Updating to 7.5 question.

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:02 pm

Hi all,

Im on Mavericks OSX on a mac pro. Currently I have install 7.06 and the 7.5 is near completion.

Is this an update patcher or a full install? If full, do you typically install over the previous version if it is a full or unisntall (which can be a nightmare) Looking for the least headaches of course to retain key commands and settings.

Thanks for the help and excited to check out the update.

Kind Regards,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:07 pm

Scott Lee wrote:Hi all,

Im on Mavericks OSX on a mac pro. Currently I have install 7.06 and the 7.5 is near completion.

Is this an update patcher or a full install? If full, do you typically install over the previous version if it is a full or unisntall (which can be a nightmare) Looking for the least headaches of course to retain key commands and settings.

Thanks for the help and excited to check out the update.

Kind Regards,

The 900 mb download is an update patcher
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:12 pm

Strange were do you see that? I'd much rather just do an update install then anything else.

I have a grace period upgrade and all I see is a 6.7 gig download. Someplace else I should be looking?

Here is a screeenshot of my options.

Image
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:19 pm

Scott Lee wrote:Strange were do you see that? I'd much rather just do an update install then anything else.

I have a grace period upgrade and all I see is a 6.7 gig download. Someplace else I should be looking?

Here is a screeenshot of my options.

Image

That´s the full installer.I got an update installer with 900 MB (Cubase) and 2.something GB HalionSonic SE
Last edited by thinkingcap on Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:19 pm

Were do I find the 900meg update? I would prefer that option.

Thanks,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:21 pm

Scott Lee wrote:Were do I find the 900meg update? I would prefer that option.

Thanks,

I got it with the confirmation email (germany)
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:26 pm

I would like to find the update option folks. Anyone have a link for the 900meg version of the update? It seems Im downloading the full version of 7.5 of which Id rather just update my 7.06. As posted above, its the only option I seem to have for US retail. Can anyone confirm an alternative option?

Thanks,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:31 pm

Scott Lee wrote:I would like to find the update option folks. Anyone have a link for the 900meg version of the update? It seems Im downloading the full version of 7.5 of which Id rather just update my 7.06. As posted above, its the only option I seem to have for US retail. Can anyone confirm an alternative option?

Thanks,

The link seems to be tied to the online shop account.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:34 pm

So would it be in my mysteinberg account? Didn't see it :)
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:36 pm

Scott Lee wrote:So would it be in my mysteinberg account? Didn't see it :)

No, european (german?) online shop for steinberg is "asknet". I need to log into my asknet account to get to the link, otherwise I had posted it already.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby curteye » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:38 pm

Aloha S,

Is it also possible that if you take the 900mb route
there may be 'missing content'?

Been reading a post(s) about missing HASE 2 content.

Seems the content can be easily acquired/downloaded but it adds just one more
thing with which to deal.

Could a smaller download footprint also bring with it additional probs?
{'-'}
Last edited by curteye on Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mac Pro w/3 4k monitors.
On-line in Jan 2015

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 182 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby pumafred » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:39 pm

Scott Lee wrote:I would like to find the update option folks. Anyone have a link for the 900meg version of the update? It seems Im downloading the full version of 7.5 of which Id rather just update my 7.06. As posted above, its the only option I seem to have for US retail. Can anyone confirm an alternative option?

Thanks,


That´s strange. You paid the equivalent of 49.99 euros and got links for the full version? :o
pumafred
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:20 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:44 pm

pumafred wrote:
Scott Lee wrote:I would like to find the update option folks. Anyone have a link for the 900meg version of the update? It seems Im downloading the full version of 7.5 of which Id rather just update my 7.06. As posted above, its the only option I seem to have for US retail. Can anyone confirm an alternative option?

Thanks,


That´s strange. You paid the equivalent of 49.99 euros and got links for the full version? :o

The full installer ISOs had been on the steinberg site already, and probably will be put back there, when the traffic allows it again...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:45 pm

pumafred wrote:
Scott Lee wrote:I would like to find the update option folks. Anyone have a link for the 900meg version of the update? It seems Im downloading the full version of 7.5 of which Id rather just update my 7.06. As posted above, its the only option I seem to have for US retail. Can anyone confirm an alternative option?

Thanks,


That´s strange. You paid the equivalent of 49.99 euros and got links for the full version? :o


Hi Pumafred,

I qualified for the grace period upgrade. This morning my e-licenser upgraded to 7.5. As per the instructions, I was given those download options only. Strange.

Also I too wonder if the full is better? Do you run the risk of installing over a previous version?

Thanks,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:08 am

I have the full download of 7.5 now but haven't installed.

Can someone clarify if installing the full version of 7.5 over 7.06 is ok? In not could I get a link to the update? This is getting frustrating as I don't want to ruin my rig and setups.

thanks,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby pumafred » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:11 am

thinkingcap wrote:The full installer ISOs had been on the steinberg site already, and probably will be put back there, when the traffic allows it again...


You are right. I expressed myself poorly.

I just installed the upgrade from 7.0 to 7.5 and all seems fine so far. However, returning to the matter of this post, since I had to reset so many things, what is the advantage between the upgrade and the full install? (No serious problem for me, but my settings were gone, my VST plugin folder had to be reset, my "recent projects" were gone -not the projects, of course.)
pumafred
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:20 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby pumafred » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:14 am

Scott Lee wrote:I have the full download of 7.5 now but haven't installed.

Can someone clarify if installing the full version of 7.5 over 7.06 is ok? In not could I get a link to the update? This is getting frustrating as I don't want to ruin my rig and setups.

thanks,


viewtopic.php?f=181&t=51236
pumafred
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:20 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:42 am

*Steinberg* forgot to give an option for an upgrade link to the folks that qualified for a free upgrade. Nothing in the mail, no link to trigger it. So its a full install or nothing.

I backed up the system and did the full.. It seems ok so far.

Some official word would be appreciated in the matter. Also I take it the extra content was included in the 6 gig version? Something about a trip library?
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby longname » Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:40 am

I hope they will give us the 900mb upgrade rather than full install. I'm waiting for them to have it done soon.
longname
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 6:05 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Updating to 7.5 question.

Postby Scott Lee » Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:31 pm

longname,

I tested all yesterday and it seems just fine to do the full install. It keeps the 7.06 icon but seems to retain the old default structure format so all worked right away for me.

Im going to stick to this route as it seems to be running perfect.

Kind Regards,
Scott Lee
SFX Media
Cinematic Composer / Audio Director / Senior Engineer
E-Mail: dezacrator@yahoo.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/scottleesfxmedia
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Dezacrator?feature=mhee

Mac Pro / 12 Terabytes HD / OSX Yosemite / Cubase 7.5 / Cubase IC Pro
User avatar
Scott Lee
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:15 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kreispendl, Kwackman and 14 guests