steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 can be posted here.

steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby mozizo » Fri May 31, 2013 12:38 am

this dark gray fonts on dark gray background surface (buttons etc..) just makes hard time on my eyes and hard to see from first sight what is written.
like on buttons of mixconsole,(mute solo ....) control room buttons , midi controller lanes name on midi editors and other areas across C7 ...
please change font color or the button color or both so the contrast be better(or give us options for changing colors brightness of fonts and buttons).
its almost half year, of eye straining. don't u think this gray on gray is disturbing ?
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby DaDa » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:15 pm

Yep, especially working in dim lights ( with displays dimmed accordingly ) is nearly impossible.

Not good (enough).

Jan
Last edited by DaDa on Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby galvinstephen » Sat Jun 01, 2013 5:43 pm

+1 :(
The look of the mixer is dark with a lot of wasted blank space. There does not appear to be anyway to change this. The colours in Cubase 1 - 6 were much better.
Image
Stephen Galvin
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 7.0.4, Sequel 3.0.1,

Desktop: Intel Duo 1866 MHz, 4GB RAM Intel SSD 120GB. Windows 7 Ultimate

Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.

Focusrite Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
www.abcstudios.co.nz
galvinstephen
Member
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby musicbyshowalter » Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:28 pm

This is my number one gripe with Cubase 7! PLEASE give us font options, I cannot read any of the labeled items on the main page, I have to mouse-over and hover to see the description to be sure I am clicking the right thing most of the time. Is there no alternate skin or anything to get around this horrid gray on gray text?
musicbyshowalter
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:11 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Rhino » Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:14 am

Perfectly agreed.
This is the only area where colours really matter to me - readability.
All else - I don't care, make it slime green if you want, as long as readability is as perfect as humanly possible.

Even feel free to lay off one of the trend scouts and hire an ergonomics specialist instead. :shock:

If there is a single gold standard for monitor setup in small to mid-sized rooms, it has to be 2 screens @ 1920x1200 atm, 24" to 27", flanked by nearfields, which automatically results in an average viewing distance of 1.10m, 1.20m or something, trigonometrics 101. Do the math.
Everything that cannot be comfortably seen under these conditions needs to be reevaluated and improved, great design always enhances functionality instead of competing.

And colours / contrast should be first, as they certainly are a dead easy, unproblematic fix compared to fonts or element sizes, which might be tricky in some cases I guess.

ymmv,
Rhino
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Mahlon » Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:16 pm

I wholeheartedly agree. I have a terrible time distinguishing the markings in the mixer.

M.
Mahlon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 9:36 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Headlands » Mon Jan 27, 2014 9:14 pm

Agreed. It's amateur looking next to very clear and well-thought out colors/designs in DAWs like Pro Tools.
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby iBM » Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:30 pm

The whole new mixer and control room is a mess IMO.
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby harcourt » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:53 pm

Rhino wrote:Perfectly agreed.
This is the only area where colours really matter to me - readability.
All else - I don't care, make it slime green if you want, as long as readability is as perfect as humanly possible.

Even feel free to lay off one of the trend scouts and hire an ergonomics specialist instead. :shock:

If there is a single gold standard for monitor setup in small to mid-sized rooms, it has to be 2 screens @ 1920x1200 atm, 24" to 27", flanked by nearfields, which automatically results in an average viewing distance of 1.10m, 1.20m or something, trigonometrics 101. Do the math.
Everything that cannot be comfortably seen under these conditions needs to be reevaluated and improved, great design always enhances functionality instead of competing.

And colours / contrast should be first, as they certainly are a dead easy, unproblematic fix compared to fonts or element sizes, which might be tricky in some cases I guess.

ymmv,
Rhino

Very succinctly put. And the trend is with screen sizes and resolutions to only go up. I say bring on 4K monitors! Its only a matter of time, and SB will have to reassess its whole GUI. I hope we eventually get a scalable interface.
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit, Dell M6600 laptop - i7 2920xm, 2.50 Ghz, 16GB RAM, Win7 64bit, Echo AudioFire Pre8. Panorama P6, MIDI controller keyboard.
harcourt
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:02 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby CubeDAW » Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:47 pm

The light gray font over white in the expression lane is annoying. Should be black black.
User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby mpayne0 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:46 pm

The sad part about this is that we are asking for stuff for the NEW mixer.

I was going to say, well lets wait for the new mixer, but this IS it.
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby BriHar » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:05 pm

It's a modern theme - fifty shades of grey! :lol:
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1839
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby iBM » Wed Jan 29, 2014 9:12 pm

BriHar wrote:It's a modern theme - fifty shades of grey! :lol:

Yes, and we are getting spanked/whipped by Steinberg :shock: I want more :shock: :shock: :mrgreen:
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:55 pm

+1
i also have problems to read the fonts.
And the signs on the buttons... i dont want to "search" the pencil tool.

studio one is a perfect example how a gui should be done.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Jellyfish » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:40 am

while we're at it, am I the only one annoyed by the white on grey toolbar buttons? I know this has been discussed a lot, but after quite some time, I still catch myself wondering if a white buton is ON or OFF - could we not have colored-when-active buttons back?
Jellyfish
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby iBM » Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:55 pm

Jellyfish wrote:while we're at it, am I the only one annoyed by the white on grey toolbar buttons? I know this has been discussed a lot, but after quite some time, I still catch myself wondering if a white buton is ON or OFF - could we not have colored-when-active buttons back?

They have colors everywhere else, so it's doable :?
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby suntower » Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:54 am

As I wrote somewhere else... "What part of WHITE don't you guys get?" :D

The other thing is that there is this semi-transparent overlay in lots of areas. Eg. when you colourise a track 'green', the various buttons on the track take on a green tinge. Which drives me PAZZO. My guess is that every place where there is this gray fog, it's because there is a gray semi-transparent overlay.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:28 pm

i totally agree with the feeling of gray fog everywere.
in the Mixer: L and E do almost look the same.
and the inspector is almost unreadable if you look at a distance.
My producer friends & clients do feel the same.

Everything looks as if it was meant to be printed on a laser printer.
it does look to "sweet" for the screen.

please, higher contrast everywere!
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Weasel » Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:33 am

The thing that kills me is the fact that they put a gradient background into the Free Warp editor. This means that the light grey sub-grid (whose color cannot be adjusted) actually disappears in the upper 25% of the editor. Whomever is in charge of GUI details seriously needs to get a grip. This is an editor, where detail, precision and accuracy are expected to be key design elements.

To quote Suntower: "What part of WHITE don't you guys get?"

Image

This is a screenshot from C7.0.7. I expect that this disappointing touch will be restored in the new C7.5 update.
QuadCore 2.66 Nehalem w/8gbRAM - OSX 10.6.8 /10.8.5- C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU 424e/2804MkIII - PODxt - 2-MIDI Express 128's --- DualCore 2.8 iMac w/4gbRAM OSX 10.6.8 - C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU/ULmk3 --- D8B/V5.1 - GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....
User avatar
Weasel
Member
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby andyath » Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:36 pm

+1
Pc with cubase on it few mics and a bit more stuff


User avatar
andyath
Member
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:41 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby DaDa » Mon Feb 10, 2014 3:52 pm

Jellyfish wrote:while we're at it, am I the only one annoyed by the white on grey toolbar buttons? I know this has been discussed a lot, but after quite some time, I still catch myself wondering if a white buton is ON or OFF - could we not have colored-when-active buttons back?

+ 1 million !
Also Qn/Off, EDIT buttons on the new Instrument pannel !
I never know what's the current state !
:|


Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby DaDa » Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:01 pm

suntower wrote:Eg. when you colourise a track 'green', the various buttons on the track take on a green tinge. Which drives me PAZZO.

Hey Sun, there's a setting (somewhere), letting you adjust the track coloring intensity.
It goes down to zero.

At first, I liked the colored overlay ... lately I reduced it to 'nearly invisible' ...

Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby suntower » Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:07 pm

Thanks. I very much -want- track colourisation. Just not of the icons/buttons. When the track colour is red or orange it's impossible for me to tell if a track is muted or record enabled.

DaDa wrote:
suntower wrote:Eg. when you colourise a track 'green', the various buttons on the track take on a green tinge. Which drives me PAZZO.

Hey Sun, there's a setting (somewhere), letting you adjust the track coloring intensity.
It goes down to zero.

At first, I liked the colored overlay ... lately I reduced it to 'nearly invisible' ...

Jan
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby DaDa » Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:46 am

suntower wrote:Thanks. I very much -want- track colourisation. Just not of the icons/buttons.

Yep, makes perfect sense !
Seems to be difficult, to get the button graphics above the overlay ...

Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: steiny please change gray fonts on gray surfaces !

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:09 pm

i want to add another "grey in grey" design "problem":

Muted midi tracks - colors not visible.
works okay on muted audio tracks, but could be a bit better.

- perhaps it would be a solution to "add" the color on the region name?
in both audio and midi regions?

heres a picture, to show this grey in grey problem.
you can see that the muted audio region has a pink color.
the muted midi regions are green and orange.
it is almost impossible to see a difference.

image.jpg
(1.41 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Cut-a-Corner on Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Next

Return to Feature Requests and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: claesbjo and 0 guests