mixer is concerned, the EQ curve "pop up" and overlay of the spectrum in real time is the only thing I really like.

I don't like the "4 square" of buttons with the fuzzy border around them when the pointer goes over them. I REALLY don't like that I have to be REALLY careful when using the mouse wheel in the mixer rack because I might change values in there. I don't care about the "strip" at all (I am not a pro and don't mind just adding these to my inserts). I REALLY don't like all the horizontal "progress bar" looking values for send levels and EQ parameters. I don't like the "hidden" until you hover over them buttons for inserts, sends, strip effects, etc.

I can work with all of it except that mouse wheel movement in the EQ/Send values area thing. It is really a problem because you may not even realize you have changed a bunch of values. At least a preference that says, "Never change values with mouse wheel/Mouse wheel only for scrolling/zooming, etc.".

Oh, and I do like the idea of the pictures (I know, its kind of cheesy and "garage band" but you don't have to put them in there...)

BTW, How do I get my picture to just show up in the post (i.e. not as a link but the actual picture?)
J.L.
Last edited by jaslan on Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Core-i7 2820QM, 16GB RAM. Cubase 6.5.5 x64 on Windows 7. Scarlett 2i2. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 8. HALion 5. Jamstix 3.5. HSO VST Sound Set. Absolute VST+. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud
User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby thinkingcap » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:43 pm

maaaquemeseyo wrote:Steinberg NEEDs a good graphic designer, It's a shame that some audio engineers here can make best and useful designs than Steinberg's does.

Oh, come on - I' m not a friend of C7 Mixconsole but this mock up IMHO is an overloaded mess - Fader caps in the meters..?
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby G-string » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:45 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
maaaquemeseyo wrote:Steinberg NEEDs a good graphic designer, It's a shame that some audio engineers here can make best and useful designs than Steinberg's does.

Oh, come on - I' m not a friend of C7 Mixconsole but this mock up IMHO is an overloaded mess - Fader caps in the meters..?


good point what would happen with a mono channel , where would the meter go then ?
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby thinkingcap » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:49 pm

jaslan wrote:BTW, How do I get my picture to just show up in the post (i.e. not as a link but the actual picture?)
J.L.

you meed to upload it to an image hoster, or your own webspace and link it.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby serenity » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:50 pm

G-string wrote:
davidwhearn wrote: Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

.


JMCecil wrote: You need a couple of really well done sizes. Not 1 size that is a compromise at every size.


Ok. Lets go that way and say Steinberg design beautiful full screen mixer (based on 6.5 with 7.0.5 features). And the sizes of MC for your choice are:

1. 1366x768
2. 1650x1080
3. 1920x1080
4. 2660x1440
5. ...

Just pick up one, that match your screen resolution (like you pick up wallpaper with Cubase logo in your screen resolution). And mixer is allways beautiful. No resizing issues, bugs. No wide channels, faders and meters. Just good looking MC.
Pawel

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit / Cubase 7 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
User avatar
serenity
Member
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby aas » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:07 pm

thinkingcap wrote:Fader caps in the meters..?

They might be hidden and only visible on mouse over...
Cubase 7.5.0 (32-bit) | Cubase 6.5.5 (32-bit) | iMac 3.06Ghz 4Go 1To OSX 10.8.5
Motu 896HD | Focusrite LiquidChannel 4PRE | TC PowerCore 6000 | UAD-2 Satellite
Motu Midi Express 128
User avatar
aas
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby G-string » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:08 pm

aas wrote:
thinkingcap wrote:Fader caps in the meters..?

They may be hidden and only visible on mouse over...


:lol: :lol: :lol: :roll:
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby aas » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:11 pm

;)
Cubase 7.5.0 (32-bit) | Cubase 6.5.5 (32-bit) | iMac 3.06Ghz 4Go 1To OSX 10.8.5
Motu 896HD | Focusrite LiquidChannel 4PRE | TC PowerCore 6000 | UAD-2 Satellite
Motu Midi Express 128
User avatar
aas
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:09 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby mozizo » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:32 am

good point what would happen with a mono channel , where would the meter go then ?


with mono channel the cap would split for two narrow faders and meter show up in the middle. :idea: ;)

but i do like the thin line between the tracks with fader area to have better separation of tracks.
also i like to move the track names above fader as option(had FR long time ago for this) this way i don't have to move my eyes all the way down to see track name when moving in rack area
cubase 7.5.30 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Trebor » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am

maaaquemeseyo wrote:Steinberg NEEDs a good graphic designer...


No, I believe that Steinberg needs a good user interface designer with the prime focus being on usability. The designer would have final say over what a graphic artist and a coder produce. I don't care if the GUI looks like a cartoon if it lets me easily express the sound I want to hear.

Don't get me started about the how Steinberg Marketing hasn't (publically, at least) required the developers to provide accessibility features. You can have good ears but still have eyes unable to resolve low-contrast small graphical features on a 27" monitor.

That said, Cubase is a good product (and getting better) in terms of functionality.
Trebor
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:13 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby More Cowbell » Mon Jul 01, 2013 1:30 am

That design suggestion is most beautiful thing I wer seen daw speaking!
More Cowbell
Member
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Plasuma » Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:02 am

aas wrote:
davidwhearn wrote:I don't often get involved in discussions on forums, but for what it's worth I'm also very concerned about the design direction Cubase is headed in with v7. The new GUI decisions have all been terrible. I'm not sure what happened - 6.5 is a masterpiece by comparison.

From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater". The resizing thing is an unnecessary burden; it's practically impossible to design something that looks good at all sizes. Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

We all occasionally venture down roads that lead nowhere, and there's really no shame in reversing and heading in a different, better direction. Personally, I really hope Steinberg consider it. Until then, I'll remain on 6.5.


I like your mock-up !

+1
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5
Plasuma
Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby distante » Mon Jul 01, 2013 4:44 am

davidwhearn wrote:I don't often get involved in discussions on forums, but for what it's worth I'm also very concerned about the design direction Cubase is headed in with v7. The new GUI decisions have all been terrible. I'm not sure what happened - 6.5 is a masterpiece by comparison.

From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater". The resizing thing is an unnecessary burden; it's practically impossible to design something that looks good at all sizes. Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

We all occasionally venture down roads that lead nowhere, and there's really no shame in reversing and heading in a different, better direction. Personally, I really hope Steinberg consider it. Until then, I'll remain on 6.5.

Please tell me that SB contacted you after you send this proposal?

The Meters/fader can be improved but the other stuff are almost perfect.

You should put this in feature request!
Hear and See "Corazón" a Rock Song made with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( PC 64bits system / Core i7 3773K )
Scarlett 2i2 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( Laptop 64bits system )
*Always the latest version avariable.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart
User avatar
distante
Member
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby jose7822 » Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:24 am

distante wrote:
davidwhearn wrote:I don't often get involved in discussions on forums, but for what it's worth I'm also very concerned about the design direction Cubase is headed in with v7. The new GUI decisions have all been terrible. I'm not sure what happened - 6.5 is a masterpiece by comparison.

From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater". The resizing thing is an unnecessary burden; it's practically impossible to design something that looks good at all sizes. Personally, I'd go back to a couple of fixed size options, and make sure they're always beautiful.

We all occasionally venture down roads that lead nowhere, and there's really no shame in reversing and heading in a different, better direction. Personally, I really hope Steinberg consider it. Until then, I'll remain on 6.5.

Please tell me that SB contacted you after you send this proposal?

The Meters/fader can be improved but the other stuff are almost perfect.

You should put this in feature request!


Definitely put it in the Feature Request forum. This needs immediate attention!

Funny how someone who probably doesn't do this for a living can come up with a WAY better solution than a "professional" working at Steinberg.
ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Intel Core i7 4770K (OC'ed to 4GHz) | 32GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (2400MHz) | ASUS ATI Radeon HD7790 | Corsair H100i Water Cooler | Corsair HX850 PSU | Windows 7 Pro (SP1) 64 bit | Cubase 7.5 64 bit | RME FireFace UCX | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad
User avatar
jose7822
Member
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby G-string » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:30 am

mozizo wrote:
good point what would happen with a mono channel , where would the meter go then ?


with mono channel the cap would split for two narrow faders and meter show up in the middle. :idea: ;)



and how would the meter show up in the center when you have the groove for the fader in the middle ?
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby musicbeat » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:52 am

jaslin
I REALLY don't like that I have to be REALLY careful when using the mouse wheel in the mixer rack because I might change values

It does and this is very very annoying.......! Why is this happening......? Please help me stop it.....!
i7 3.4 ghz 16go L2|W8.1 x64
RME BabyFace|AxiomPro49|Focal Pro - CMS 40
Cubase 7.5.20|Pro Tools 10|Spectrasonics Bundle|Komplete 9 Ultimate
User avatar
musicbeat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:11 am
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby 2BACH » Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:13 am

Justus Hall wrote:
gmmccurdy wrote:
Did you ever use the switch they provided in 7.04. Since the switch I haven't seen any spikes ... but I'm looking forward to 7.5 with the switch built in! :)


Thanks curteye!!
gmmcurdy i did try the switch but that made it worse for me.
Good the hear that the switch worked for you, hope it worked for the rest as well.

Justus


I'm experiencing a lot of spikes (we ARE talking about the VSTperformance meter, right?), so what is this switch I hear you speak of? I would like to press it.
Dell Optiplex 9010 sporting an Intel SSD, 8GB Ram and 3.20GHz Quad-Core i5-3470
Windows 8.1 pro
Cubase 7.0.7
M-Audio ProFire 610
Steinberg CC121
M-Audio AxiomPro 49
2BACH
Junior Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby Blinkymouse » Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:51 am

devastat wrote:I updated from 7.0.4 to 7.0.5 and now the gray background from the black text in the mixer is gone and it is very difficult to read the text - you can see here:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/917 ... eMixer.jpg

Any way to fix this?? :|

I have exactly the same problem - anybody else notice this in the rack, makes the rack really difficult use - is there a way to correct this in preferences?
Blinkymouse
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby Justus Hall » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:24 pm

2BACH wrote:
Justus Hall wrote:
gmmccurdy wrote:
Did you ever use the switch they provided in 7.04. Since the switch I haven't seen any spikes ... but I'm looking forward to 7.5 with the switch built in! :)


Thanks curteye!!
gmmcurdy i did try the switch but that made it worse for me.
Good the hear that the switch worked for you, hope it worked for the rest as well.

Justus


I'm experiencing a lot of spikes (we ARE talking about the VSTperformance meter, right?), so what is this switch I hear you speak of? I would like to press

2BACH, i think the switch came with the 7.0.4 update. It's a txt file that should be placed in the cubase folder.
The instructions are included with the 7.0.4 download, and it's mac only if i'm correct.

If you got anymore questions just ask!!

Justus
Macbook Pro Quad Core i7, 16gb, SSD, RME UFX, V-synth XT, Elektron Analog Keys, Neumann TLM 103, Neumann KH 120a, Maschine, Novation SL MKII
Justus Hall
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby !@# » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:43 pm

My fonts are normal and I don't see the black text on black background, either. :?

Untitled.jpg
(421.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet
!@#
Junior Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: profezeus and 13 guests