Proper Post EQ

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Headlands » Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:57 pm

I agree with all the comments on this thread. I rarely ever use Steinberg EQ or the non-slope-adjustable filters in the mixer for the reasons outlined here. In fact, my template comes up with FabFilter Pro Q already in the audio channels, since it's a far more flexible tool. I look forward to Nuendo incorporating these features as Timo said they are looking into.
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby likelystory » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:25 am

Yes please. By all means break backwards compatibility if it means an improved channel strip EQ. 6.x broke so much other functionality that what's an EQ in the scheme of things.
likelystory
Member
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby TimoWildenhain » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:50 am

Hello,

thank you very much for this valuable and objective discussion. This is exactly the type of conversation that
makes it possible for us to "follow". There is hardly a "wrong" or "right" in this discussion. As Chewy said, it very
much depends on the material you get and also the way you work.

Fredo is right when he says that this is a major task and other features need to be taken off the roadmap to
get this one done. Therefore it's of major importance to know HOW important this feature is for your daily workflow.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Product Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!
TimoWildenhain
Moderator
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby fenderchris » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:40 am

It is not vitally important to me, but I think it should be very important to Steinberg. If you really want to get more Post facilities using Nuendo you need to provide features that make it irresistible to them. Nuendo is not cheap, but it is aimed at Post, so it should contain the features that such facilities commonly need.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Windows-7 64-bit, Nuendo-5.5.6 64-bit, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for Android
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.
User avatar
fenderchris
Member
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Big K » Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:14 pm

Not interested, not needed, here.
Give us surround encoding back, instead...
Else .. see my words on page uno.

R.
Presonus Studio ONE, Harrison Mixbus!, Nuendo 5.5.6 (6.5), WL6 (7), RME, UAD, PoCo, Win7 64, i7 3930K, 16 GB RAM, Intensity, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, Brainworx, Genelec 5.1, sevaW lla, LAWO, Sony DASH 3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware & excellent acoustic studio design in new rooms.
User avatar
Big K
Member
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Dog and Pony » Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:58 pm

Fredo is right when he says that this is a major task and other features need to be taken off the roadmap to
get this one done. Therefore it's of major importance to know HOW important this feature is for your daily workflow.


I suppose that would depend on the roadmap, any chance of letting us know what's on it? I love the idea of this EQ but there are other things I'd love to see first like the ability to leave Process plugins open until I'm ready to close them. John.
4 rooms with N5/N6, Nuage, Tango II, Euphonix MC Pro, Euphonix Artist, MacOSX 10.7.5 and many more toys.
Dog and Pony
Member
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby C.LYDE101 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:15 pm

:roll: does PT not handle the channel EQ as a plugin? So by definition any 7 band eq would suffice? Of course parameters must be linked to hardware... not instantaneous solution, but doable ...
User avatar
C.LYDE101
Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Domilik » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:15 pm

This is one of the little things which I would like to see in Nuendo (as a post-daw) compared to cubase (not saying, that cubase should'nt get one).

I've been on many (movie) dubbing sessions on PT, and I never saw anybody inserting just a 4band-eq, or working with a hard-fixed slope. They use the 7band of PT, or the 10band from waves, or or or...
So if Steinberg wants to give us a (like the title of this thread) proper post eq, they should upgrade their channel eq in order to have this one shown on the mixer.

If Steinberg just would generate an extra vst plugin - then I don't need one.

I'm working on Steinberg since 1996, and never used their channel eq due to the lack in filtering problematic location sound. I always had better third-party ones.
And next to Volume, Pan and Send, EQ is one of the four main features/operations in every single mix! So if Nuendo wants to present a mixing station which should compete with all the major consoles, imo, there's no way around it. And still: the basic idea of the channel eq is great...

In film-mixing a proper and suitable eq-filter for me is much more important than most of the other features mentioned here (and much more important than having a channel strip tube-saturation or sth like that).
Nuendo 6 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 2600k, Asus P8P67Pro | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Reveal 6 | Marian Marc A | Mackie Control Universal | DDX 3216 | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 10 | SSL Pro-Convert | AATranslator
User avatar
Domilik
Member
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Headlands » Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:17 am

To me, what is of vital importance is that we have proper HPF and LPF filters integrated with the channel EQ, with adjustable slopes. I do think that more bands could be useful to some even though it may not be to others, but incorporating the filters into the channel EQ (and making the filters actually useful and flexible) is of universal importance, from what I'm seeing.
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Jim Clark » Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:54 pm

Headlands wrote:To me, what is of vital importance is that we have proper HPF and LPF filters integrated with the channel EQ, with adjustable slopes. I do think that more bands could be useful to some even though it may not be to others, but incorporating the filters into the channel EQ (and making the filters actually useful and flexible) is of universal importance, from what I'm seeing.


Agreed. The addition of HP and LP filters to channel EQ might actually get me to use them on a regular basis, which I can't say that I do now...
I have become accustomed to using 3rd party EQ plug-ins as a matter of course.
I also agree it would probably help Steinberg's reputation as a post-production DAW to have a more full-featured EQ as part of the default feature set.
Jim Clark
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:40 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Domilik » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:38 pm

Will the Hi/Low-Cut be optimized for a professional operation in 6.5? Or are we still forced to use it with 24db/oct?

And will it be visible in mixer-EQ-curve?

Something like the EQ-section in Avid Channel strip (also 4 bands + 2 Cuts), where the cut-filters are sort of layed on top of the EQ-graph?
Nuendo 6 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 2600k, Asus P8P67Pro | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Reveal 6 | Marian Marc A | Mackie Control Universal | DDX 3216 | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 10 | SSL Pro-Convert | AATranslator
User avatar
Domilik
Member
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Fredo » Mon Jun 09, 2014 4:42 pm

Not for 6.5 ...

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby drorh4 » Tue Jun 17, 2014 8:32 am

Domilik wrote:Will the Hi/Low-Cut be optimized for a professional operation in 6.5? Or are we still forced to use it with 24db/oct?

And will it be visible in mixer-EQ-curve?


I think this is the crucial topic here. I can live without the 'more' bands ONLY IF the filters are integrated.
In Post workflow the first thing I move is the filter knob. When I saw the new Nuendo has an integral Filters on the mixer it felt to be "this will make my life much easier!".
I tried to used it few times, I tried to automate it and quick control it - It was a drag!
You can't see it, it has this fix curve u don't even know and it is not an easy task to automate it.
One of the most important features on the mixer is totally useless.
drorh4
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby jvamos » Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:25 pm

I have gotten by using the post filter to manage roll offs. It's not fancy but it works. I do often go to other EQs to get the job done. In my opine the Nuendo EQ's don't get nearly as narrow as post production requires.I think the best solution is an EQ that is stock that can notch at any frequency flexibly. Sometimes recordings are really dirty. A fan can kill the mood in a scene but none the less they are audible on set from time to time.

I like the strip EQ that we have. It keeps my automation safely baked into the channel. Also my hardware works well with it. I'd say make the Q go to 111 and I'd be happy. It would put N7 in a weird non-compatible place though. But then again the licensing permits you to run older versions so there is no harm there.
jvamos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Proper Post EQ

Postby Rickard » Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:21 pm

Agreed. This really should have been/should be a priority.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests