Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.

Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby wodehouse » Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:46 pm

Am I missing something obvious? I can't automatically open Wavelab 8.03 when Cubase 7 has exported an audio mix. There was an option to choose to open WL once the export had completed. It doesn't appear available now.

What am I overlooking?
wodehouse
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:04 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby S-EH » Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:58 pm

Hi,

Check path for WL8 inside Cubase 7
or maybe to obvious !?

regards S-EH
RME Fireface 800, WaveLab, Cubase...
S-EH
Member
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby wodehouse » Sun Nov 03, 2013 9:11 pm

C7W8.jpg
(182.29 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Hello - this is all I see. I looked through Preferences but couldn't see a way of manually selecting the path.

Is it working OK on your system?
wodehouse
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:04 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby MrSoundman » Sun Nov 03, 2013 9:45 pm

OS? If e.g. Windows 7 x64, then in "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Steinberg\Audio Export Post Process Scripts" you should see a file called "OpenInWaveLab8x64.aepp" which I assume gets installed alongside WaveLab 8. If this is present, Cubase will detect it as a post-export option.
Cubase 7.5.30 x64 | WaveLab 8.5.10 x64 | HALion 5.0.1 x64 | HSO 1.5 x64 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | Windows 7 x64
User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby wodehouse » Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:08 pm

Hi - yes, Windows 7 - 64 bit. I had a look for the script file but there is no reference to it on my system.

I should say, the process has always worked without problem until I made the update to 8.03 a few days ago.

How odd. Is there anywhere I can get that file / script?
wodehouse
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:04 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby Arjan P » Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:15 pm

wodehouse wrote:I should say, the process has always worked without problem until I made the update to 8.03 a few days ago.

That's really weird, because IIRC this is a Cubase feature and not a Wavelab feature..
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 8.5.10 | Cubase 6.5.5 / 7.5.30 | HALion Sonic 1.6.3 | Win7 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 ----- SoundByte Studio
User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby MrSoundman » Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:26 pm

Arjan P wrote:
wodehouse wrote:I should say, the process has always worked without problem until I made the update to 8.03 a few days ago.
That's really weird, because IIRC this is a Cubase feature and not a Wavelab feature..
It seems to be a feature across Steinberg products ... Cubase looks in that common location on startup and if it finds it, it is then available as an option.
Cubase 7.5.30 x64 | WaveLab 8.5.10 x64 | HALion 5.0.1 x64 | HSO 1.5 x64 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | Windows 7 x64
User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby wodehouse » Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:35 pm

Hi Folks - I've cured it.

This is what I did - in case anyone else has the same problem.

It was a simple of matter of installing the 32bit version of Wavelab alongside the 64bit version.

I now see the 'Open in Wavelab' option once more.

I'm not sure if uninstalling the 32bit version will remove the link again - I'll give it a try tomorrow.

Cheers
wodehouse
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:04 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7 Wavelab 8 Link Broken ?

Postby MrSoundman » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:45 pm

wodehouse wrote:I'm not sure if uninstalling the 32bit version will remove the link again
I had both 32- and 64-bit versions of WaveLab 7 installed at one time, and I seem to remember PG suggesting to just delete the 32-bit version rather than uninstalling it. In the end, I left both in place, and when WL8 was released I uninstalled both versions of WL7 and did a clean install of only the 64-bit version of WL8.

If removing the 32-bit version of WL8 removes the link again, I'd suggest just re-installing only the 64-bit WL8.
Cubase 7.5.30 x64 | WaveLab 8.5.10 x64 | HALion 5.0.1 x64 | HSO 1.5 x64 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | Windows 7 x64
User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 43 times


Return to WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest