7.5 crashes alot

Everything else...

7.5 crashes alot

Postby bugishcompany » Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:30 pm

I am getting sooo many crashes with 7.5 and its always related to either midi editing or tweaking vsti's.

Total crash count today is 6, this is more than an entire week of total 7.0 usage.
Im guessing one or two vstis dont play well with the new instrument engine...but I shouldnt be surprised with steinbergs non-existant beta testing.

While I wait for Cubase to re-launch I came here to post this.
Merry Christmas, I hope Santa has a stable cubase for me tomorrow.
bugishcompany
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:08 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby Plasuma » Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:08 pm

Yup, crashing VSTs everywhere and CPU usage through the roof compared to the previous 7.0.6. Huge save files and longer save times, too. At this point, it's impossible for me to do any work with 7.5 unless I'm using VEP to host everything.

The way Steinberg runs things, you can expect 7.5 to be stable maybe next year in the summer or fall, right before they launch 8.
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5
Plasuma
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby d-_-b » Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:29 pm

and of course it's nothing to do with 3 party vsti's I suppose . Again as said so many times it's always system specific .

what OS and vsti's are you using Bugishcompany (not really a flaming name ;) )?
Last edited by d-_-b on Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win 7-64 bit | Rme-FF/ADi pro | Cubase Latest version 64 bit | WL8e | CMC's | Halion 5 | Midex | Automap 4.7.3 beta
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby Plasuma » Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:58 pm

You're right! Oh, please forgive me, how could I be so foolish?

Of course it's system-specific, and, yes, of course it's the fault of the 3rd party VSTs! Why, when everything was working fine in previous versions of Cubase, it was all just a fluke! We were collectively imagining it, even!

Thank you for your endless wisdom. My, I don't know where any of us would be without it.
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5
Plasuma
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby G-string » Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:19 pm

bugishcompany wrote:I am getting sooo many crashes with 7.5 and its always related to either midi editing or tweaking vsti's.

Total crash count today is 6, this is more than an entire week of total 7.0 usage.
Im guessing one or two vstis dont play well with the new instrument engine...but I shouldnt be surprised with steinbergs non-existant beta testing.

While I wait for Cubase to re-launch I came here to post this.
Merry Christmas, I hope Santa has a stable cubase for me tomorrow.


Bugishcompany wouldn't it be an idea to name your plugin's your having problems with


Plasuma wrote:You're right! Oh, please forgive me, how could I be so foolish?

Of course it's system-specific, and, yes, of course it's the fault of the 3rd party VSTs! Why, when everything was working fine in previous versions of Cubase, it was all just a fluke! We were collectively imagining it, even!

Thank you for your endless wisdom. My, I don't know where any of us would be without it.


how rude ,sticking your nose in in a condescending manner ... get a life
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 788 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby bugishcompany » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:35 pm

Naming vsts and system is a waste of time cuz I use them in logic + studio1 with no problems there.

Also, its easy to notice how little CPU vsts take in those apps compared to cubase...I made a thread about this with pics and test data but it got deleted fast, quite funny.

Merry x-mas!
bugishcompany
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:08 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby d-_-b » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:39 pm

bugishcompany wrote:Naming vsts and system is a waste of time cuz I use them in logic + studio1 with no problems there.

Also, its easy to notice how little CPU vsts take in those apps compared to cubase...I made a thread about this with pics and test data but it got deleted fast, quite funny.

Merry x-mas!


then even trying to help you is a waste of time and im sure Steinberg will remove this waste of time thread !

happy x-mas
Win 7-64 bit | Rme-FF/ADi pro | Cubase Latest version 64 bit | WL8e | CMC's | Halion 5 | Midex | Automap 4.7.3 beta
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby Plasuma » Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:55 pm

G-string wrote:how rude ,sticking your nose in in a condescending manner ... get a life

Yes, sir, Mr. Forum Police. I'll get right on that.

Maybe you'd like to show me how it's done first? It's hard to see your point through that hypocrisy you've got going on there.


A new version comes out, it's less stable than the last version. This has nothing to do with specific plugs if they were working fine all versions prior.
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5
Plasuma
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby bugishcompany » Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:39 pm

All plugins work perfectly in logic and studio1 and they take 30% less CPU in those apps...so something is crazy with the programming in cubase.

Sorry, but this is my conclusion.
bugishcompany
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:08 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby Headlands » Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:32 pm

This is really odd -- it's incredibly stable on my PC and I use almost exclusively 3rd party VSTs and VSTis on really huge sessions -- a LOT, from a lot of different companies. C 7.5 has been mostly perfectly stable for me (no more or less than 7, which was also very stable).

