Generic Remote needs updating

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 can be posted here.

Generic Remote needs updating

Postby sonicstate » Wed Dec 11, 2013 8:11 pm

Generic remote is still not covering basic functions of channel strip like lo/hi pass. And there are other channel strip functions that need to be included in generic remote. I was hoping this will be done in 7.5. Any plans on this?
Cubase 7.5, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, 2x RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby cubic13 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:25 pm

Generic remote definitions are a typical Steiny half-baked feature. I don't know how many hours I spent to get something useful of it with my two remote controllers. I finally manged to do so, but almost only for strict Cubase commands control purpose.

As you said it, channel strip functions are not available and, at your place, I wouldn't hold my breath for it. This has to be add to the broken NRPN support, the undocumented (and unavailable, if you're only using the UI) soft takeover feature and, most of all, the channel dependent settings which affect all your setup and the VSTis involved if you are reckless enough to dare add or remove a channel/track somewhere in your project with a predefined GR definition active. This without talking of its incompatibility with the C7 brand new RCE thingy...

What more to say ? :roll:
DAW : i7-870 (HT enabled) - Asus P7-P55D-E - 16 Gb DDR3-1600 - 2 x WD Black Caviar 1 Tb - Radeon 6450 GPU (512 Mb) - Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64) / E-Mu 1616m PCIe + Behringer ADA8000
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase 5.1.1 (64) & 6.5.5 (64) + HSO / Emulator X3 / TruePianos / Ivory II / GSi Mr Ray73 MkII & VB3 / Sylenth1 / Alchemy / Loomer String / Arturia MMV / BFD2 / Ariesverb
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ / Akai MPD32 controller / Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay / Korg 05RW / Roland D110 / Yamaha TX802 / Zoom G9.2tt / My really old ones (pre-MIDI era) : ARP Odyssey + Korg MS20
User avatar
cubic13
Member
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: near the Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby Rhino » Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:14 am

While I personally don't care for the channel strip, I completely agree to all GR related improvements.
GR is one of the best and mightiest features in Cubase, and it doesn't get anywhere near the attention it deserves by Steinberg, unfortunately.
The UI and its logic are a mess (apply, save, load and their hidden implications), bound to scare off all but the most notorious geeks. Add the focus bugs (same as with KCs, obviously) and the omissions you guys mentioned ...
Once you struggled your way through it however, you couldn't do without anymore.
Wouldn't trade my pair of GR-customized BCR2000s for any generic MCU controller, no way !
But GR should be made easier and more accessible for newbies (please, not dumbed down, no iCrap UI, just a nice, obvious, no nonsense UI following standard Windows/Apple conventions).
This great feature should take centerstage and be regularly updated with all new program functions, just like KCs should.
I heard Helge say in a promo interview that their focus is on workflow first of all, great news !
What better place to start then than with KCs, GR (a KC spinoff at heart) and the focus bugs ?
Looking forward to fast and substanial improvement here !
Rhino
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby sonicstate » Fri Dec 20, 2013 12:46 pm

Anybody knows of any new functions that are available to Generic Remote? Mackie Control has new functions enabled, entire channel strip. Is it possible to edit some xml or something, to het new functions into generic remote too?
Cubase 7.5, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, 2x RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby beatpete » Fri Dec 20, 2013 4:44 pm

+1! I've been using generic remote since it's inception and it really hasn't been updated at all. Come on Steiny, let us access ANYTHING via a generic remote!
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.10
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit, Asus P5W DH Deluxe, Q6600, 8 gig Corsair XMS ram, , MR816 X(x2) VE Pro
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby sonicstate » Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:18 am

This is a poll, about Generic Remote not being updated with new functions since, like, forever.
You can pick more than one answer, up to 4.
Last edited by sonicstate on Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Cubase 7.5, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, 2x RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby papi61 » Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:37 am

Your survey looks a bit like a republican push poll, where every answer fits their agenda... :lol:

Seriously, I think it's about time Steinberg opened the generic remote to developers, so that we could enjoy a plethora of tablet applications, especially on Android and Win 8.1 (seems like iC Pro for Android was nothing but a joke, as it's been "coming soon" for an entire year.)
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby jaslan » Sat Dec 21, 2013 4:23 am

papi61 wrote:Your survey looks a bit like a republican push poll, where every answer fits their agenda... :lol:

Or, a liberal poll, where every answer fits THEIR agenda. :lol: (BOTH sides play these games...)

But, back on topic...
I agree that Automap or Hyperlink type "mapping" software offer some really great ways to map the controls. It would be great if we could have control like that. I guess the firmware in the controller would need to be able to communicate "two way" with Cubase for the best uses.
Core-i7 2820QM, 16GB RAM. Cubase 6.5.5 x64 on Windows 7. Scarlett 2i2. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 8. HALion 5. Jamstix 3.5. HSO VST Sound Set. Absolute VST+. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud
User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2092
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby Rotund » Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:06 pm

Yes Please!
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby Klokkikikk » Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:34 am

YEAH!!!!
Klokkikikk
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby sonicstate » Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:01 pm

Not much need for updated GR it seems...
I thought most professionals would use custom mappings. I used custom map from the day I bought the old BCF2000 almost 10 or so years ago.
Cubase 7.5, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, 2x RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby TheNavigator » Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:08 pm

I think it's ridiculous that there is no automatic mapping to the focused window yet. The generic remote is basically useless without such a feature.

By the way, I would be SO willing to buy another little remote control with a few knobs if Cubase had this, so maybe some hardware company can start urging Steinberg to add this long overdue no brainer?
Chris, The Navigator... Keyboards, songwriting, CTO and aspiring coproducer for Visions of Atlantis.

PC watercooling and overclocking afficionado.

Main device: Cubase 7.5 64 bit on Windows 8.1 (4930k @ 4.1 GHz, 32 GB of RAM, 3 SSDs), Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, AKG K701 headphones, lots of other nice stuff
Mobile cutlery: iPad Air 2, Cubasis (always the latest version), Audio Bus 2, Focusrite iTrack Dock, one or the other cheap USB MIDI keyboards

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

"Storms can't kill the faith in rainbows"
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby Rhino » Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:16 pm

GR all the way !
Got two BCR2000s plus various small fry, all "hardwired" to perform a single function per control, so the BCR controls are named with Letra strips - intuitive like hardware after a while.
All full duplex, of course. 8-)
One is set up to exclusively control the X-EQ for example, the right hand buttons all do various Cubase functions.
The top row of the 2nd BCR does QCs, the remaining controls are mapped to several channel strips and character EQs, chosen via mouseover in that tiny GR window. Still, HMF is HMF and LoQ is LoQ for all these devices alike, so the hands-on generic lettering works fine.
Unfortunately all this GR stuff requires correct window focus behaviour (as it's based on keycommands), so 7.x still is no-go for these cool applications - this should be the main priority for fixing, and then bring on every function Cubase offers for KCs and GR, you got my vote !
And while we're at it, please make all windows and dialogs you can open via KCs and GR "toggle" so they can be closed by the identical command, many are already, but even more follow various spontaneous coder ideas - this has to be unified, and "toggle" sure would be to every user's liking, I guess. If not, please explain ...
ymmv,
Rhino

Oh, and finally, have a heart for GR newbies and rework the setup process to follow standard Windows (Apple) conventions and human logic, the learning curve atm is serpentine shaped and you're bound to fall off the cliffs way too easy ... :shock:
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: WE WANT GENERIC REMOTE EXPANDED WITH NEW FUNCTIONS!!!

Postby beatpete » Mon Dec 23, 2013 5:12 pm

YES,YE,YES! I've used GR since it's beginning and it needs to be updated.
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.10
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit, Asus P5W DH Deluxe, Q6600, 8 gig Corsair XMS ram, , MR816 X(x2) VE Pro
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby sonicstate » Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:29 am

.
Cubase 7.5, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, 2x RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby jb » Sat Jul 05, 2014 3:24 pm

Obviously + 1000
Studio: Cubase 6.5.5 (& 7.5) 32 bits on Windows 7 64 bit.
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/nov10/a ... 64-bit.htm (tip).

Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/2x RME Digiface PCI
Intel Q6600 @2.40Ghz /Asus P5K/4gb/NVIDIA GeForce 850 GT/RME multiface PCI
Controllers:
Ipad2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000, 2x BCF 2000
User avatar
jb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby etl17 » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:27 am

+ 1

Also, we want OSC support!
Nuendo 6 / Cubase 7.5 / Wavelab 8 / Windows 7 x64 / Custom build PC 990X, 24GB RAM / RME HDSPe / UAD 2 Quad / PoCo MkII
etl17
Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby CubeDAW » Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:56 am

The generic remote, macros and midi effects all have been neglected for too long. I wish they would go back to improving what power users use.
User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby Home Studio 87 » Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:03 am

+10000
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 / Intel Corei7 2600k / 16384 Mo DDR3 / Seven x64 / UAD2 Quad & 2x UAD2 Duo / TC Powercore PCI / RME HDSP Multiface PCI / CMC Controllers / Faderport / iPad 3 / Cubase 7.5 x64...
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby mpayne0 » Sat Jul 12, 2014 8:47 pm

I would just like them to make it more accessible and not ANOTHER "secret handshake Cubase tool"
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: Generic Remote needs updating

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:35 am

+1
c6, c7.5.2, w7, i7 4930k 6core, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, SSL duende, RME HDSP, audeze lcd-2, avantone mixcubes, slate digital, ...

www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 53 times


Return to Feature Requests and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests