[Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Series!

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers

What features do you like and want? You can Vote on all if you want...

1. Make so the PD (Pad controller) LED-light are activated
12
13%
2. Activate so "Shift" -hold can be used as a new available feature.
16
18%
3. AI - Better integration so you can brows more freely with other views.
13
14%
4. Better and smart global integration on own set F1, F2, F3, F4-keys "key commands.
10
11%
5. Dedicate a button on QC (Quick Controller) that automatic control all Send levels (1-8) in the Mixer View.
9
10%
6. QC- Quick control settings of 3part VST plugins, are saved global and recognized automatic.
12
13%
7. QC- (Quick Controller), be able to select the "EQ-Type" on all bands remotely with help of the QC.
9
10%
8. QC ... quick control banks
10
11%
 
Total votes : 91

[Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Series!

Postby Freddie H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:18 pm

Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Series!


I know many of you have already talk about this and its a wanted features. I just thought it could be good idea to make a new thread with all collected new nice feature suggestions. ;)


1. Make so the PD (Pad controller) LED-light are activated like the rest controllers. Many of us have dim light conditions in the studio. I use mostly mien with key commands shortcuts on the pads. Its hard to see what pads to press in the dark.


2. Activate so "Shift" -hold can be used as a new available feature.
Especially useful on FD (Fader Controller), CH (Channel Controller) , QC (Quick Controller) controlling fine faders moves or pan without need to press and hold down manually the "SHIFT" button with another finger. Instead "SHIFT" are automatic hold until you press the "shift" button again to turn it off.


3. AI - Better integration so you can brows more freely with other views example " MEDIA BAY" with help of AI (AI Controller).
In fact all other Synths like Omnisphere, Kontakt, Massive and all other browsers views would be more then helpful.


4. Better and smart global integration on own set F1, F2, F3, F4-keys "key commands.
Especially in use of two or more screens. After setting up different "key commands" on F1, F2, F3, F4 doesn't always react until you have the right view activated. You need often activated it with help of the mouse, example Mixer-View.

If I example setup a F1 button on any controller to use the "key command" -->> "Show Channel Stip"-view in the mixer page nothing happen until I active the Mixer-view on the second monitor with help of the mouse.
It would be better if it react even though my mouse are working on another page example the "Arrangement window", on the first monitor screen. "Global -Smart". I shouldn't need to active the mixer page with the mouse to be able to use and react on the key command.


5. Dedicate a button on QC (Quick Controller) that automatic control all Send levels (1-8) in the Mixer View. Today you need manually learn all sends as Quick controls instead. It would be nice if that were taken care of automatic. To select the "Send" levels, you should only need to example press the "MIDI" Button on QC.


6. QC- (Quick Controller), Quick control settings of 3part VST plugins, are saved in a global memory and are recalled and recognized automatic.
You can save QC-settings global of any VST3 or VST2.4, 3part plugins. Then Cubase and QC automatic recognized that settings next time the plugins are in use. Example if plugin "x" are in focused, these are all the my QC-nobs.


7. QC- (Quick Controller), be able to select the "EQ-Type" on all bands remotely with help of the QC.
Today you need to use the mouse to change type.

8. QC ... quick control banks


You can vote on all 8 if you like.
Fell free to add more features that you think is missing. :)



Best Regards
Freddie
Last edited by Freddie H on Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:04 pm, edited 5 times in total.
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Series!

Postby JMCecil » Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:48 pm

+1 MUST FIX THE FOCUS ISSUE
+1 Shift Lock ... come on, we've asked for this from the very first day
+1 Fix/update AI functionality. As has already been established, I can't think of a use for the AI

In addition to yours

QC ... quick control banks
QC --- plugin memory .. if plugin x is focused .. these are the QC
QC --- Need to be able to select EQ Type from QC
PD --- Allow for Function mode on every preset (toggle all presets between note and Function mode)
PD --- Action mode for pads ... tie to hotkeys on VSTi for reverse, slow, stutter etc...
CH --- improved interpretation and management of read/write mode (currently doesn't synch properly with global settings)
CH --- Need to be able to rotate through, open/close plugins on the channel (then of course, have the saved QC set for that plugin available on the QC)
FD -- QC mode
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3842
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Series!

Postby Freddie H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:37 pm

JMCecil wrote:+1 MUST FIX THE FOCUS ISSUE
+1 Shift Lock ... come on, we've asked for this from the very first day
+1 Fix/update AI functionality. As has already been established, I can't think of a use for the AI

In addition to yours

QC ... quick control banks
QC --- plugin memory .. if plugin x is focused .. these are the QC
QC --- Need to be able to select EQ Type from QC
PD --- Allow for Function mode on every preset (toggle all presets between note and Function mode)
PD --- Action mode for pads ... tie to hotkeys on VSTi for reverse, slow, stutter etc...
CH --- improved interpretation and management of read/write mode (currently doesn't synch properly with global settings)
CH --- Need to be able to rotate through, open/close plugins on the channel (then of course, have the saved QC set for that plugin available on the QC)
FD -- QC mode



+1

Thanks, I like all your suggestions too. :)

Especially:
* QC --- plugin memory .. if plugin x is focused .. these are the QC
* QC --- Need to be able to select EQ Type from QC
* FD -- QC mode




Best Regards
Freddie
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Series!

Postby JMCecil » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:50 pm

Maybe a more detailed explanation of each thing is in order

Quick Control Banks: is the ability to page through multiple Quick Control sets per track. HS2 has this (sort of) for the zones. But, 8 is just not even close to enough just for stand alone tracks, let alone when you add plugins to the track. There are enough buttons + shift options available already to do this.

Plugin Memory: This is simply the ability to have a QC bank per plugin that automatically gets enabled when the plugin has focus. This would be similar to Automap functionality (although limited to the goofy 8 restriction, that paging would resolve) and make the QC a truly useful device.

EQ Type Select: In EQ mode, it is boggling to me that you can't select the type. Now, we also need a way to get at the HP/LP section.

Function Mode: For those that don't have a PD... Preset 16 lets each pad be a Function Key to execute any key Cubase command. I currently have that preset configured to be a really fast Quantize pallet. But, we can already rotate between PAD and Velocity mode. I propose a FUNCTION mode where each preset can be either Velocity, Note, Action or Function. (I'll get to actions in a sec). The important thing is I could quickly go between a Quantize pallet and say a Warp Pallet, or a Transpose Pallet .. etc.

Action Mode for PD: So many drum machines have controls to stutter, reverse, scramble, slow, bit crush the sample being played. It would be cool to set aside some of the notes as mapable/learnable to VSTi controls.

Rotate through Plugins: Come on, this is seriously lacking in Cubase. We need to be able to easily access the plugins on a track. The CH could easily alt mode the previous/next track to scroll through the insert list. Then one of the F buttons could open/close the selected plugin. Obviously if you make the QC tweak above to allow plugin sensitive QCs, this becomes super powerful.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3842
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Series!

Postby JMCecil » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:56 pm

Oh and while we are puffing pipe dreams ...

Integration with the stand alone version of other Borg apps like H5, Padshop Pro and HS2.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3842
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Freddie H » Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:52 pm

bump
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Potential - o- meter » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:09 pm

Love the units. Very happy camper. Best studio aid I've bought for ages ! Only had them a couple of days and they're a God-send.
However, I'd still like to see;

1. Some way of choosing whether the mixer onscreen follows the left/right channel scrolling of the FD unit. Otherwise I see the bank of selected channels scroll their way off my screen and have no way of knowing what I'm controlling unless I move the mixer window.

2. Shift lock - obvious Yes

3. Cubase projects to save the current position of my Quick Controller and recall this as the starting position when loading on tracks that have no automation recorded

4. An option to have the QC lock its controls to a particular set of variables regardless of the channel selected,
ie when option selected, moving channels no longer changes the QC assignment. Instead it remains as per a user-defined set... effectively giving the user 8 AI-type knobs.
(I'm new to these, so may have missed an obvious workaround to achieve this, but happy to hear if so.)
(Top Tip?: I have tried adding another blank audio channel and using this to set eight parameters eg fader levels on 8 other channels... quite nice, but obviously it stops working when I select another channel.)

And for future (if I buy more FDs)
5. Each bank of four highlighted on-screen in different colours corresponding to the colours of some 'stick-on' strip supplied with the units so I can quickly work out which of the 16 channels is which :-)

6. A job suggesting things for CMC controllers where I get paid a grand a go :D
There is nothing better than relaxing after doing nothing.
Laziness is relaxing before doing nothing.
---
Win 7, six cores at 3.9GHz, 32GB, SSD rig, Cubase 7.5 (nearly there :-)
CMCs: AI, QC, FD, TP, PD, CH
Potential - o- meter
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Lundin » Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:23 pm

Using the quick control knobs for inserting Insert FX's on channels.. It's just plain stupid to integrate this feature in Nuage but not in Cubase.. The QC knobs looks just like it does in Nuage.. the 8 QC knobs would also be perfect for so many other things than just quick controls.

Smarter indicators at the Fader modules so you know which track is selected.. looking at the monitors and start touching each fader to see what's happening is just not working.. it ruins the workflow and often a balanced mix completely

There has to be more mileage out of these units than to drop development already.
Lundin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby cubace » Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:27 am

A lot smarter handling of select would be nice. Now I have three ch-select they do the same thing. Dito for shift. For the QC the ch-select could be used as qc-bank. And the shift qc-select could be sed as set first bank or last bank. But the products are for yamaha. It is a japanese company. When the product it launched the feature are fixed and will never change. Quite different approach than typical American. They launch when they have something that works and fixes the products with software for a long time. It is really sad that steinberg has that closed mindset about remote controllers. Cubase would be a very much better product if the community had a chance to improve it. But Steinberg is owned by a japan company that makes hardware...
cubace
Junior Member
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Potential - o- meter » Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:31 pm

Couple more for you;

1. When I use the browse button on my PD to browse for patches in HS2 (Halion Sonic 2), please can I see the same browser and number of instrument choices that I would have if I selected this feature via mouse (ie ALL the patches available including sounds from my other VSTi collection instruments). It's a great feature of HS2, but not accessible via the PD.

2. Please could the "Edit Instrument" button on the CH unit function from any channel with an instrument attached, ie whether I am currently on the midi channel or the instrument channel. Basically, if the channel has an instrument attached to it (and thus a clickable 'edit instrument' button on screen) please could the related CH button do the same. Currently it only works on certain channel types... which is odd ?

3. That latching 'shift' button request again, certainly for the FD unit. It's a nightmare holding it and selecting Solo / Mute with one hand.

JUST TO UPDATE: looks like these requests were actioned in Cubase 7 already. Just updated and these are done :-)
HAPPY CAMPER !
There is nothing better than relaxing after doing nothing.
Laziness is relaxing before doing nothing.
---
Win 7, six cores at 3.9GHz, 32GB, SSD rig, Cubase 7.5 (nearly there :-)
CMCs: AI, QC, FD, TP, PD, CH
Potential - o- meter
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby theRoyal1 » Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:10 am

Potential - o- meter wrote:2. Please could the "Edit Instrument" button on the CH unit function from any channel with an instrument attached, ie whether I am currently on the midi channel or the instrument channel. Basically, if the channel has an instrument attached to it (and thus a clickable 'edit instrument' button on screen) please could the related CH button do the same. Currently it only works on certain channel types... which is odd ?

This is so annoying!! :cry:

It seems that if I have an Instrument attached to a MIDI channel, when I press the "e" on my CH It opens the MIDI instead of the Instrument.
They should add an option so that it always opens the Instrument the midi is controlling...arrrgh

:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby TKW » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:56 pm

+1 shift lock
TKW
Junior Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:07 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Lundin » Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:44 am

Just felt the urge to hit the *bumper*
Lundin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Pondstreetstudios » Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:33 am

Wireless version of CMCs anybody?

Pondstreetstudios
Studio A | Cubase 7.0.7 64bit | W7 64bit | RME UFX | Midex8
Studio B | Cubase 7.0.7 64bit | W7 64bit | Scarlett 18i20 | UM-3G Midi
User avatar
Pondstreetstudios
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:03 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Home Studio 87 » Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:05 pm

LCD screen for CMC FD please...
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 / Intel Corei7 2600k / 16384 Mo DDR3 / Seven x64 / UAD2 Quad & 2x UAD2 Duo / TC Powercore PCI / RME HDSP Multiface PCI / CMC Controllers / Faderport / iPad 3 / Cubase 7.5 x64...
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby mustech221 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:36 pm

Can anyone shed any light on the fact these controllers have been discontinued?
mustech221
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Freddie H » Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:13 pm

mustech221 wrote:Can anyone shed any light on the fact these controllers have been discontinued?



As far as I know Steinberg are not phasing out these CMC controllers. Its actually the opposite! :)
In due to its popularity, some of the controls example the TP-controller has run out of stock temporarily in Europe.
The new shipment are due to arrive on 31.03.2014.




http://www.thomann.de/gb/steinberg_cmctp.htm


Best Regards
Freddie
Last edited by Freddie H on Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Freddie H » Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:18 pm

THANK YOU all for you interest in CMC controllers.
Especially "thank you" to you all that has added your inputs and feature ideas. All request and inputs are more then welcome!! :)




Best Regards
Freddie
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby BriHar » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:05 pm

Channel selection via CMC-FD fader.
Having previously used a mackie emulation controller when moving multiple faders the selection focus in cubase would hop all over between the tracks in question. This used to drive me nuts, and I was so glad when the CMC FD didn't affect the focus. Having said that, there is a downside, The ability to select a track via the hardware is otherwise sorely missed.

Using the incremental channel selectors (e.g. on the CMC-CH) is usually a pain if the tracks are not consecutive, and in the end one is obliged to resort to the mouse.

It would be nice to have this facility integrated into the CMC-FDs. I could see perhaps a double tap (without shift) (anywhere) on the strip being a good solution.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.30 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Freddie H » Sun May 04, 2014 9:59 am

Can we please at least have one more update before they shut down CMC-Series completely.
Lights on PD would be nice, thank you!


Best Regards
Freddie
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Airyck » Fri May 30, 2014 7:34 pm

Yeah it really sucks they discontinued these so quickly, they are really great controllers, the more you get used to them the better they become. Now it feels like I'm learning something that will end much sooner than it should have.... oh well guess I wont be upgrading Cubase anymore, I'll just use my current version as long as I can (or at least the last supported version).

One final good deed would be for them to make them Class Compliant so we don't have to worry about drivers down the road.
Airyck
Junior Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Airyck » Fri May 30, 2014 7:37 pm

Freddie H wrote:Can we please at least have one more update before they shut down CMC-Series completely.
Lights on PD would be nice, thank you!


Best Regards
Freddie


I'd also like to see the dim glow on the PD unit +1
Airyck
Junior Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby Teocida » Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:20 pm

Want to add one more. In order to get rid of the computer keyboard completely, it would be a great idea that each button shift in each controller could be applied a function like Option, Mays, Control and Command for tasks with the mouse for copying fluently in arrange window, or writing in drum or key editor, and things like these.
Teocida
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [Features] Important new feature suggestions on CMC-Seri

Postby TullAudio » Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:32 pm

Hi,
Any chance the CMC-TP could have a windows driver to allow the media player etc to be controlled?

Just joined, so if this has been asked for b4, my apologies.

Thanks

Mike :D
TullAudio
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Steinberg CMC Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests