OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby suntower » Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:36 am

So I installed the Halion Sonic SE2 Additional Content. It said it installed correctly. 3.1gb.

So... how does it actually 'work'? I open it as an Instrument. It -says- HSSE2. And I can select instruments. Good. And on some instruments I see the L1, L2 buttons.

But... how does one access Trip? Are there specific presets that use it? Is it a separate 'Library' that's not there?

TIA,

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby Luis Dongo » Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:30 am

Hi,

I don't usually post to read the manual, but in this case I just have to. There is an extra manual for HSSE2 that explains all that. You can find it by clicking on "Help -> Documentation -> HALion Sonic SE"

Regards
Luis Dongo, Technical Support
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Luis Dongo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby willynanita » Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:23 pm

Try typing "Trip" in the search field.
My Songs

Wilfredo Nanita
Windows 8.1 Pro 64bits • Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz • Ram: 8GB
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 Audio Interface • M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
M-Audio DMP3 Dual Mic Preamp • Yamaha HS 50M Monitor Speakers
Toontrack Superior Drummer • Cubase 7.5 - 64bits
User avatar
willynanita
Junior Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:49 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby kobana » Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:50 pm

suntower wrote:
But... how does one access Trip? Are there specific presets that use it? Is it a separate 'Library' that's not there?

TIA,

---JC


Yes, theres a special library for trip if you use the filter search in Halion. Only some specific presets use it.

Mainboard : Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P
Processor : AMD Phenom II X4 955e @ 3200 MHz
Physical Memory : 8192 MB (4 x 2048 DDR3-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Monitor Type : Samsung SAMSUNG - 40 inches
Operating System : Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7601 Service Pack 1 (64-bit)

Mainboard : ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. K56CM
Processor : Intel Core i5 3317U @ 1700 MHz
Physical Memory : 8192 MB (2 x 4096 DDR3-SDRAM )
Monitor Type : AUO - 15 inches
Operating System : Windows 8 Home Edition 6.02.9200 (64-bit)
kobana
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby suntower » Tue Dec 10, 2013 7:07 pm

Can you give me one preset name that uses Trip so I can find it? I tried sorting by 'Library' and see no presets that use the Trip Library.

TIA,

---JC

kobana wrote:
Yes, theres a special library for trip if you use the filter search in Halion. Only some specific presets use it.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby willynanita » Tue Dec 10, 2013 7:16 pm

Type "trip" in the search field and 156 patches using trip will be available.
My Songs

Wilfredo Nanita
Windows 8.1 Pro 64bits • Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz • Ram: 8GB
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 Audio Interface • M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
M-Audio DMP3 Dual Mic Preamp • Yamaha HS 50M Monitor Speakers
Toontrack Superior Drummer • Cubase 7.5 - 64bits
User avatar
willynanita
Junior Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:49 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby thinkingcap » Tue Dec 10, 2013 7:49 pm

kobana wrote:Yes, theres a special library for trip if you use the filter search in Halion. Only some specific presets use it.


Now, Mr. Dongo could you kindly explain, why if I write that, you delete my post, while if someone else writes it, it seems to be ok? Is there any particular reason, apart from your obvious dislike for me..?


@Suntower

AcidReflux
Adorned
Airmail

Are the first three presets for "Trip"
Hurry up, it certainly will be deleted again...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby Weasel » Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:04 pm

Open the Library, make sure the Filter and Location Tree are visible.
In the first category slot on the left, click and find "Audio-Assets". Select "Library Name".

Up top, uncheck the uppermost Halion Sonic SE folder. Choose: Keep. Recheck the folder. The database should now be current and you will find the Halion Sonic SE Trip category in the left column along with the other HSSE library-type parent preset categories.

The problem (although minor) with using the finder to locate "Trip" is that a few false listings will show up that are not actual Trip presets. But it is quicker than what I've explained and it gets you in the ballpark.
QuadCore 2.66 Nehalem w/8gbRAM - OSX 10.6.8 /10.8.5- C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU 424e/2804MkIII - PODxt - 2-MIDI Express 128's --- DualCore 2.8 iMac w/4gbRAM OSX 10.6.8 - C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU/ULmk3 --- D8B/V5.1 - GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....
User avatar
Weasel
Member
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby suntower » Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:39 pm

willynanita wrote:Type "trip" in the search field and 156 patches using trip will be available.


Cool. That did the trick. Big cheers.

Now, as is my wont, I have a couple of comments:
1. I think there is a bug in here. Call me stupid, but I almost never remember to 'Search' in the dropdown list because it doesn't -look- like a typical Search Box.

So what I was doing was sorting the entire list by Library and looking for patches or a Library with 'Trip' in it. There were NONE. Really.

But when I took WillyNanita's suggestion and typed 'Trip' into the Search bar, the Results pane did appear with all the Trip patches. Good. And then the next time I looked at the entire list, it had magically re-populated itself with the Sonic SE Trip Library.

I think the gizmo needed to 're-index' itself. Because I'm 200% sure it was NOT displaying the Trip patches -before- I did the Search.

2. The Search Results to -me- is silly. Why doesn't it display all the various columns like 'Library'? It has a completely different look... far more geeky than the regular list of patches.

3. Luis, I did look @ the manual. It nicely explains the functionality of Trip, but I think there should be at least one sentence that says: You access the Trip synthesiser whenever you load a patch from the selection of instruments with the Library 'Halion Sonic SE Trip'. It assumes you already know how to find these things.

There has always been a tendency to treat people who ask 'obvious' questions like morons or pirates. Or both. To my mind, something foundational like a dropdown list and Search should be DEAD SIMPLE. And frankly, I think the current system is too frickin' convoluted for its own good. I think this problem is a combination of my being a dumb musician, overly complicated design -and- a tiny installation bug which I hope you'll look at. Since people who post here are registered users, it seems like, if they have problems, the first question s.b. 'How can we make the program -easier- and not just assume. I know that's hard because a LOT of us (me included) ARE impatient idiots and customer service wears -everyone- out. But we deserve the benefit of the doubt. Until you can't take it anymore, of course. :D

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby rustman » Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:56 pm

That sounds reasonable to me. There are all kinds of creative people in this world, and we all think in slightly different ways. If you're using Cubase to start with, you're not stupid. We should all remember that. Sometimes, read the manual is the right answer, but delivered delicately. It's no fun to hear. I find the majority here to be patient and polite, as were all but one of the posters on this thread. I'll never change my screen name to something like "Mr. Big Brain". That would just scream of insecurity and internet tough guy issues. I've spent probably thousands of hours on forums and I've seen the gamut. It is as it will always be.
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM @ 2133, Radeon HD 5650 x2 in Crossfire, 27" Viewsonic monitors x3, Novation 61SL mk2, Roland Quad-Capture, SSD boot and recording drives, SATA drive for sample library, Komplete 9 Ultimate, Alchemy, Omnisphere, Stylus RMS, Trilian, Synthmaster, Zebra2, ZebraHZ, Iris, Total Studio 3, Melodyne Editor, Entire Image-Line product Catalog, Reason 6.5, Reaper, MFM2, Filterscape, Blue Cat goodies, Melda Productions Total bundle, SD2, SSD4 Platinum, POD Farm2, >100K midi drum loops. -----> and DIVA!!!!
rustman
New Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:58 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby Buchanan » Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:20 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
kobana wrote:Yes, theres a special library for trip if you use the filter search in Halion. Only some specific presets use it.


Now, Mr. Dongo could you kindly explain, why if I write that, you delete my post, while if someone else writes it, it seems to be ok? Is there any particular reason, apart from your obvious dislike for me..?


@Suntower

AcidReflux
Adorned
Airmail

Are the first three presets for "Trip"
Hurry up, it certainly will be deleted again...


Yes, I've just been warned by Mr Dongo for an innocuous post. Maybe we're not nasty enough? :lol: I suppose if the board just wants humourless nodding dogs that's what it deserves.

To the OP Trip is a funny one and I spent some time tracking it down looking for the "Trip" button. :lol: Simply (and for others if you've already sussed it but haven't got the hang of search) go into the presets and scroll down to the "T"s (and on to TR.... etc) and you'll find a couple of the more obvious Trip examples there.

And frankly, I think the current system is too frickin' convoluted for its own good
Definitely in some areas it's over engineered. I have to be careful what I say apparently as there is a forum apparatchik on the loose warning people about saying that and threatening "suspension". Common sense is, apparently, not allowed. Especially if one has read a book. :mrgreen:
Everyone wants perfect software. But nobody's perfect.
Buchanan
Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:15 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:36 pm

I just upgraded from Cubase7 to 7.5 ..and 'Trip' is nowhere to be found. I need help.

I have 3 current licenses on my dongle - (1.) Cubase 7.5 (2.) Connect Pro (3.) Granular Symphonies


Am I needing to activate or register something else? Do I need a seperate licence activation on my dongle to be able to see 'Trip' ??
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby thinkingcap » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:40 pm

patrickkindy wrote:I just upgraded from Cubase7 to 7.5 ..and 'Trip' is nowhere to be found. I need help.

I have 3 current licenses on my dongle - (1.) Cubase 7.5 (2.) Connect Pro (3.) Granular Symphonies


Am I needing to activate or register something else? Do I need a seperate licence activation on my dongle to be able to see 'Trip' ??

No you don' t need a special license. Have you also downloaded and installed the additional content files for HSSE 2?
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:53 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
patrickkindy wrote:I just upgraded from Cubase7 to 7.5 ..and 'Trip' is nowhere to be found. I need help.

I have 3 current licenses on my dongle - (1.) Cubase 7.5 (2.) Connect Pro (3.) Granular Symphonies


Am I needing to activate or register something else? Do I need a seperate licence activation on my dongle to be able to see 'Trip' ??

No you don' t need a special license. Have you also downloaded and installed the additional content files for HSSE 2?


I believe that I have. It was something like 3 Gigs ...should I try and download it again? Shouldnt it be readily visible?
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:05 am

heres a picture ...
Attachments
1390605_10200332892804036_2122012827_n.jpg
(52.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby suntower » Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:21 am

Please read my (lengthy) post above in reply to WillyNanita. It's a combination of poor documentation a tiny bug and a pretty convoluted preset system.

I think it would be better if SB had advertised Trip as NI did Kore. ie. you're not getting a 'Synthesiser', you're getting PRESETS from a Synthesiser. IOW: Search for presets that -use- the Trip Library, don't bother searching for a 'Trip' button of some sort. As with the rest of HSSE you're getting presets of the thing and not the thing itself... if that makes sense.

All SB had to do was add one or two sentences to the docs:

"To experience the AMAZING POWER of Trip, start by opening Search and locating for any of the over 150 presets which make use of the Trip Library."

---JC





patrickkindy wrote:I just upgraded from Cubase7 to 7.5 ..and 'Trip' is nowhere to be found. I need help.

I have 3 current licenses on my dongle - (1.) Cubase 7.5 (2.) Connect Pro (3.) Granular Symphonies


Am I needing to activate or register something else? Do I need a seperate licence activation on my dongle to be able to see 'Trip' ??
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:41 am

Thank you yes I read it but still dont see anything anywhere that says Trip when I type Trip into the search..thanks anyway.
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby suntower » Sun Dec 15, 2013 1:19 am

patrickkindy wrote:Thank you yes I read it but still dont see anything anywhere that says Trip when I type Trip into the search..thanks anyway.


Try searching for 'Wiretap'.

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:04 am

:?:

I typed "Wiretap" ...no results shown
Attachments
1499464_10200333747225396_822312116_n.jpg
I typed "Wiretap" ...no results shown
(27.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby suntower » Sun Dec 15, 2013 3:02 am

I..... got nothin'.
1. Re-install and try again.
2. Fill out a support ticket. It -seems- as though SB response (at least in Amerikay) have gotten a lot better.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby kobana » Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:20 am

Image

Use the filter search and there is a library for trip on its own.

If its not there, you might not have installed the "trip presets" properly.

Mainboard : Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P
Processor : AMD Phenom II X4 955e @ 3200 MHz
Physical Memory : 8192 MB (4 x 2048 DDR3-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Monitor Type : Samsung SAMSUNG - 40 inches
Operating System : Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7601 Service Pack 1 (64-bit)

Mainboard : ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. K56CM
Processor : Intel Core i5 3317U @ 1700 MHz
Physical Memory : 8192 MB (2 x 4096 DDR3-SDRAM )
Monitor Type : AUO - 15 inches
Operating System : Windows 8 Home Edition 6.02.9200 (64-bit)
kobana
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:31 am

kobana wrote:Image

Use the filter search and there is a library for trip on its own.

If its not there, you might not have installed the "trip presets" properly.


Thank you but there is no Trip Library...?
Attachments
1390605_10200332892804036_2122012827_n.jpg
(52.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby kobana » Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:37 am

It seems that you are missing the trip presets then.

The extra content you downloaded ---> can you try to reinstall it again?

Edit: Try to open the HSSE Content file with winrar and run the setup file.

Mainboard : Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P
Processor : AMD Phenom II X4 955e @ 3200 MHz
Physical Memory : 8192 MB (4 x 2048 DDR3-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Monitor Type : Samsung SAMSUNG - 40 inches
Operating System : Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7601 Service Pack 1 (64-bit)

Mainboard : ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. K56CM
Processor : Intel Core i5 3317U @ 1700 MHz
Physical Memory : 8192 MB (2 x 4096 DDR3-SDRAM )
Monitor Type : AUO - 15 inches
Operating System : Windows 8 Home Edition 6.02.9200 (64-bit)
kobana
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:57 am

Yes I re-installed the extra content. I am growing tired of this. I appreciate your help but there are probably other issues with 7.5 that I have not even discovered yet because I've been trying to solve this one. Should I just wait for an update? FRUSTRATED AND TIRED OF THIS.
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: OK, What's The Trick To Trip?

Postby patrickkindy » Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:58 am

kobana wrote:It seems that you are missing the trip presets then.

The extra content you downloaded ---> can you try to reinstall it again?

Edit: Try to open the HSSE Content file with winrar and run the setup file.


p.s Thank you and everyone tonight for the support.
patrickkindy
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:17 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LittleWiggler and 7 guests