Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Postby 3sl » Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:34 am

Does anybody know how to have multiple midi tracks all sending to a single instrument?
3sl
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Postby Frieder » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:22 am

Hello,

i am not sure that I understand your question correctly. What instrument do you mean? One of the Cubasis instruments (Micro Sonic or Micrologue), an Audiobus instrument, or an external MIDI instrument?

Kind regards,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Postby 3sl » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:20 am

A cubasis instrument. I'd like to be able to have a single 'instance' of any instrument and have multiple midi tracks for that instrument. So I can have one track for hats, another for kick etc. I know I can do that now but it means setting up a new instance of the drum kit with effects etc etc...not to mention the drain on the ipads limited resources!
3sl
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Postby David L » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:43 am

Did you look at setting MIDI out on the midi output tracks to Network session and port 1 or something, then set the midi-in for the instrument track to the same network session and same port?

EDIT: And when i say "port" above i do mean channel, bit damaged from my current project @ work
Last edited by David L on Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
David L
New Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Postby 3sl » Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:26 am

Thanks David this would work if I didn't also have other instruments using the network session.
3sl
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Postby David L » Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:31 am

well if you don't have more than 16 you can assign each one a separate channel no?
David L
New Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help: multiple midi tracks sending to one instrument

Postby 3sl » Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:49 am

very true...I'll test this out. Of course, it would be nice to have this within cubase [feature request] ;)

Cheers
3sl
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubasis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests