Chord track voicing

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Chord track voicing

Postby hpd » Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:03 pm

Can anyone help with question regarding chord track. If I play a chord on the midi control to input into the chord track I don't (at times) get the exact chord voicing that I have played in the chord track.I know I can edit it after the fact but am I doing something wrong or is this normal? I also know you can change voicing via a drop down list but I have also noticed I can do this for every chord in the chord track.All I want to be able to do is input the exact notes I play on my midi controller into the chord track.
hpd
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:44 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Chord track voicing

Postby Rotund » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:36 pm

Do you have automatic voicing activated?
It resides in the inspector section of the chord track.
Not sure if this will do it but it is the only thing that comes to mind right now.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Chord track voicing

Postby SteveInChicago » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:44 pm

hpd wrote: If I play a chord on the midi control to input into the chord track I don't (at times) get the exact chord voicing that I have played in the chord track.I know I can edit it after the fact but am I doing something wrong or is this normal?
Normal.
hpd wrote:All I want to be able to do is input the exact notes I play on my midi controller into the chord track.

In that case, record the chords into a midi part and then use the menu command: Project>Chords Track>Make Chords. (Set the locators to contain the section to be transcribed.)

Also, have you checked out the chord tools in the Key Editor?
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4856
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 115 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Chord track voicing

Postby hpd » Sun Sep 29, 2013 12:47 pm

Thanks guys i try those options and see how it goes.This might be something that could be looked at by Steinberg for a future update to make it easier to input the exact voicing played straight into tge chord track.
hpd
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:44 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Chord track voicing

Postby SteveInChicago » Sun Sep 29, 2013 12:51 pm

hpd wrote:Thanks guys i try those options and see how it goes.This might be something that could be looked at by Steinberg for a future update to make it easier to input the exact voicing played straight into tge chord track.


That's a good idea imo.
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4856
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 115 times
Been thanked: 307 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: airflamesred, rloseven and 6 guests