will c5 open a c7 project?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby Yo Stro » Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:57 pm

I needed to send a project to someone who is using c5. Will it open or will I need to send the project a different way. Maybe omf or something? I really would rather not send it that way because it will probably not have my mixer settings. Is there a way to save it as a previous version similar to the way protools let's you save?
OS 10.8.5 Cubase 7.5.2,
Macbook pro 15-inch early 2013, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB ,Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB,500 GB SSD
RME fireface 400/UA Apollo twin duo
User avatar
Yo Stro
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby curteye » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:11 pm

Aloha Y,

Read your post and gave it a try.
My C7 project opened just fine in C5.

Of course C5 will not play the Halion 2 plug I used in C7
so looks like you will have to re-map with HalionOne sounds
etc but eq's seem to translate kinda ok. No biggie probs.

Bottom line is: it works! To a point.

Good Luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4680
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby Yo Stro » Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:02 pm

Thanks Curteye for the info. I did send the project and the guy says he cant open it. I suspect he cant open it due to memory problems. The whole 32/ 64 bit thing. C5 will only allow you to use but so much ram. I'll have to figure out another way or encourage him to upgrade.
OS 10.8.5 Cubase 7.5.2,
Macbook pro 15-inch early 2013, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB ,Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB,500 GB SSD
RME fireface 400/UA Apollo twin duo
User avatar
Yo Stro
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby Luis Dongo » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:02 am

Hi Yo Stro,

here you can find the official info: https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... files.html

If it worked for Curteye, I can't tell why, but officially it shouldn't.

Regards
Luis Dongo, Technical Support
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Luis Dongo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 55 times

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby Yo Stro » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:43 pm

Thanks Luis. I think I'll try removing plugins and see if that helps.
OS 10.8.5 Cubase 7.5.2,
Macbook pro 15-inch early 2013, 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB ,Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB,500 GB SSD
RME fireface 400/UA Apollo twin duo
User avatar
Yo Stro
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby curteye » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:58 pm

Luis Dongo wrote:If it worked for Curteye, I can't tell why, but officially it shouldn't.s


Aloha L
Read your post and went back and tried it again. It worked again.

Working in C7, I have been doing some preliminary work on a Steve Wonder piece called:
'Golden Lady'. It opens in C5 just fine.

I will try and PM it to you.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4680
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby curteye » Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:03 pm

Aloha L,

Tried to PM you but when I tried to add the attachment I got this:

The extension cpr is not allowed.

How can I get this to you? (if you even want it).

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4680
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby SteveInChicago » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:29 pm

you have to zip it.
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4464
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 240 times

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby willynanita » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:49 pm

I am able to open a C7.0.6 project in C5.5.3.
If I have plug ins from C7, then it will not load that plugin, but the project opens fine.
My Songs

Wilfredo Nanita
Windows 8.1 Pro 64bits • Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz • Ram: 8GB
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 Audio Interface • M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
M-Audio DMP3 Dual Mic Preamp • Yamaha HS 50M Monitor Speakers
Toontrack Superior Drummer • Cubase 7.5 - 64bits
User avatar
willynanita
Junior Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:49 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby curteye » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:12 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:you have to zip it.


Mahalo Steve,

but after 'willynanita' (using a PC and here on Mac ) post I guess the point is now moot.

(with some limitations), C7 files will indeed open in C5.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4680
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: will c5 open a c7 project?

Postby Luis Dongo » Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:19 am

curteye wrote:Aloha L,

Tried to PM you but when I tried to add the attachment I got this:

The extension cpr is not allowed.

How can I get this to you? (if you even want it).

{'-'}

Hi curteye,

no need to send me the file. If it works for you, that's great... but officially we didn't test opening C7 projects in C5, so we don't know which problems such an action would cause. For that we "officialy" don't support that.

If it works and it doesn't cause issues, that's good to know. In case it doesn't work though, then there's not much Steinberg can do to help, which is why we have that KB Article with the "official" information.

All the best
Luis Dongo, Technical Support
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Luis Dongo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 55 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DaveAbbott, kelp and 10 guests