[ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Everything else...

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:37 pm

Checking in with the latest update... Any changes?
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:10 pm

I installed update 7.0.6 ...no change to fader group buttons.

Parlanchin
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby theRoyal1 » Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:10 pm

So damn annoying... I have a Novation 25SL MKII and Can't control the group faders either...

One of the main reasons I purchased this controller and Steinaha nerfs the Groups...wtf!?? :cry:


:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Mixing4Jesus » Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:44 am

So I finally was frightened in to upgrading to 7 due to the upcoming price increase. Generally I love it! (although I was pretty content with 6.5). I also have an old MCU Pro, and have been wondering if it was possible to assigne the Fader Banks Buttons to the 8 Channel and rack configurations available on the Key Preferences menu. But I have no idea what midi signals the MCU uses for those buttons, and no idea of how to translate that to key preferences. Would it be possible to create a midi device in Cubase that did just that? Unfortunately, this thread has not been real encouraging in this respect, but I thought I would ask! It would be really cool if those big old 8 buttons in the middle of my controller actually did something besides collecting dust!
v/r

Trent Perkins

WholeHearted Productions

https://soundcloud.com/trentperkins

Cubase 7.06; Izotope Ozone 5 Advanced, Alloy, and RX2; Waves Gold; NI Studio Drummer, Scarbee Bass, and Komplete Elements; Slate Digital FG Compressors and FG-X; Studio One Pro 2.6 (used for mastering)

HP 6 Core Intel with 16 GB RAM and dual 24" screens; RME Fireface UFX; Presonus 16.4.2; JBL MSC-1; KRK Rokit8; MCU Pro 3.0; Yamaha S90XS
Mixing4Jesus
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:37 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:56 pm

Chap in another thread sums things up well (cut and paste form other thread)...

Re: Mackie Control Fader Groups
Postby fishtank » 15 Oct 2013 23:05

I spent nearly $5k on a new SSL Nucleus controller (which I love, BTW) and much of the functionality I had with C6.x and Nuendo 5.5 is screwed with C7/N6. In addition to badly needing the fader group functions to work again, they need to work AT ALL TIMES! Currently, the mixer view keycommands DO NOT work if the mixer is not in focus. One of the biggest reasons I bought an expensive controller is to have access to the mixer when I have the project window up, but I have to keep pulling up the mixer to change what faders are showing. This just plain sucks...

We are nearing one year since the release of C7 and I still do not have the functions I had in C6. This is simply unacceptable.
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby fishtank » Thu Oct 24, 2013 3:02 pm

BUMP!

I need this functionality to use C7/N6 full time.

Again, we are approaching one year since the release of C7, I do not feel it is unreasonable to insist that this function is restored in the next update.
fishtank
Junior Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby msterna » Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:39 pm

Hello,

Temporary solution for Fader Groups 1-8

1. Menu > Devices > Devices Setup
2. Add Device > Generic Remote
3. Import from attachment file
4. Apply > OK
5. MIDI IN, OUT as for the Mackie Control

Ready!!!

P.S. I use Logic Control
Attachments
Fader Groups 1-8 Mackie Control.zip
(564 Bytes) Downloaded 282 times
Last edited by msterna on Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
msterna
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: Szczecin, Polska
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby HughH » Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:44 am

msterna wrote:I'm using google translator so you may not be in English :)

Temporary solution Fader Groups 1-8

1. Menu > Devices > Devices Setup
2. Add Device > Generic Remote
3. Import from attachment file
4. Apply > OK
5. MIDI IN, OUT as the Mackie Control

Ready!!!

P.S. I use Logic Control


Holy Crap!

You made it work!

Somebody send that man a beer . . no, a case of beer! Or wine . . whatever.

I was wondering why someone didn't come up with some kind of method that would take the MCU signals and translate then to something Cubase could understand - I don't know enough about XML to do such a thing.

THANK YOU!

(and the translation was fine - I would translate my "thank you" if I knew your native language)

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby msterna » Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:54 am

Everything I did in Cubase. The XML file created by the export. I'm glad that it works for you too. Maybe we will see fixes in Version 7.0.7
User avatar
msterna
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: Szczecin, Polska
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Home Studio 87 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:44 pm

But it only work if you select (or clic) the mix console ! Like all shortcuts....
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 / Intel Corei7 2600k / 16384 Mo DDR3 / Seven x64 / UAD2 Quad & 2x UAD2 Duo / TC Powercore PCI / RME HDSP Multiface PCI / CMC Controllers / Faderport / iPad 3 / Cubase 7.5 x64...
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:23 pm

msterna wrote:I'm using google translator so you may not be in English :)

Temporary solution Fader Groups 1-8

1. Menu > Devices > Devices Setup
2. Add Device > Generic Remote
3. Import from attachment file
4. Apply > OK
5. MIDI IN, OUT as the Mackie Control

Ready!!!

P.S. I use Logic Control



Great contribution! Perhaps most importantly you've given us an example/tutorial in using the generic remote to achieve this (something I gave up trying with before) .
Many Thanks to Msterna :D
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:27 pm

Home Studio 87 wrote:But it only work if you select (or clic) the mix console ! Like all shortcuts....


Yes, it now remains for this to be fixed... any ideas anyone?

Anyhow, we can now work/mix from the Mackie (so long as we select and leave the new mix console in focus).

Thanks again to msterna for your excellent contribution!
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby msterna » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:29 pm

Home Studio 87 wrote:But it only work if you select (or clic) the mix console ! Like all shortcuts....


I don't exactly understand what you mean.
User avatar
msterna
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: Szczecin, Polska
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:33 pm

msterna wrote:
Home Studio 87 wrote:But it only work if you select (or clic) the mix console ! Like all shortcuts....


I don't exactly understand what you mean.


The mix console must be "selected" for the Mackie signals to be effective.

If you are working in another window, the project window for instance, the Mackie buttons have no effect.

Try it by clicking once on a track, then try the Mackie. Then click once on the mix console window and try again.
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby fishtank » Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:11 pm

Thanks for the workaround! It definitely helps with part of my problem.

It does NOT, however, solve the issues of the keycommands/functions not working if the mixer is not in view/focus as mentioned in earlier posts. This is STILL keeping me from using C7 full time and must be resolved soon - it is a loss of functionality that we had in C6/N5.
fishtank
Junior Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:21 pm

Well,this has been a thread for months now, with more than 2500 views and 60 odd posts.
Significantly, there has been no contribution from Steinberg on this thread. Do they read this?
Do I need to phone them?
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby msterna » Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:30 pm

Call....
User avatar
msterna
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: Szczecin, Polska
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Mon Nov 11, 2013 4:47 am

I would say co.tact them directly too. Steinberg has contributed, just not in this thread.


P.M. I received January 11th wrote:Hi Tom,

Thanks for the reply.
Yes, AFAIK, the team in charge is aware of this and has been working hard on that. Let's cross our fingers for the upcoming maintenance updates (maybe not directly the next one, but should be tackled by the one after next I hope) ;)

Thanks for your patience and understanding.


I'm not a programmer so I don't know what it would take to bring the feature back. Afaik, the fact that it was never a part of cubase 7's initial release may make this a feature request, so maybe that's why it is being ignored? Heck, I'm still waiting to move frozen parts.
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby HughH » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Woodcrest Studio wrote:I would say co.tact them directly too. Steinberg has contributed, just not in this thread.


P.M. I received January 11th wrote:Hi Tom,

Thanks for the reply.
Yes, AFAIK, the team in charge is aware of this and has been working hard on that. Let's cross our fingers for the upcoming maintenance updates (maybe not directly the next one, but should be tackled by the one after next I hope) ;)

Thanks for your patience and understanding.



So was that PM referring to the MCU Fader Bank Buttons or the Key Command/Focus issue?

For myself, msterna's generic remote thing fixes the MCU Fader Bank thing . . unless I'm missing something.

My BIG issue now is the Focus thing.
Not the titled subject of this thread, I know . .

But I cannot see ANY way this is a "Feature".
It might be a feature (one I would not want) if it allowed the same key command to be used for different things in different windows depending on focus . . . but that is not the case.
My guess is that Steinberg completely rewrote the code involving the Mixer (obviously and probably a good thing), but in the process broke the links for certain global user input.

It's a BIG PITA constantly and I hope we don't have to wait for a Project Window rewrite to see it working.

Has Steinberg made any comments on this issue?

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Mon Nov 11, 2013 4:07 pm

Hugh,

The P.M. was solely for the mcu bank buttons. At that time, I don't think mixer focus issues were even on the radar yet as the p.m. was just after the release.

I was 1/2 joking about mixer focus being a feature request.... Because of past experience. I believe too that the rewrite of the mixer turned it into a component, breaking the global k.c. link. But I really have no idea. I'm just a sound guy.
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:56 pm

I agree with HughH.

This title thread doesn't match the problem anymore. It is now solely a "mixer in focus" issue.

Anyone know the threads where this is being discussed sensibly?


I agree that the rewrite of the mixer software has likely left out the permanent "hardwired" button functionality.
Without knowing anything about the language, compilers and class libraries involved one can only guess how this happened to be lost. I'm guessing they've used precompiled GUI classes with no original source code(from a third party; Microsoft? Borland?) which don't easily allow an immediate fix.
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:07 pm

Sensibly?

What do you mean?
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1592
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby trashdinner » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:12 pm

msterna wrote:Hello,

Temporary solution for Fader Groups 1-8

1. Menu > Devices > Devices Setup
2. Add Device > Generic Remote
3. Import from attachment file
4. Apply > OK
5. MIDI IN, OUT as for the Mackie Control

Ready!!!

P.S. I use Logic Control


Wow thank you so much!!!! Hopefully Steiny will fix the issue and we won't have focus problems anymore :D
trashdinner
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:43 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby trashdinner » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:28 pm

Oh and btw, is there any way to save the channel presets in a global workspace? It doesn't work here so it means I have to do it manually in ever projects :S
trashdinner
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:43 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:33 pm

Woodcrest Studio wrote:Sensibly?

What do you mean?

Polite, intelligent and not rude to the Steinberg team.
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests