A plugin manager is really needed

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 can be posted here.

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Fri May 31, 2013 9:35 am

Actually I think that a good solution would be:

* Steinberg gives us favorites / LRU plugins with 7.0.5 - so we at least have SOME improvement which goes a long way

Maybe add "sticky" or "pinning" functionality to plugins so they will always appear on top of the list, with no folders around. The clicky clicky really makes me angry.

* With 7.5 we should get the full solution with custom folders, custom long and short names, setups per channel type, etc...

However, I suspect that even the favorites / LRU - solution would solve about 90%. At least for me, it would really be very, very helpful, because my list would not be long.
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:41 pm

I think it would also help to have plugin configurations per template.
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:54 am

Are there any news on this from Steinberg? :-)
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby BriHar » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:52 am

Image
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:10 pm

Bumping 4tw. :-P
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby raino » Sun Jun 09, 2013 12:48 am

UltimateOutsider wrote:
GargoyleStudio wrote:I'd also like to add a request - Steinberg, when/if a plugin manager arrives, can we place plugins in multiple places please?

For example, say I have a reverb+delay plugin then I'd like it to appear in both my Reverb and my Delay folders. And also in my 'Recent' and 'InThisProject' folders too?

This is an argument for a user-editable tagging/filtering system. You don't want to have duplicate physical copies of plugins on your hard drive (I'd prefer a method where I didn't have to manually move/copy any files ever), but you could have virtual folders in your DAW that reflected user-defined and vendor-defined rules. Like smartlists for plugins.


Yes, that's the way to do it and it seems like they are not really too far from having this capability. Media Bay kinda sorta already knows about plug-ins in a useless manner (i.e. you can select "plug-in name" as a filter). If they fully integrated plugs into Media Bay, it seems that clicking on a plug-in slot could bring up a browser window that is similar to what you get on an instrument track when you click the program field in the inspector.
rodger
Cubase7.5 Win7 Home premium 64bit, i5 3.2GHz, Intel DH55HC, 12Gb RAM, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2
User avatar
raino
Member
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:50 am

Please not the media bay again.

This thing is so extremely inflexible and horrible to use...

I mean, the stupidity of being able to put insert plugin presets there but not have categories like "reverb" or "reverb -> room", etc...

And if it's the same product manager who invented the VST3 category system extending the media bay then I can already see the next total fail by strictly associating categories and sub categories with certain plugins so SSL Channel presets will be in the "other" category (I would need and want at least 4 categories here!) and Reaktor insert presents go into "VST plugins 64 bit".

Don't laugh, this is exactly the ridiculous categorization we have to bother with at the moment in the insert plugin window.
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby raino » Sun Jun 09, 2013 10:01 pm

TheNavigator wrote:Please not the media bay again.

This thing is so extremely inflexible and horrible to use...

I mean, the stupidity of being able to put insert plugin presets there but not have categories like "reverb" or "reverb -> room", etc...


Why don't you just create a text attribute and populate it with whatever tags make sense to you. Call it "Use For" and then as you save reverb presets tag them with things like "room", "vocal", etc. Then you can use the existing (but not editable) "plug-in category" attribute to select reverbs and further narrow your results using the tags you've added. I recently created a yes/no attribute for VSTi patches that work well for midi guitar. And it works great when I'm browsing sounds.

Media Bay hardly seems inflexible since you can customize it by adding whatever attributes you like. Although it certainly can be clumsy and non-intuitive. But I only use it to set stuff up that I can later use in the preset browser windows. I never use it for day-to-day stuff, just occasionally configuring things to make browsing easier.
rodger
Cubase7.5 Win7 Home premium 64bit, i5 3.2GHz, Intel DH55HC, 12Gb RAM, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2
User avatar
raino
Member
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby Plasuma » Mon Jun 10, 2013 10:15 am

I'm somewhat satisfied with 'sort by vendor' and then searchable track presets. I only have to remember to enter keywords when I make a new track preset, and I'm familiar enough with my plug-ins that I don't have to scratch my head about who made what.

Sort by vendor.png
(93.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet


I have more than 100 plug-ins, some repeats for 64/32-bit, but that list is pretty small and manageable when organized like this, although that's probably just because I have a few favorite manufacturers and only use their stuff.

EDIT: glancing at the list, I just remembered I forgot to install my fabfilter plugs on this backup. Thank goodness the plug-ins are organized by vendor or future me would have to hope and pray that some ancient activation emails stuck around with their contents intact.
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5
Plasuma
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:19 am

I wonder if the guys at Steinberg are working on this. :-)
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby Winter Rat » Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:45 pm

TheNavigator wrote:I wonder if the guys at Steinberg are working on this. :-)


Watch the video about the new Wavelab and you get an idea.
Winter Rat
Member
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby suntower » Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:48 am

As another former software guy, yeah, it's not rocket science. You should be able to have your own ordering, your own naming, etc. Not sure why they continually leave things like this untended and -constantly- go off on new tangents.

BTW: VST3 was a good idea. The spec has some very cool enhancements (sidechains, presets, etc. NoteExpression) As much as I grouse @ Steinberg, it's well to remember they INVENTED so many standards: VST, ASIO, etc. Unfortunately, the entire DAW industry has ossified. We're stuck with VST2 and a MIDI spec that hasn't changed for THIRTY YEARS. That's not Steinberg's fault.

+1
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 42 times

User-definable VST plugin folder please

Postby Patanjali » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:50 am

I keep my VST2 VST(I)s on the project drive, as I backup that to my NAS box automatically into a mirrored file structure, making it easy to get back particular files.

However, VST3s are locked into a particular folder. While I could use a hard link to a folder on the project drive to fool the programs, I would prefer that it was overtly configurable.
Patanjali

Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.

Comp: i7-4930X : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : ATI2460 : SSDx5 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & 3008x2.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+microKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.10 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath : SO Plat Pro : Pianos : Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:29 am

So are there any news on this topic? I'd like to read something from a Steinberg representative on the forums about this topic. :-)
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby MrMeshuggah » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:00 pm

The only thing I've seen regarding this topic recently is a post on the Gearslutz forum:

Hello all,

VST 3 cannot be arranged, that has to be programmed by the developer of the VST 3 plug-in.
Some developers do give you the option to categorise or they arrange their VST3 either by category or by manufacturer.
But it depends on the VST, you cannot move them manually.

Best regards,
GN

__________________
Guillermo Navarrete, Product Specialist
Steinberg
Hamburg, Germany
MrMeshuggah
Junior Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby patcub » Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:37 am

the plugin menu is a mess!
patcub
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 21 times

SILLY: Plugin menu spans monitors

Postby Patanjali » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:33 am

patcub wrote:the plugin menu is a mess!

Hopefully being rather more useful than the above comment, the menu has a severe drawback in that it does not confine itself to the monitor that the plugin's slot is on.

Now it is sort of workable if the monitors are adjacent to each other, but I have a pair of mirrored monitors that while they appear to the OS as adjacent (so that I can drag windows onto them), one is on another desk and the other is in the studio.

This means that if while tracking I decided to select a plugin on the studio touchscreen, part of the menu can be inaccessible! Simply 'brilliant' NOT!
Last edited by Patanjali on Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Patanjali

Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.

Comp: i7-4930X : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : ATI2460 : SSDx5 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & 3008x2.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+microKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.10 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath : SO Plat Pro : Pianos : Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Quick-pick favourites menu section needed

Postby Patanjali » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:38 am

From some of the comments about really only using a few plugins, I think a quick-pick favourites section on the menu would be good. That section should be that part of the menu closest to the plugin slot itself.
Patanjali

Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.

Comp: i7-4930X : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : ATI2460 : SSDx5 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & 3008x2.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+microKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.10 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath : SO Plat Pro : Pianos : Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby Crotchety » Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:17 pm

Wow, that's one bad-tempered thread in places, which is a pity because there are some good ideas there. Trouble is, I'm not sure anyone from Steinberg will continue reading long enough to see them. I nearly didn't, and they weren't even aimed at me. Hope y'all get my drift: anger, sarcasm, and accusations won't get you very far, boys. Politeness is much more persuasive.

(And I'm the one called Crotchety :? ) Now, back OT...

My big wish in addition to all the many good ideas here is that the plugin manager be made standalone, which would allow for the introduction of plugin configurations, stored as presets.

Even now, I still need to access old projects, which typically need a completely different set of (VST2) plugins than those I use in my current ones, which I try to keep to VST3. Seeing as VST2 plugins can really slow up project load times, wouldn't it be good if we could go into a standalone plugin manager and disable those we don't need (this is where the configuration presets come in) before starting the daw.

Seeing as sod's law states that the minute you do this you will need one you didn't think of, I suppose there would need to be a way of adding plugins when running.

Slightly half-baked but hopefully on the way to a very useful additional feature.

Cheers, and let's all be 8-) out there ;)
C
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds:
Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...
Crotchety
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Quick-pick favourites menu section needed

Postby TheNavigator » Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:26 pm

Patanjali wrote:From some of the comments about really only using a few plugins, I think a quick-pick favourites section on the menu would be good. That section should be that part of the menu closest to the plugin slot itself.


I just went through a few of my projects, and I made a quick list... the plugins here cover about 80 - 85% of my needs (for regular channels... mastering and special needs are a different topic):

VSTi:

* Halion
* Diva
* BFD 3
* Geist
* Padshop Pro
* Kontakt
* Arturia Mini V (for quickly making amazing synth basses with about 10 - 15 braincells involved... it's THAT simple with this one!)

And I'd like to use Largo more, but I have two issues with this one which always make me think twice...

VST:

* SSL Native Channel
* Line 6 Pod Farm
* Waves H-Delay
* 2caudio Aether
* Lexicon Native Random Hall
* Lexicon Native Vintage Plate

Oh yes, give me favorites / LRU, PLEASE...
Last edited by TheNavigator on Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby Ats » Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:56 pm

+1

a must for the next CB upgrade!!!!
_________________________________________________________________________________
Cubase 7.0.6, Win 7 Professional, Version 6.1.7601 SP 1, Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz, RAM 8.00 GB
Ats
New Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby TheNavigator » Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:18 pm

It is time for a biiiiig bump! :-)

@Steinberg

Please help us with that. I think that this thread shows clearly what the problem is.
Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 7, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, lots of other nice stuff

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

My homestudio
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby JT3Jon » Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:17 pm

+1
Cubase 7.5 OS10.8.4 MacPro 8-core 2.93Ghz, 24GB RAM, UA Apollo
JT3Jon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby Weasel » Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:14 pm

Long overdue.
+1
QuadCore 2.66 Nehalem w/8gbRAM - OSX 10.6.8 /10.8.5- C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU 424e/2804MkIII - PODxt - 2-MIDI Express 128's --- DualCore 2.8 iMac w/4gbRAM OSX 10.6.8 - C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU/ULmk3 --- D8B/V5.1 - GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....
User avatar
Weasel
Member
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: A plugin manager is really needed

Postby tepa » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:06 pm

Good suggestion.
+1
Mac 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon / Ram 8G / OSX 10.8 / RME FF800 / PowerCore / UAD 2
tepa
New Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Feature Requests and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests