Award-winning 32-bit floating-point audio engine

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Award-winning 32-bit floating-point audio engine

Postby C.LYDE101 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Taken from Steinberg Extensive comparison chart...

Really... 32-bit is a brag point? :shock:
User avatar
C.LYDE101
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Award-winning 32-bit floating-point audio engine

Postby Steve Helstrip » Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:58 pm

This has nothing to do with 32-bit vs 64-bit software
Mac Pro i7, 12Gb, OSX10.9 MacBook Pro i7, 4Gb, OSX10.9
Cubase 7.5.20
Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Award-winning 32-bit floating-point audio engine

Postby C.LYDE101 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:53 pm

Does it?
User avatar
C.LYDE101
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Award-winning 32-bit floating-point audio engine

Postby C.LYDE101 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:58 pm

64-bit double precision. ..now that's a brag point. ..32bit..mehhh
User avatar
C.LYDE101
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Award-winning 32-bit floating-point audio engine

Postby dr4kan » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:13 pm

Very few DAWs have 64-bit engine yet. I just know three DAWs which have it: Studio One, Sonar X3 and Samplitude Pro X. I think it's just math, I don't think it makes any audible difference.
Cubase 7.5, Mac i7 16 GB ram (512 + 512 Samsung 840 pro), OSX 10.9.0
MR816X, Motu Ultralite, UAD 2, MCU Pro, CC121, Adam A7x, Axiom 49...
dr4kan
Member
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Award-winning 32-bit floating-point audio engine

Postby Tanant » Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:14 pm

dr4kan wrote:Very few DAWs have 64-bit engine yet. I just know three DAWs which have it: Studio One, Sonar X3 and Samplitude Pro X. I think it's just math, I don't think it makes any audible difference.


Yeah but if it sounds better on paper then people will want to have it.
Cubase 7 x64 | Win7 | Core i7 2600k@4.7Ghz | 16GB RAM | MOTU Ultralite
Tanant
Junior Member
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:43 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 6 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests