Midi with iMini and DM1

Midi with iMini and DM1

Postby nytjadens » Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:43 pm

Has anyone had any luck with this? I can't get either to respond to Cubasis.

Stephen
nytjadens
New Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi with iMini and DM1

Postby meta-redundant » Thu Jul 18, 2013 5:54 am

Was just dealing with this a second ago. For the iMini, it seems you can only choose "Virtual MIDI" as the output port -- if you choose the actual "iMini" entry in the MIDI outputs, no joy. "Virtual MIDI" causes it to sound properly.

Not sure about the DM1!
Cubase Pro 8 x64 | Intel Xeon E3-1275 3.50GHz (x4) w/ HT | Win7 Sp1 | RME Fireface UCX (via USB) | 32Gb Memory | UAD Quad | ATI Radeon HD 5800 | Intel RAID SSD array | iPad3 w/ Lemur MIDI control
User avatar
meta-redundant
Junior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Midi with iMini and DM1

Postby daftdog » Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:14 pm

Hi nytjadens,

I'd echo mate-redundant's comments but with respect to DM1. I had the same issue and the same solution - selecting 'virtual MIDI' seemed to get things working - both for MIDI in from DM1 to Cubasis and when sending MIDI out to DM1 from Cubasis.

Also, you need to make sure that MIDI notes to/from Cubasis are active within DM1's MIDI settings....

Hope this helps? Good luck...

John
John Walden
OSX 10.9; Late 2013 iMac; Cubase 7.5, Wavelab 8, NI Komplete, Focusrite 8i6
daftdog
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:49 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi with iMini and DM1

Postby meta-redundant » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:15 pm

Should mention that the main limitation I've discovered with using the "virtual MIDI" option is that it seems to broadcast to all open instruments. Ideally we could target each instrument specifically, allowing us to sequence more than one external instrument at a time...not sure if it's iMini / DM1 that's the culprit here or what...!
Cubase Pro 8 x64 | Intel Xeon E3-1275 3.50GHz (x4) w/ HT | Win7 Sp1 | RME Fireface UCX (via USB) | 32Gb Memory | UAD Quad | ATI Radeon HD 5800 | Intel RAID SSD array | iPad3 w/ Lemur MIDI control
User avatar
meta-redundant
Junior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Midi with iMini and DM1

Postby nytjadens » Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:46 pm

Got it, thanks!

Stephen
nytjadens
New Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubasis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests