Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Everything else...

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby dbwalter » Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:27 pm

Can I just quickly say that I appreciate what you guys are doing with all this testing. I haven't upgraded yet but your work I'm sure is going to make my life easier when I do. Bravo!
CB 7.05 on Windows 7 Professional (64bit) running under Bootcamp
8 Core 2.4GHz Mac Pro 16GB RAM
dbwalter
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 4:30 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby pondwalden » Mon Dec 09, 2013 6:02 pm

[/quote]

Do you have "decouple" highlighted in VEP Pro?[/quote]

Absolutely
pondwalden
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby beatpete » Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:22 pm

pondwalden wrote:


Do you have "decouple" highlighted in VEP Pro?[/quote]

Absolutely[/quote]

I'm not sure if you saw my other post in this thread but, I created a project with 5 instances of VEP Pro, 600 midi tracks and 225 stereo outputs and it took 24 seconds to load.
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Steinberg MR816x, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.20 64bit
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit,Celeron G540,16 gb ram, VEPro.
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Pablo1980 » Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:33 pm

Do you have any vsti loaded? (kontakt, omnisphere, padshop, retrolog)?

Midi tracks, and stereo outputs doesn´t seem to be the problem, vsti loaded as instrument tracks, or in the instrument rack maybe...

Can you do a simple test? grab a padshop patch, as an instrument track, and copy it, 100 times. you will have 100 hundred padshop tracks. Save and reopen while watching the instrument rack load all of those padshops, do you notice that the time loading each vsti gets longer?

If you can reproduce this then it´s not my system and we can continue beta testing this problem.
Another test: load 20 instances of padshop, how much time the instrument rack takes to open and close?

thanks!
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 7 64bit - Cubase 6.5 / 7.5 (64bit) - Komplete 8 - Kontakt 5.3 - Virus Kb
Pablo1980
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Pablo1980 » Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:34 pm

(one hundred, not 100 hundred, sorry for that)
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 7 64bit - Cubase 6.5 / 7.5 (64bit) - Komplete 8 - Kontakt 5.3 - Virus Kb
Pablo1980
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby beatpete » Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:55 pm

Pablo1980 wrote:Do you have any vsti loaded? (kontakt, omnisphere, padshop, retrolog)?

Midi tracks, and stereo outputs doesn´t seem to be the problem, vsti loaded as instrument tracks, or in the instrument rack maybe...

Can you do a simple test? grab a padshop patch, as an instrument track, and copy it, 100 times. you will have 100 hundred padshop tracks. Save and reopen while watching the instrument rack load all of those padshops, do you notice that the time loading each vsti gets longer?

If you can reproduce this then it´s not my system and we can continue beta testing this problem.
Another test: load 20 instances of padshop, how much time the instrument rack takes to open and close?

thanks!



100 padshops Cubase 7.06: 1:04, Cubase 7.5; 2:22
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Steinberg MR816x, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.20 64bit
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit,Celeron G540,16 gb ram, VEPro.
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby agilkds » Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:58 pm

Hi guys, thanks for all the tests you're doing and posting the results. I've installed C7.5 both in Win 7 64 and Mac Mavericks. I don't use a lot of VSTi, basically 10 or so in projects that do need some instruments that are not available in real instruments... My main work is with bands, so i do have a lot of audio tracks (usually 35 to 60), plus inserts (a lot) per track, and C 7.5 loads normally. A bit of waiting time more (5 to 10 secs more), but that's it. I think it's a VSTi and the new Rack Instrument thing. But the CPR size is a bit bigger, i think that C7.5 as different stuff in it. But it's still very solid, and a joy to work with. Nonetheless thanks to everyone that's testing the problems, personnaly i'll be keeping reading and wishing the problem get's solves before Christmas... And a Happy New Year to you all :)
Win7 64bit, i7 core, 16 gig RAM; C7.5 64bit ; Wavelab Elements 8; CMC FD (x2); CMC TP; CMC CH; CMC QC; Focusrite Liquid Mix; MOTU 424 + 24I/O + 2408 mk3; Mutec Master Clock; Soundcraft Vienna II mixer (+ a lot of analog equipment)
User avatar
agilkds
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:08 pm
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Svenne » Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:59 pm

Pablo1980 wrote:Ok, I ran some tests here:

138 track instruments of omnisphere (light patch): 10 minutes (7.5) vs 1 minute (7.0.2)
180 track instruments of padshop: 20 minutes (7.5) vs 2 minutes (7.0.2)

Thanks Pablo1980. I've duplicated your PadShop file. I've also made a copy with no plug-in. I've only been able to test with 7.0.6. I will test with 7.5 as soon as I get it installed.

So far I've got the following results on Mac OSX 10.9:
180 track instruments of padshop: 2 min 39 sek (7.0.6)
180 track only (no plug-ins): 7 sek (7.0.6)

In the meantime, if anyone would like to use the test files, you can download them here:
http://www.datafilehost.com/d/6c08d488
Cubase 7.5.20 [64bit] + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 8, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.9.4 Mavericks, Firewire Audiofile (to be replaced)
Svenne
Member
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Pablo1980 » Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:08 pm

ok, those are the results I am having with 7.0.2, lets see what results you have with 7.5 and will go on from them.

Anybody else who would like to give it a go with 7.5?
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 7 64bit - Cubase 6.5 / 7.5 (64bit) - Komplete 8 - Kontakt 5.3 - Virus Kb
Pablo1980
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby dlpmusic » Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:29 pm

I did some testing similar to others, and have ruled out VE PRO, etc.... I tested a blank sequence and loaded it with like 800+ midi tracks connected to VE PROs and nothing seemed unusually slow in 7.5 with starting with this blank sequence. This does not have my usual many. many. groups fx channels, etc.... Hard to say where the problems are happening in my large template. I kind of ran out of time to investigate further, but I did send my template to Carlos at Steinberg and they are investigating so hopefully Steinberg will get this sorted out quickly.
Cubase 7.52, I7 6 Core, 24 gb
Halion 5.x
dlpmusic
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Freddie H » Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:31 pm

crohde wrote:Hello guys,

We are investigating this issue!



Thanks! ;)


I don't have 7.5 on my computer today but will install it tomorrow. I ordered a box-version.
So I can't try this out myself. What cross my mind reading about this issue is that perhaps a "project conversion" takes place loading a old 7.0.6 project with new 7.5.

Can someone please try out following to nail this one.

1. Make a new "template"-project with some minor stuff in Cubase 7.0.6.
2. Save the Cubase 7.0.6 project.

3. Make the same template in 7.5; a new "template"-project (copy and add exactly the same stuff) in 7.5 from scratch.
4. Save the Cubase 7.5 project.

5. Now compare the loading time in "7.0.6-templet project" VS "7.5-templet project" in Cubase 7.0.6 VS Cubase 7.5.
(*don't load the 7.0.6 project with Cubase 7.5)

I guess it will almost the same loading time.



Best Regards
Freddie
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Pablo1980 » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:59 pm

beatpete wrote:
Pablo1980 wrote:Do you have any vsti loaded? (kontakt, omnisphere, padshop, retrolog)?

Midi tracks, and stereo outputs doesn´t seem to be the problem, vsti loaded as instrument tracks, or in the instrument rack maybe...

Can you do a simple test? grab a padshop patch, as an instrument track, and copy it, 100 times. you will have 100 hundred padshop tracks. Save and reopen while watching the instrument rack load all of those padshops, do you notice that the time loading each vsti gets longer?

If you can reproduce this then it´s not my system and we can continue beta testing this problem.
Another test: load 20 instances of padshop, how much time the instrument rack takes to open and close?

thanks!



100 padshops Cubase 7.06: 1:04, Cubase 7.5; 2:22


Thanks, is that the same padshop copied as track instruments? or in the vst rack?

Can you do a test with 140 or 180 padshops? looking at the vst rack while it loads? I believe there is magic number where everything goes wrong, as they start to slow down.

Anybody care to conduct a test with 130-180 padshops in 7.5 while looking at the rack?
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 7 64bit - Cubase 6.5 / 7.5 (64bit) - Komplete 8 - Kontakt 5.3 - Virus Kb
Pablo1980
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Svenne » Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:33 pm

I've provided two test files here:
viewtopic.php?f=181&t=51381&start=50#p316405

There are several things that can influence the results. However, if we all use the same test files, at least one variable is eliminated. Feel free to use them. They're free!
Cubase 7.5.20 [64bit] + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 8, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.9.4 Mavericks, Firewire Audiofile (to be replaced)
Svenne
Member
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby beatpete » Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:06 pm

OK, last test:
180 Padshop Pro:
7.06: 2:16
7.5: 20:19

Quite a difference...
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Steinberg MR816x, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.20 64bit
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit,Celeron G540,16 gb ram, VEPro.
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Pablo1980 » Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:59 pm

I think we need an answer about this, has anybody at steinberg conducted this test so far?

I ve seen this in other post by a steinberg employee

Cubase 7.5 loads virtual instruments differently than Cubase 6 did. Are you going to the VST Instruments panel and loading 9 instances of the plugins? Are you loading 1 instance of each plugin and then adding MIDI tracks to trigger them?

This cripples my workflow big time. Instrument tracks and their availability as track presets becomes useless now.

Can we get a statement regarding this issue?
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 7 64bit - Cubase 6.5 / 7.5 (64bit) - Komplete 8 - Kontakt 5.3 - Virus Kb
Pablo1980
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Pablo1980 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:05 pm

It has been told to me that they are going to try fixing this in 7.5.1

In the meantime, we should keep doing these test to see if everybody has the same problem.

I know, beta testers again, can you believe no one did a simple test of having more than 100 vsti loaded before the release?
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 7 64bit - Cubase 6.5 / 7.5 (64bit) - Komplete 8 - Kontakt 5.3 - Virus Kb
Pablo1980
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby sonic74 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:59 pm

beatpete wrote:OK, last test:
180 Padshop Pro:
7.06: 2:16
7.5: 20:19

Quite a difference...


So I guess that's a reproducible thing. That's broken without a doubt.

If everybody was making some beats and a bass line to go with it, and call it done, there would be no issues in any version of Cubase ever. People have to realize there are some really bad ass power users out there.
sonic74
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby sonic74 » Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:49 pm

EDIT: This had nothing to do with Cubase.

Today I worked on a new project on Cubase 7.5. There are 24 vst instruments and various insert fx used.
project size is........drum roll.......wait for it........116600 KB !!! that's about 114 MB!!!!?!!
The project folder is filled with other saves and backup files each around 114MB.
There's no problem saving/opening the project.
Last edited by sonic74 on Fri Jan 10, 2014 1:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
sonic74
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Svenne » Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:57 pm

Finally, I've been able to do some Mac loading time tests on v7.5.

Here are the old results from using 7.0.6 in OSX 10.9 ( redid the test in 10.9.1, just to be on the safe side, but it made no difference):
180 track instruments of padshop: 2 min 39 sec.
180 track only (no plug-ins): 7 sec

These are the results from using 7.5 in OSX 10.9.1
180 track instruments of padshop: 18 min
180 track only (no plug-ins): 7 sec

Opening the file, saved in v7.5, in 7.0.6, again took approximately 2.5 minutes.
Opening the file, saved in v7.5, in 7.5, again took approximately 18 minutes.

Watching the counter in the new VST Rack, it is clear that the loading times get progressively longer the more instances gets loaded. My finger wasn't fast enough to time the first instance, but the 180th took about 15 seconds.

These results tells me that:
a) The problem is not platform specific.
b) The problem is caused by the number of plug-in instances, not by the number of tracks themselves.

My opinion is that is has something to do with the way Cubase handles plug-ins after the merger of Instrument Tracks and the VST Instruments Rack.

I also took a look at the file sizes. The original test file (with PadShop) was 6.8MB. After saving it in v7.5, it grow to 11.8MB. That's a significant increase in size, but nowhere near the 10 times mushrooming that has been reported by other (Windows) users. The fact that my test file was "clean" (i.e. it only contained pointers to PadShop instances. No MIDI data or pointers to audio files.) may have had something to do with the results.

The interesting thing, though, is that, when I opened the 11.8MB project in v7.0.6 and saved it again, it shrank back down to 6.9MB! One must wonder what v7.5 puts in those project files.

Let's hope Steiney figures this out sooner, rather than later.

EDIT:
Maybe my memory is playing tricks on me, but...didn't we have the same problem with mushrooming file sizes a number of years ago? Was it with v5 or v6?
Last edited by Svenne on Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 7.5.20 [64bit] + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 8, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.9.4 Mavericks, Firewire Audiofile (to be replaced)
Svenne
Member
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Pablo1980 » Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:53 pm

Does anyone wonder why this thread has been moved to misc?

It´s a big problem with the new version, and very little people can see it.

Can a moderator answer?

thanks!
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 7 64bit - Cubase 6.5 / 7.5 (64bit) - Komplete 8 - Kontakt 5.3 - Virus Kb
Pablo1980
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby pondwalden » Tue Dec 31, 2013 7:41 pm

Yes, I'm also curious as to why this post was moved. It seems as though it would make more sense for more people to see it to help us test and narrow down the issue further.

It would also be nice if we could get a little feedback from a moderator at least acknowledging the issue. Although any insight or clarification would be nice.
pondwalden
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby dlpmusic » Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:46 pm

It would be great to get some sort of communication about if they have fixed this for the next version yet.
Cubase 7.52, I7 6 Core, 24 gb
Halion 5.x
dlpmusic
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby wcb123 » Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:02 pm

Ive noticed this happens if i switch window (to browse internet for example) whilst the project is loading. The loading will freeze, if i then click on the Cubase tab at the bottom of Windows so Cubase is on top, the loading starts up again.
Windows x64 Pro
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 7
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Quested s8r
wcb123
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby dlpmusic » Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:50 pm

I was just informed by Steinberg that this is fixed for the 7.51 release.....now if we can just get that release.
Cubase 7.52, I7 6 Core, 24 gb
Halion 5.x
dlpmusic
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 Excruciating load times

Postby Cubasesx2to5 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:03 pm

I've had issues like this and for me it was a 3rd party plugin causing a conflict. Bring up taskmanager and kill vstbridge it might move on... This worked for me anyway.
Cubasesx2to5
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 4 times

PreviousNext

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest