RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:10 pm

I've looked at some TotalMix youtubes, and it seems there is a lot of overlap between the Control Room in Cubase and that.

For people that have both ... does/can one replace the function of the others?

Thanks -
Last edited by alexis on Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby ETB » Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:15 pm

Your sig says C6.5. Why are you posting in the C7 forum? :?
W7 64, C7.5 64, CI1
ETB
Junior Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:57 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:23 pm

ETB - please help me understand how your post helped answer my question? I'm sure you must be one of the people I addressed the post to ("RME Users"), or at least someone with keen insight into the issue, or you wouldn't have wasted your time answering. I don't want to miss out on your wisdom and experience, so please help me understand your post better!

If it's any help, I'm asking about Cubase 7 - thanks!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby rbowlin » Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:18 pm

I've got an RME Fireface 800. It is possible to setup a headphone mix in either application. I found it was a bit easier for me to use the control room functionality rather than TotalMix but YMMV.

I've since bought the personal mixers from Behringer (yes- I said Behringer!) and now use 14 outputs from the Fireface to a P16-I into the P16-Ms via sends within Cubase. It works great and lets the talent adjust their own mix to their liking.

Hope this helps,

-Rich
rbowlin
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:11 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby ETB » Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:09 pm

alexis wrote:ETB - please help me understand how your post helped answer my question? I'm sure you must be one of the people I addressed the post to ("RME Users"), or at least someone with keen insight into the issue, or you wouldn't have wasted your time answering. I don't want to miss out on your wisdom and experience, so please help me understand your post better!

If it's any help, I'm asking about Cubase 7 - thanks!


If you don't own C7, then you should have posted in pre-sales forum. You missed out on wisdom somewhere down the line. :roll:
W7 64, C7.5 64, CI1
ETB
Junior Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:57 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby thinkingcap » Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:14 pm

There´s a difference between Totalmix and Totalmix FX, which has some more functionality concernicg CR features. and is very good for standalone use for example. Yet Cubase control room is more advanced. And if you´re working in Cubase, using its CR is more convenient than switching between Cubase and Totalmix FX
Last edited by thinkingcap on Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:21 pm

Thx for that, rbowlin, and.thinkingcap!

I think I did mean TotalMix FX, sorry :-( .

I'll fix the title of the post to reflect that. Does anyone here with access to both think TotalMix FX can replace control room?

Thanks!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby thinkingcap » Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:22 pm

alexis wrote:Does anyone here with access to both think TotalMix FX can replace control room?

Thanks!

Edited / added some points to my earlier post.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby ETB » Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:19 pm

Hmmmm.... according to sig., OP doesn't even run RME kit. What could be the possible reason for this post? :roll:
W7 64, C7.5 64, CI1
ETB
Junior Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:57 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby papi61 » Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:31 pm

Yeah, TotalMix FX is my control room. I use RME UFX and I don't need to use Cubase's control room, it wouldn't add any extra functionality, just extra hassle. If you have a Steinberg interface, however, you're given an interesting level of integration. In that case I would totally use Cubase's control room (also because I'd have no alternative, since TotalMix FX only works with RME products.)
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby papi61 » Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:33 pm

ETB wrote:Hmmmm.... according to sig., OP doesn't even run RME kit. What could be the possible reason for this post? :roll:


Maybe he's considering switching to an RME interface?
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:23 am

papi61 wrote:Yeah, TotalMix FX is my control room. I use RME UFX and I don't need to use Cubase's control room, it wouldn't add any extra functionality, just extra hassle. If you have a Steinberg interface, however, you're given an interesting level of integration. In that case I would totally use Cubase's control room (also because I'd have no alternative, since TotalMix FX only works with RME products.)


Awesome, thx papi61! Decent chance I'll be running my newly purchased C7 on a new rig in the next month or two (will know in a few weeks!), and will very very sadly be saying good bye to my good friend and companion, the Delta 66 in the Omni i/O studio. Since I've had that for more than 10 years I think, I figure I better buy quality this time around as well!

I've been drooling over the Fireface UCX for a few years now ... trying to stay calm for the next few weeks until I find out.

So, thanks for your personal perspective and experience!

(PS - if you don't know him from reading earlier posts - don't mind MashedKitten ... I don't, he can't help himself, it's like kabuki theater reading his posts).
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby noiseboyuk » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:09 pm

Yes, I too use TotalMix and not Control Room, partly because I love the basic volume / dim integration with the interface, and partly cos I do a lot of work in Pro Tools and other DAWs as well as Cubase, which would all require different solutions otherwise. It takes a while to get your head around, but its very flexible and, for basic operation day to day, quick and easy combined with the hardware.
noiseboyuk
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby marQs » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:50 pm

CR and FF800 playing nicely together here.

For up to 4 phones mixes CR + ASIO direct monitoring enabled (you have to do it in TotalMix as well as in Cubase) is extremely convenient.

If you need more than that, TotalMix offers up to 14 independent stereo mixes (think UFX even 15) - more than will ever make sense, never used more than 6.

Looking for a while myself to get myself an UFX because of TotalMix FX. Making use of the UFX' FX would mean to use TotalMix FX instead of CR or using some kind of hybrid setting like cue sends from Cubase plus your singer with a little reverb or so from the Fireface via TotalMix.
...Cubase 7.5 | WL 8.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win7 64...
User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby papi61 » Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:16 pm

noiseboyuk wrote:Yes, I too use TotalMix and not Control Room, partly because I love the basic volume / dim integration with the interface, and partly cos I do a lot of work in Pro Tools and other DAWs as well as Cubase, which would all require different solutions otherwise. It takes a while to get your head around, but its very flexible and, for basic operation day to day, quick and easy combined with the hardware.


Yes, TotalMix FX is not the most intuitive software ever designed, but neither is Control Room, for the record. Anyhow, both are not too hard to learn, given some time and patience. Like I said before, it all comes down to hardware integration. If you use an RME interface, Control Room basically gives you none at all, while TotalMix FX is completely integrated into your hardware. So, the choice is really an easy one.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:25 pm

Thanks again guys. A couple of weeks and I'll know if I'm doing the new rig thing.

No big deal if not, doing OK on 6.5, and except for the pain and disappointment I won't really mind if I can't upgrade :lol: .
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:30 pm

papi61 wrote:
noiseboyuk wrote:Yes, I too use TotalMix and not Control Room, partly because I love the basic volume / dim integration with the interface, and partly cos I do a lot of work in Pro Tools and other DAWs as well as Cubase, which would all require different solutions otherwise. It takes a while to get your head around, but its very flexible and, for basic operation day to day, quick and easy combined with the hardware.


Yes, TotalMix FX is not the most intuitive software ever designed, but neither is Control Room, for the record. Anyhow, both are not too hard to learn, given some time and patience. Like I said before, it all comes down to hardware integration. If you use an RME interface, Control Room basically gives you none at all, while TotalMix FX is completely integrated into your hardware. So, the choice is really an easy one.


Another question on Control Room vs. TotalMix FX if I could please - does TotalMix FX have an equivalent of the "Listen" button in the Control Room, as well as the Mono Button the Control Room offers?
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby papi61 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:24 pm

alexis wrote:Another question on Control Room vs. TotalMix FX if I could please - does TotalMix FX have an equivalent of the "Listen" button in the Control Room, as well as the Mono Button the Control Room offers?


Yes and yes.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:31 am

papi61 wrote:
alexis wrote:Another question on Control Room vs. TotalMix FX if I could please - does TotalMix FX have an equivalent of the "Listen" button in the Control Room, as well as the Mono Button the Control Room offers?


Yes and yes.


Hey papi61 or any other TotalMix FX users:

At 13:45 on this TotalMix FX vid https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sCH3qVaLL-I they talk about the "Cue" button, but it is more of a complete solo button than an equivalent of the Cubase "Listen" button (the latter of course where the other tracks are not completely muted, but simply turned down some dB).

I thought the "Dim" button in the TotalMix FX Control Room might be the ticket, but apparently it only describes how much all the channels are dimmed when the Talkback Mic is active?

Can anyone point me to where I can learn about the TotalMix FX equivalent of the Cubase "Listen" button please?

Or if there's no "Listen" button equivalent on the TotalMix FX - as I really like that feature in the Cubase Control Room ... how crazy would it be to have the Cubase Control Room activated but everything disabled but "Listen", and use TotalMix FX for the rest of the control room functions?

Thanks -
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:35 pm

alexis wrote:Hey papi61 or any other TotalMix FX users:

At 13:45 on this TotalMix FX vid https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sCH3qVaLL-I they talk about the "Cue" button, but it is more of a complete solo button than an equivalent of the Cubase "Listen" button (the latter of course where the other tracks are not completely muted, but simply turned down some dB).

I thought the "Dim" button in the TotalMix FX Control Room might be the ticket, but apparently it only describes how much all the channels are dimmed when the Talkback Mic is active?

Can anyone point me to where I can learn about the TotalMix FX equivalent of the Cubase "Listen" button please?

Or if there's no "Listen" button equivalent on the TotalMix FX - as I really like that feature in the Cubase Control Room ... how crazy would it be to have the Cubase Control Room activated but everything disabled but "Listen", and use TotalMix FX for the rest of the control room functions?

Thanks -

You can´t use totalmixFX for "the rest of the control room functions", since Totalmix FX simply doesn´t have them.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:52 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
alexis wrote:Hey papi61 or any other TotalMix FX users:

At 13:45 on this TotalMix FX vid https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sCH3qVaLL-I they talk about the "Cue" button, but it is more of a complete solo button than an equivalent of the Cubase "Listen" button (the latter of course where the other tracks are not completely muted, but simply turned down some dB).

I thought the "Dim" button in the TotalMix FX Control Room might be the ticket, but apparently it only describes how much all the channels are dimmed when the Talkback Mic is active?

Can anyone point me to where I can learn about the TotalMix FX equivalent of the Cubase "Listen" button please?

Or if there's no "Listen" button equivalent on the TotalMix FX - as I really like that feature in the Cubase Control Room ... how crazy would it be to have the Cubase Control Room activated but everything disabled but "Listen", and use TotalMix FX for the rest of the control room functions?

Thanks -

You can´t use totalmixFX for "the rest of the control room functions", since Totalmix FX simply doesn´t have them.


Thanks for that tc.

I was thinking of TotalMix FX having functionally similar/identical to Cubase "Control Room": "Speaker B", different submixes that can be used in lieu of Cubase Control Room's "Studio Sends", the "Mono" button, the Talkback "Dim" button, to start with off the top of my head.

Why do you say, "TotalMix FX simply doesn't have" other Control Functions ... am I misunderstanding the above?

Thanks again -
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby thinkingcap » Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:30 pm

alexis wrote:I was thinking of TotalMix FX having functionally similar/identical to Cubase "Control Room": "Speaker B", different submixes that can be used in lieu of Cubase Control Room's "Studio Sends", the "Mono" button, the Talkback "Dim" button, to start with off the top of my head.

Why do you say, "TotalMix FX simply doesn't have" other Control Functions ... am I misunderstanding the above?

Thanks again -

Because as I said before, Cubase Control room is way more advanced than Totalmix FX, especially, when you´re working in Cubase.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby papi61 » Thu Dec 26, 2013 3:13 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
alexis wrote:I was thinking of TotalMix FX having functionally similar/identical to Cubase "Control Room": "Speaker B", different submixes that can be used in lieu of Cubase Control Room's "Studio Sends", the "Mono" button, the Talkback "Dim" button, to start with off the top of my head.

Why do you say, "TotalMix FX simply doesn't have" other Control Functions ... am I misunderstanding the above?

Thanks again -

Because as I said before, Cubase Control room is way more advanced than Totalmix FX, especially, when you´re working in Cubase.


Sure, Control Room has more features, but the integration with RME hardware is basically ZERO. I can do everything I need with TotalMix FX and UFX, no need to bother using Control Room.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby alexis » Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:50 pm

papi61 wrote:...

Sure, Control Room has more features, but the integration with RME hardware is basically ZERO. I can do everything I need with TotalMix FX and UFX, no need to bother using Control Room.


Hi papi61 - are you able to set up TotalMix FX to give you something analagous to the Cubase Control Room "Listen Bus"? ... that is the one thing I value the most in Control Room that I haven't figured out how to use TotalMix FX for.

Thanks -
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: RME users: Is TotalMix FX a replacement for Control Rm?

Postby papi61 » Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:05 pm

Tell me what exactly you need to accomplish and I'll tell you if you can do it with TotalMix FX.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Next

Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Tyrcian and 4 guests