How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:44 pm

I searched but couldn´t find a solution to this. In previous versions you could click on one button on the top of the mixer to bring up a vst instrument, i can´t find this function with the new mixer. Help please :)
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:08 pm

doesn't the manual tell you ?
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:14 pm

No
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby curteye » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:18 pm

knutvega wrote:I searched but couldn´t find a solution to this. In previous versions you could click on one button on the top of the mixer to bring up a vst instrument, i can´t find this function with the new mixer. Help please :)



Aloha k,

On the strip/rail there is a lil 'e' button.
(directly under the 'solo' button)

1-Clik and hold on it.
or
2-Option clik (on Mac here) on it.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:20 pm

AHA!!! Thanks a lot :D that´s a nice feature!
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:32 pm

so it doesn't tell you on page 187 then ?
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:38 pm

G-string wrote:so it doesn't tell you on page 187 then ?


No not in my operation manual.....on page 187 it says about stereo pan law and using solo and mute. But instead of being a smartarse why didn´t you try to help out right away?
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:39 pm

you can't beat a good manual to read before bed time ;-)
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:41 pm

knutvega wrote:
G-string wrote:so it doesn't tell you on page 187 then ?


No not in my operation manual.....on page 187 it says about stereo pan law and using solo and mute. But instead of being a smartarse why didn´t you try to help out right away?


page 187 section 8 which spills over to page 188 smarty pants it's there in the elements manual in plan English
Last edited by G-string on Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:41 pm

And i started off by saying that i had searched but not found a solution to this, and still with your not-so-brilliant advice about looking up page 187 can i find it there
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:43 pm

I have the pdf manual, nothing there on page 187 which spills over to page 188 about this
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby curteye » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:52 pm

Just to chime in (again)

I see nothing about:
How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

on either page 187 or page 188 in the 'Operation Manual'.

Just read twice thru those pages and nada.

And why are we going thru this?

K now has the needed info requested.
'Whoomp dare it is'.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:03 am

Yeah not really sure why i bothered replying, you provided the answer straight up Curteye, thanks again!
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:07 am

253 section 8 in c7 , 187 -188 in elements and the basic fact is the information is in the manual even thou you said it wasn't and seeing that you never mentioned what version you were using are we meant to play a guessing game , try making a signature ;-)
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby curteye » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:14 am

I now perceive.

a C7 manual/C7 Elements manual difference.

On with the show this is it!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:17 am

my bad ;-)
Attachments
cubase 1.jpg
(95.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:19 am

My god what a hideous creature you are! Take it easy :) In my pdf Operation Manual there is no such thing on pages 187-188....

I said i couldn´t find the info in the manual, i don´t doubt that it´s there, but after searching i couldn´t find it. Still can´t......That´s why i started a topic here....hoping to get some helpful answers from nice people, not some mister-know-it-all-comments by someone who obviously has a need to prove themselves by trying to knock others down.
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:21 am

page 253 if you look , it's there in plain English ,unless your version of pdf is special ;-) v
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby curteye » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:28 am

G-string wrote:page 253 if you look , it's there in plain English ,unless your version of pdf is special ;-) v


I took your word for it when you first posted:
so it doesn't tell you on page 187 then ?


{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:31 am

Yeah, what i meant was that i still couldn´t find it on pages 187-188 where you told me to look. You get annoyed by people asking questions without reading every word of a new operation manual, i get annoyed by people giving me the wrong info about where to look for the answers, and at the same time being patronising...
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:38 am

knutvega wrote:Yeah, what i meant was that i still couldn´t find it on pages 187-188 where you told me to look. You get annoyed by people asking questions without reading every word of a new operation manual, i get annoyed by people giving me the wrong info about where to look for the answers, and at the same time being patronising...


and don't you think it would be helpful for you to give some sort of idea on what version your running ? If someone points you to the manual and points you where to look for it next time don't you think this is being helpful ?????
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:53 am

Would would you refer to the Elements version when it says C7.0.6 in your signature? How could i know that you were refering to the Elements operating manual?
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby G-string » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:55 am

you had no signature so how was I meant to know that you wasn't using elements or artist ?
Last edited by G-string on Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 844 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby knutvega » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:58 am

How about asking if you didn´t know?
Cubase 7.5.20
knutvega
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do i access the vst instruments from the new mixer?

Postby curteye » Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:50 am

C'mon guys. Drop it.

This is going nowhere.

Let's make music. :) :) :) :)
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests