Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby alexis » Wed Dec 18, 2013 2:29 pm

Starting some planning for a new rig. I've used JS in C6.5, am used to the interface, and like it a lot. Hoping to stay with it, but wondering if anyone else has been down that road before?

Thanks!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby Rhino » Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:20 pm

works fine in 7.06 afaics, no different than before.
that explicitly includes external triggering of Toontrack VSTi
take it with a grain of salt though, I'm still using 6.5 for real work, until the 7.x workflow killers have been fixed.
Jamstix 3 is in my test template however.
ymmv,
Rhino
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby DaveAbbott » Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:23 pm

Hi There

I have Jamstix 3.5 and it seems to be fine, I haven't really used it at all since the upgrade to 7.5 just checked that it was working rather quickly without any detailed "inspection". I'm using the 64bit version

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, 12Gig RAM System Drive115 Gig SSD + 4 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Win7 64Bit Cubase 7
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite Octopre, Steinberg CI1 on spare machine
M-Audio Keystation Pro88 Controller
User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby alexis » Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:00 pm

Thanks, Rhino, and DaveAbbott , good to know!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby Keith99 » Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:01 pm

Works fine here with 7.5. I have recently got BFD3 and Jamstix driving the sounds from that is awesome!
Keith99
Member
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby Rhino » Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:22 pm

alexis,
you're welcome !
Sorry, should've been a bit more specific :oops: :
W7/64, 16GB, Cubase 6.5/32 & 7.06/32, JS 3.5/32, Superior (latest) 64via jbridge
cheers,
Rhino

btw, only Superior/64, Kontakt 4/64 & 5/64 are jbridged, absolutely flawless and no compatibility issues with any 32bit plugs
if needed I can load up almost unlimited memory using these 3 hogs, 4GB per instance / OT off
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby alexis » Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:09 am

Rhino wrote:alexis,
you're welcome !
Sorry, should've been a bit more specific :oops: :
W7/64, 16GB, Cubase 6.5/32 & 7.06/32, JS 3.5/32, Superior (latest) 64via jbridge
cheers,
Rhino

btw, only Superior/64, Kontakt 4/64 & 5/64 are jbridged, absolutely flawless and no compatibility issues with any 32bit plugs
if needed I can load up almost unlimited memory using these 3 hogs, 4GB per instance / OT off


Thank you, Rhino! Just getting to the bridging concept as I look at a new rig. Much appreciated!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2260
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby bluzkat » Thu Dec 26, 2013 3:47 am

Rhino wrote:alexis,
you're welcome !
Sorry, should've been a bit more specific :oops: :
W7/64, 16GB, Cubase 6.5/32 & 7.06/32, JS 3.5/32, Superior (latest) 64via jbridge
cheers,
Rhino

btw, only Superior/64, Kontakt 4/64 & 5/64 are jbridged, absolutely flawless and no compatibility issues with any 32bit plugs
if needed I can load up almost unlimited memory using these 3 hogs, 4GB per instance / OT off


Rhino,

May I ask why you are running 32 bit Cubase with 16 GB of RAM and using Jbridge, instead of running 64 bit Cubase and eliminate the bridge?

Just curious.
Peace
bluzkat


i7 3770, 32 GB RAM, Win7 64 bit, Cubase 7.5
User avatar
bluzkat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby Rhino » Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:10 am

@ Alexis & bluzkat :
bluzkat wrote:May I ask why you are running 32 bit Cubase with 16 GB of RAM and using Jbridge, instead of running 64 bit Cubase and eliminate the bridge?

Sure, the answer is easy : it works much better in my scenario. ;)
I only use a handful of sample-based memory hogs, mostly Superior and Kontakt, everything else is small fry, FX anyway.
Those two are perfectly trouble free in jBridge, and each jBridged instance can use 4GB independently from Cubase's own approx. 4GB, multiple instances of the same jB VSTi are possible.
On the other hand I rely a lot on 32bit only (yet) plugins like the excellent Variety of Sound series, some others are notorious for having issues with 64bits, and we all know and love Cubase's built-in bridge ... :?
So in the end it comes down to using two known good bridged plugs vs a multitude of potential bridged troublemakers, believe it or not, I've been running virtually crash free for years this way. 8-)
And I don't see me switching to full 64bits anytime soon, nothing to gain atm, though it certainly is the future.
Likewise, I still use VST2 rather than VST3 versions wherever possible since I need a tidy, sorted plugin menu.
I don't think in terms of legal company names, most companies don't, either - or why would most of them "own" several folders - much like the revolutionary groups in "Life of Brian" ... :P
Whoever invented that forced "intelligent" VST3 auto-sorting shall rot in deepest hell. :twisted:
ymmv,
Rhino

To get back on topic, Jamstix has got fantastic memory management - it sure is not a likely candidate for bridging.
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Any Jamstix 3.X users with Cubase 7.06 or 7.5?

Postby bluzkat » Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:15 pm

Cool... thanks for the explanation. I was sure there was a good explanation, I just wasn't sure what it was! :mrgreen:
Peace
bluzkat


i7 3770, 32 GB RAM, Win7 64 bit, Cubase 7.5
User avatar
bluzkat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cmaffia, dbmac, dmbaer, Grim, gstar82, Jeff Hayat and 4 guests