I wonder how we can find out why it's stable for some like me and not at all for others like the OP here?
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby bugishcompany » Sat Dec 28, 2013 3:54 pm

Perhaps the question should be why 2 other major DAWs work perfectly on the same system but cubase doesnt?

Theres been atleast 2 guys in this thread trying to diverting the issue to 3rd party and system specifics but its getting old... and at one point you just have to ask yourself the easy question: Everything else works, why doesnt cubase?
bugishcompany
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:08 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby andrewtuna » Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:08 pm

I have finished a project that works fine in 7.0.6 and than I open it in 7.5,
left it there for a while(just few minutes) without doing anything and cubase crash itself.

it's crazy steinberg charging money for this kind of upgrade, when will we see a stable working update?
andrewtuna
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:29 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby dr4kan » Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:23 pm

bugishcompany wrote:All plugins work perfectly in logic and studio1 and they take 30% less CPU in those apps...so something is crazy with the programming in cubase.

Sorry, but this is my conclusion.


even though C7.5 runs very fine here on my Mac, I agree that performance wise there is not comparison between S1 and Cubase (I have both). S1 uses much less resources than Cubase, however, Cubase is a much more complex software and it comes at a price...So, my current solution is to use them both depending on my needs.
Cubase 7.5, Mac i7 16 GB ram (512 + 512 Samsung 840 pro), OSX 10.9.0
MR816X, Motu Ultralite, UAD 2, MCU Pro, CC121, Adam A7x, Axiom 49...
dr4kan
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby Laurence Payne » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:02 pm

Headlands wrote:I wonder how we can find out why it's stable for some like me and not at all for others like the OP here?


It would be a good start if people with problems told us WHICH plugins were crashing? Why is this a problem?
Laurence Payne
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby d-_-b » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:08 pm

Laurence Payne wrote:
Headlands wrote:I wonder how we can find out why it's stable for some like me and not at all for others like the OP here?


It would be a good start if people with problems told us WHICH plugins were crashing? Why is this a problem?


Apparently that's not important :roll:
Win 7-64 bit | Rme-FF/ADi pro | Cubase Latest version 64 bit | WL8e | CMC's | Halion 5 | Midex | Automap 4.7.3 beta
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby Plasuma » Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:37 pm

d-_-b wrote:
Laurence Payne wrote:
Headlands wrote:I wonder how we can find out why it's stable for some like me and not at all for others like the OP here?


It would be a good start if people with problems told us WHICH plugins were crashing? Why is this a problem?


Apparently that's not important :roll:

Really, you want a list, you twit?

PLAY, load any large instrument, write a dense passage and start / stop a few times and there's guaranteed to be a crash. Save file size also jumps multiple megabytes in size and saving times increase dramatically with each instrument loaded.

Kontakt, load any large instrument (such as from Action Strikes or Session Strings), start and stop playback a few times. Crash. Huge save files, long save times.

Alchemy, open the browser, switch presets a few times while playing before polyphony stops. Crash.

Omnisphere, open the browser, switch presets a few times, guaranteed crash. Same story with Trilian.

Stylus RMX, start and stop a few times with more than 3 layers playing, crash.



Guess what? This didn't happen in 7.0.6, and stability is fine when they're loaded into VEPro instead.
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5
Plasuma
Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby d-_-b » Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:51 pm

Plasuma wrote:Really, you want a list, you twit?


Personal attach ?? tut tut ,and sticking your nose in again but this time with insults . :roll:

The post is aimed at the OP not you

Alchemy works here perfect , no issues at all on 64 bit
Win 7-64 bit | Rme-FF/ADi pro | Cubase Latest version 64 bit | WL8e | CMC's | Halion 5 | Midex | Automap 4.7.3 beta
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby NorthWood MediaWorks » Mon Dec 30, 2013 5:27 am

All politics aside, performance went down between v6 and V7 with cubase in my setup, same plugs.

It did not change with Reaper, or Studio One on the same machine, so I can confirm some of the claims made in the previous posts.

It seems simple to me, efficiency was dropped for the sake of features. Not like the cars these days... I'd prefer better mpg with cubase 7. 8-)
Robin
Join Us At The Forest

| Cubase 7.5.1 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win7 64 |
User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby ipanema » Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:51 am

Plasuma wrote:PLAY, load any large instrument, write a dense passage and start / stop a few times and there's guaranteed to be a crash.


Have you upgraded to PLAY 4? Have you tested your same project with the latest version of PLAY 3?
Just my 2c.
System 1 (master): Mac Pro 12-Core 2.93GHz, 16GB Ram OS X 10.9.1, Nuendo 6.0.5 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit, M-Audio ProFire 610
System 2 (slave): Core i7 3930K, Intel DX79SR, 64GB RAM, Win7 64bit, M-Audio Projectmix I/O
MacKie HR824, Roland XV5080, 3x 24" LEDs, Multiple SSDs & 2-3TB HDDs, VSL VE Pro, MIR Pro, lots of VST Instruments and Plugins
ipanema
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:02 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby sylvainmoreau » Fri Jan 03, 2014 4:44 pm

same here .. crash crash crash.
i'm trying to load a stupid kontakt5 + horns from sample modeling and it takes 1min than doesn't work !! then i remove the instrument and cubase is frozen for 3min !
Image

The way Steinberg runs things, you can expect 7.5 to be stable maybe next year in the summer or fall, right before they launch 8.


7.5 was released and people are still waiting for a stable version of 7.0.6 so..
cubase 7.5 .10/ rme fireface UC / W7x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
sylvainmoreau
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby DavidR1 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:10 pm

I am getting the same problem.

I can open Cubase 7.5. Lovely.

My project I spent slaving over for hours is now junk as it would open. it just gets stuck at:

stuck!.png
(2.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet


I have to agree with the comment made:

if 7.06 wasn't fixed how can you release 7.5.

The mind boggles.

I also do not understand why the mods on here don't kick people off for being nasty to each other.

Twit
Troll

I have been called some nasty things here for saying what is wrong with the software.

I do feel that it is wrong for Steinberg to release a further piece of crocked software that is just fluffed up with some better graphics but no actual substance.

Perhaps some words from our esteemed Helge Vogt at Steinberg could address the issues that users are experiencing etc...

However still a lot of money to invest into 6.5 upgrade to 7.0 then 7.5 to have a nice opening screen and lose what you have done so far....
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770 (3.4 GHz, 8 MB cache, 4 cores) Haswell Memory 16 GB DDR3
Hard drive 2 TB 7200 rpm SATA Optical drive DVD SATA writer Nvdida Geforce GTZ 660
User avatar
DavidR1
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:16 pm

davidR1: are you running a 32bit version of cubase? chances are, since the core of the app is taking up more memory, your project will no longer load as you go over the critical ~1-1.5GB RAM threshold where cubase begins crashing in x86 mode. If that is not the case, as crazy as it may seem, try loading the same project with different buffer settings of your audio interface. It's helped me open some stubborn projects in the past that would keep crashing or getting stuck on load like your example.
c6, c7.5, pc, w7, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, SSL duende, RME HDSP, audeze lcd-2, avantone mixcubes, slate digital, ...
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby DavidR1 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:18 pm

I am running 64 bit as I have 64 bit PC.
I have however made a discovery perhaps why CB 7.5 is not working.

When I load the actual project itself directly no problem!

But this is the strange bit it loads in version 7.06?!?!?!?

Now I have followed the CB article about renaming the CB folder as CB 7 hidden.

Still hasn't worked.

I am a bit confused as to why 7.5 project will open in the 7.06 software.

I haven't removed the old installation as I assumed the upgrade used some of the same files.

Something it seriously wrong here and SB or CB need to address that their software doesn't work on some environments (note I didn't say all)

I will look at why 7.5 isn't loading as default and update.

Now in safe mode I have been able to see the buffer as 512.
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770 (3.4 GHz, 8 MB cache, 4 cores) Haswell Memory 16 GB DDR3
Hard drive 2 TB 7200 rpm SATA Optical drive DVD SATA writer Nvdida Geforce GTZ 660
User avatar
DavidR1
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby DavidR1 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:31 pm

Lukas

To follow on...

OK I have right clicked on the same file and asked it to open in CB 7.5. You then get this stuck position.

So to confirm I right click on my project and get this:

Cubase open.png
(7.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Click on lower link you get version 7.06 open and no problems.

Same project and upper link and 7.5 opens and stalls.

stuck!.png
(2.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet


The file I am working from is about 4.12 MB.

:shock: & :o
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770 (3.4 GHz, 8 MB cache, 4 cores) Haswell Memory 16 GB DDR3
Hard drive 2 TB 7200 rpm SATA Optical drive DVD SATA writer Nvdida Geforce GTZ 660
User avatar
DavidR1
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 7.5 crashes alot

Postby DavidR1 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:36 pm

I have just noticed everyone that the last free upgrade to version7.07 is the end of this month.

What does that mean for 7.5?

DO you have to regress back to version 7.06 upgrade to 7.07 then 7.5?

viewtopic.php?f=181&t=51812
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770 (3.4 GHz, 8 MB cache, 4 cores) Haswell Memory 16 GB DDR3
Hard drive 2 TB 7200 rpm SATA Optical drive DVD SATA writer Nvdida Geforce GTZ 660
User avatar
DavidR1
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Next

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests