OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby vintagevibe » Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:45 pm

Windows 7/64, Intel i7 2600K, 16G RAM, 6TB 7200RPM storage, and bunch of software.

"Admittedly, it is difficult to reason people out of positions they didn't use reason to attain." - Craig Anderton
vintagevibe
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:33 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby ♫♪♫♪ » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:30 pm

Smart move, Line 6 has some excellent (complimentary) products for the mobile and desktop market.
Workflow
A bullshít managment word for a process in which they dont understand.
♫♪♫♪
New Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby dr4kan » Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:43 pm

Interesting, I also think it's a smart move.
Cubase 7.5, Mac i7 16 GB ram (512 + 512 Samsung 840 pro), OSX 10.9.0
MR816X, Motu Ultralite, UAD 2, MCU Pro, CC121, Adam A7x, Axiom 49...
dr4kan
Member
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby thinkingcap » Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:28 pm

And why would this belong into the Cubase 7 forum..?
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 97 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby curteye » Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:36 pm

thinkingcap wrote:And why would this belong into the Cubase 7 forum..?


+1

While IMHO this IS great news and the OP did post: OT,
this thread should be posted in the lounge.

Nice info to read tho'. Tanx.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Breaking in a Mac Pro. Will be on-line soon.

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4765
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 153 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby vintagevibe » Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:34 am

thinkingcap wrote:And why would this belong into the Cubase 7 forum..?

Just thought Cubase users would be interested.
Windows 7/64, Intel i7 2600K, 16G RAM, 6TB 7200RPM storage, and bunch of software.

"Admittedly, it is difficult to reason people out of positions they didn't use reason to attain." - Craig Anderton
vintagevibe
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:33 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby forthwith » Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:55 pm

Keep the OT's coming.
forthwith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:23 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby peakae » Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:23 am

Maybe sometime in the future we will see Line6 plugins make there way to Cubase.
Cubase 7.5.20 , I7 3770K , win7x64, 16Gb Ram, Steinberg MR816x, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus
Cubase 6.5.4, Intel Q6600, WinXPx32, 4Gb Ram, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8000
User avatar
peakae
Junior Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby d-_-b » Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:53 pm

peakae wrote:Maybe sometime in the future we will see Line6 plugins make there way to Cubase.


yep looks like the quality of plugin's will take a tumble and more rubbish interfaces on the way .

I don't know a single person that's had a line 6 interface and has managed to hook it up with Cubase first time with no hassle . just saying !
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby jpgtr » Sun Dec 22, 2013 4:38 pm

curteye wrote:While IMHO this IS great news and the OP did post: OT,
this thread should be posted in the lounge.


^^ Does this guy ever take a day off??

Agreed on the topic relevance. Would be nice to see Cubase inherit the Line6 POD Farm plug-in as an additional instrument.
2012 Mac Pro 10.8.4, 24 GB RAM, Cubase 7.0.6 (and 6.0.7), UAD-2 Duo
jpgtr
Member
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby uarte » Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:31 am

Good news indeed. Thanks for the heads up.
uarte
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby knuckle47 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 3:24 am

d-_-b wrote:
I don't know a single person that's had a line 6 interface and has managed to hook it up with Cubase first time with no hassle . just saying !


Oh this is so true!!! I had discovered last year or so that the proprietary ASIO drivers for devices do not co-exist well making it near impossible. I gave up, mine sits idle collecting dust
PC Win 7 64bit | VST Instrument Collection | i7 3930 | 32gb Corsair ram : MOTU 896 HD FireWire, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256gb Win 7 OS | 2nd Crucial 64gb with Cubase 7.5.2| WD 2 TB Caviar Black | 500gb project drive | Cubasis and iPad 4th 64gb. Guitarist not really a keyboard player, but tryin' like hell
User avatar
knuckle47
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:24 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby FilmNMusicMan » Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:56 am

Well Yamaha also owns Steinberg....

SO

This could be good in terms of software offerings included within future versions of Cubase.
COMP: iMac Quad Core i5 2.5Ghz 8Gb Ram OSX 10.8
SOFT: Cubase 7.5.2/Reason 7.1
RACK: MR816csx/Presonus Eureka/PRE73+EQ73/Valley People Dynamite/Ashly CL52E & PQX571/DBX 166A/VLA PRO
SYNTH: Moog Little Phatty/DSI Tetra/DSI Evolver/Sequential Circuits MultiTrak/Korg MS2000B
FilmNMusicMan
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby forthwith » Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:23 am

FilmNMusicMan wrote:This could be good in terms of software offerings included within future versions of Cubase.


Hopefully something better than the current raft of hardware/firmware rubbish.
forthwith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:23 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby G-string » Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:57 am

FilmNMusicMan wrote:Well Yamaha also owns Steinberg....

SO

This could be good in terms of software offerings included within future versions of Cubase.


What do you mean it could be good ?
Incompatible cheap audio interfaces ,they can't even write drivers for their crappy cheap interfaces .

If Steinberg end's up getting dumped with this rubbish because of yamaha's say so ..............IM OUT !
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 845 times
Been thanked: 62 times

OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby Torbiz » Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:36 pm

knuckle47 wrote:
d-_-b wrote:
I don't know a single person that's had a line 6 interface and has managed to hook it up with Cubase first time with no hassle . just saying !


Oh this is so true!!! I had discovered last year or so that the proprietary ASIO drivers for devices do not co-exist well making it near impossible. I gave up, mine sits idle collecting dust

I have used a Pod XT with no problems whatsoever. I don't see what the fuzz is all about.

I use it as a backup on the go. By the way, I use Line 6 plugins in most of my mixes (professional). I would love to see some kind of integration and included plugs. It will be interesting to see what happens with Reason. Doesn't Line 6 own Propellerhead? The beat features of Reason included in Cubase would be amazing!
Cheers,

Torbiz
Torbiz
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby ♫♪♫♪ » Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:17 pm

Torbiz wrote:It will be interesting to see what happens with Reason. Doesn't Line 6 own Propellerhead?

No, they only partnered up in the past.
Workflow
A bullshít managment word for a process in which they dont understand.
♫♪♫♪
New Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby raino » Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:25 pm

When I first saw this I figured Yamaha wanted access to Line6's modeling technologies, and not their audio interface capibilities - I love my Variax and PodHD500. This is the bulk of Line6's product mix. A very common reason for companies to buy other companies is for the patents. Yamaha already possesses the capability to build audio interfaces, they wouldn't need to buy Line6 to get that (unless there was a potential patent violation Yamaha is trying to avoid which seems unlikely).

This posting on KVR reinforces my opinion.
http://www.kvraudio.com/news/line-6-to-be-acquired-by-yamaha-corporation-24488

I also see this this is a good thing. Seems to me Steinberg's customer responsiveness improved after Yamaha got involved.

As a humorous side note on patents, I just finished taking the Coursera ChucK programming class - which is a language to do music with and I highly recommend for those so inclined. In the language documentation the following boilerplate appears many times

The basic Chowning/Stanford FM patent expired
in 1995, but there exist follow-on patents,
mostly assigned to Yamaha. If you are of the
type who should worry about this (making
money) worry away.
rodger
Cubase7.5.2 Win7 Home premium 64bit, Halion5, BFD3, GPO
i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2
User avatar
raino
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby forthwith » Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:44 am

raino wrote:I also see this this is a good thing. Seems to me Steinberg's customer responsiveness improved after Yamaha got involved.


Naturally, when there is more money on the table.

One great benefit however is that SB have managed to maintain full independence and control of the development (and procurement) process.
forthwith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:23 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby raino » Wed Dec 25, 2013 3:01 am

forthwith wrote:
raino wrote:I also see this this is a good thing. Seems to me Steinberg's customer responsiveness improved after Yamaha got involved.


Naturally, when there is more money on the table.

One great benefit however is that SB have managed to maintain full independence and control of the development (and procurement) process.


Excellent point about the independence. And that shows Yamaha is smart about their acquisitions and not trying to double-guess the expertise of the companies they buy.
rodger
Cubase7.5.2 Win7 Home premium 64bit, Halion5, BFD3, GPO
i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2
User avatar
raino
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby Reiknir » Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:37 am

raino wrote:When I first saw this I figured Yamaha wanted access to Line6's modeling technologies, and not their audio interface capibilities - I love my Variax and PodHD500. This is the bulk of Line6's product mix. A very common reason for companies to buy other companies is for the patents. Yamaha already possesses the capability to build audio interfaces, they wouldn't need to buy Line6 to get that (unless there was a potential patent violation Yamaha is trying to avoid which seems unlikely).


Given that Yamaha has some excellent modelling technologies of its own I am not so sure, heck I even prefer the Behringer pods over the L6 pods sound wise, I think it is more of a financial/production move, L6 has been in the doldrums financially and the build quality of their products has been complained about a lot recently. Yamaha is getting a brand well known in the English speaking guitar playing world, which is a sector that Yamaha has been under performing in since the 70's, with the exception of steel string acoustic and classical guitars. Given the financial performance of L6 recently, Yamaha has probably not paid too much for the company either.

More recently one of the reasons for the bad performance of L6 has been the surprise sales hit of the Yamaha H series of modelling amps that competed directly with both processors and amps from L6. The companies tie up with a low budget provider of Chinese "pro" audio products was also not a good idea in the first place.

Much like when Yamaha took over Steinberg after Pinnacle had diluted the brand by releasing hopeless consumer products that were not even sold via the Steinberg channels, I hope this will lead to a refocused Line6 and fans of the brand should take heart in fact that the company has stated they will keep it as a separate entity with the current staff, when Yamaha took over Korg and Steinberg they left the companies operation independent and focused on rebuilding them rather than gut them for brands and technologies.
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby Reiknir » Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:39 am

♫♪♫♪ wrote:
Torbiz wrote:It will be interesting to see what happens with Reason. Doesn't Line 6 own Propellerhead?

No, they only partnered up in the past.


So did Steinberg BTW, all of the early Propellerheads products including rebirth were released under the Steinberg label.
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby HowlingUlf » Thu Dec 26, 2013 6:17 pm

They should buy Ensoniq and Emu from Creative Labs for $19.99 :D
Gothenburg, Sweden
Cubase 7.5 32 | Intel i7 860 | 8GB | Win7 64 | Emu 1820M | BCR2000 | MPD16 via MIDI
and a few cables ... and some more stuff ... and even more than that, would you believe it ?!!?
User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby ♫♪♫♪ » Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:28 pm

Reiknir wrote:
♫♪♫♪ wrote:
Torbiz wrote:It will be interesting to see what happens with Reason. Doesn't Line 6 own Propellerhead?

No, they only partnered up in the past.


So did Steinberg BTW, all of the early Propellerheads products including rebirth were released under the Steinberg label.

Steinberg and Propellerhead partnered up on ReWire and the first version of ReCycle, not ReBirth.
Workflow
A bullshít managment word for a process in which they dont understand.
♫♪♫♪
New Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: OT: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby Reiknir » Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:12 pm

Torbiz wrote:Steinberg and Propellerhead partnered up on ReWire and the first version of ReCycle, not ReBirth.


V1 versions of Rebirth were distributed by Steinberg, I sold them at the time with a Steinberg logo on the packaging.


"Rule, Greg. "Keyboard Reports: Steinberg ReBirth RB-338," Keyboard 23:9:256 September 1997."
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Next

Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest