Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.

Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:47 pm

Hi.

Happy new year to everyone. I have been having such fun with my gear. My question this time is about how to record several (different) instruments on dedicated channels/tracks at the same time on LE5.

Let me break it down. Assuming Peter plays the guitar; John, bass; Mike, Sax; Tom, keys. If I want to record all four guys playing at the same time, how do I do that? I know I can balance their levels from their individual channels on the mixer, then record all four using one track in Cubase. But the issue is, what if I want to isolate each instrument for obvious reasons? Therefore, can I dedicate different channels on the mixer to work (record to) specific tracks in Cubase? For instance, can I put Peter and his guitar on say track 1 in Cubase; John on track 2; Mike on 3 and Tom on 4 while recording all four simultaneously?

Thanks.
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby thinkingcap » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:15 am

Togbish wrote:...-can I put Peter and his guitar on say track 1 in Cubase; John on track 2; Mike on 3 and Tom on 4 while recording all four simultaneously?

Yes.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Elektrobolt » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:24 am

How many audio inputs does your audio interface deliver into Cubase? Meaning, how many audio inputs does Cubase report as being available. This would limit how many individual sound sources you could record at any one time.

You refer to a "mixer", which really does seem like an external mixer (separate from the computer) and if you then route a stereo (or two mono) signals into the computer, that is about as "individual" as you can record inside Cubase.

Break it down into a little more details (e.g. your audio interface) and it will be easier for people to help out.
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:44 am

Elektrobolt wrote:How many audio inputs does your audio interface deliver into Cubase? Meaning, how many audio inputs does Cubase report as being available. This would limit how many individual sound sources you could record at any one time.

You refer to a "mixer", which really does seem like an external mixer (separate from the computer) and if you then route a stereo (or two mono) signals into the computer, that is about as "individual" as you can record inside Cubase.

Break it down into a little more details (e.g. your audio interface) and it will be easier for people to help out.


I have a 12-channel Xenyx mixer into which all the instruments are connected and mixed, then sent via USB port to the computer to be connected to Cubase. That is my basic configuration. Of course, the mixer has Left and Right outputs.
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Elektrobolt » Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:05 am

How many audio channels does Cubase show coming from your USB mixer?
(Devices - Device Setup... and then locate your ASIO information.)
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:09 am

2 INs, 2 OUTs. 4 in total
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby thinkingcap » Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:15 am

Togbish wrote:2 INs, 2 OUTs. 4 in total

Then obviously you can record two different tracks at a time with your interface /Mixer
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:27 pm

Two questions. How then can I record the two tracks? Assuming I have drums on channel 1 and keys on channel 2 on the mixer, and I want to record them simultaneously but differently on tracks 1 and 2 respectively in Cubase, how does that work? I tried it without success. That's why I had to come here.

2. How can I increase the number of tracks so I can record more instruments at once?

Thanks.
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby thinkingcap » Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:25 pm

Togbish wrote:Two questions. How then can I record the two tracks? Assuming I have drums on channel 1 and keys on channel 2 on the mixer, and I want to record them simultaneously but differently on tracks 1 and 2 respectively in Cubase, how does that work? I tried it without success. That's why I had to come here.

On your mixer pan the drums left and the keys right. Ijn Cubase create two mono busses, with one input Channel 1, one with input channel 2. (Or stereo L / or what ever the Xenyx channels are called in Cubase).

Togbish wrote:2. How can I increase the number of tracks so I can record more instruments at once?

Use an interface that provides the desired number of inputs.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:37 pm

Thank you, kind sir. My gear is actually setup as described except for the panning of the desired channels.

Off the top of your head, can you recommend any interface with this multi track recording capability? If not, I'll research it. You have been of much help.
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby thinkingcap » Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:49 pm

Togbish wrote:Thank you, kind sir. My gear is actually setup as described except for the panning of the desired channels.

Togbish wrote:Off the top of your head, can you recommend any interface with this multi track recording capability? If not, I'll research it. You have been of much help.

Now how many channels do you want exactly? And what price range? What connection to the computer? Usually standard is interfaces with 8 or 4 mic inputs, some then expandable via ADAT, AES or spdif, to up to 32 mic input channels.
Tascam US 1800
Presonus audiobox 1818VSL
Focusrite scarlett 1820 i
MOTU 8pre
For example.
Or you could use your xenyx as stereo submixer into an interface with less mic input channels.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:03 pm

At this moment, I do everything myself and it works for me. I am just doing research in advance to take care of some "expansion". What if 8 guys come in and want to record? Laying tracks one at a time is time wasting and does not spur creativity.

I'll research the list you have given. The Tascam and Scarlett jumps out right away though. I'll come back with my research findings. Thanks again.
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:07 am

UPDATE.
I have just checked out the Tascam US-1800. Here is what it says:
A versatile 16-in/4-out, 24-bit/96kHz interface bundled with Cubase LE5.

The US-1800 audio interface from Tascam offers a high amount of inputs for a minimum amount of cash. The US-1800 features up to 16 inputs and four outputs that are transmitted to your Mac or Windows computer over a high-speed USB 2.0 connection. There are a total of eight XLR microphone inputs with phantom power and 60 decibels of clean gain, as well as six balanced line inputs, stereo digital I/O and MIDI in/out. Also Included with the US-1800 is Cubase LE5 workstation software from Steinberg. This 48-track audio workstation includes must-have features like automation, plug-ins, mixing, editing and MIDI tracks.


I tend to like this, but if the instruments are plugged directly into the interface (Tascam in this case) and from there to the DAW (Cubase in this case), how do you refine the sound going into Cubase? This is where I like the mixer. It allows you to refine the sound up to a point. You can tweak the Hi, Mid and Lo frequencies, even add some effects before sending out. Do you have that luxury if you send the instrument directly into the DAW via the interface?
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby thinkingcap » Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:59 am

Togbish wrote:I tend to like this, but if the instruments are plugged directly into the interface (Tascam in this case) and from there to the DAW (Cubase in this case), how do you refine the sound going into Cubase? This is where I like the mixer. It allows you to refine the sound up to a point. You can tweak the Hi, Mid and Lo frequencies, even add some effects before sending out. Do you have that luxury if you send the instrument directly into the DAW via the interface?

You can' t do that with this interface. But then again, almost any software EQ inside Cubase is probably just as well, or even better than what you have in your Xenyx.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:56 am

thinkingcap wrote:You can' t do that with this interface. But then again, almost any software EQ inside Cubase is probably just as well, or even better than what you have in your Xenyx.


Makes sense. Got it. If everything is in the DAW, why bother with the Xenyx, especially in studio application? Some of us still enjoy the look and feel of tangible sliders. But of course, bulky hardware are being replaced by software. Neater. Simpler. Cheaper.

I will acquire the Tascam. 16 inputs will more than suffice for now. Thanks.
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby thinkingcap » Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:00 pm

Togbish wrote:But of course, bulky hardware are being replaced by software. Neater. Simpler. Cheaper.

Me too I prefer the real thing, and certainly not all hardware can be replaced by software, and not all software is cheaper but in the price range of the Xenyx, I´d say it´s not a problem to replace hardware with software.
You just need to know if you´re monitoring through Cubase during recording, you might have to deal with latency. Which you don´t with the Xenyx. But also the ineterface should provide a zero latency monitoring possibility - then without the Cubase EQs though.
Apart from that, there should also be mixers that allow for more than two channels recording, like the Presonus StudioLive series (Firewire), The Behringer X32, the Yamaha N8 / N12 (Firewire), Yamaha CL series (Dante), for example.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:35 pm

thinkingcap wrote:Apart from that, there should also be mixers that allow for more than two channels recording, like the Presonus StudioLive series (Firewire), The Behringer X32, the Yamaha N8 / N12 (Firewire), Yamaha CL series (Dante), for example.


I'll bet they cost an arm and leg. :lol: My setup more than meets my need, which is purely personal entertainment. Being able to record my work the way I want, when I want, is pure ecstasy. Plus, unless you are a full time recording engineer or make a living from the studio, there is a lot of learning to do about using these things. But what you sow is what you reap, I guess. I had a hard time learning to use Cubase and I tried to avoid it, but now I zip through my recordings just like that. I am nowhere near an expert but I get my stuff done.

With the integrated hardware, it is easy to navigate your way around the equipment and get things done. Plus they impress visitors to your studio and make you feel like the (wo)man behind the controls. You don't get the same feeling behind a PC or Mac. :lol: The way they are going, everything, including musical instruments will be on the computer very soon, such that you have your PC, you have everything you need to do a world class music production. Or are we there already?
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Scab Pickens » Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:11 am

Togbish wrote:Or are we there already?


Pretty much.
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Davenport, IA USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 75 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:38 am

Scab Pickens wrote:Pretty much.

I thought as much...
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Scab Pickens » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:50 am

Even with your LE5 version's included sounds, if you got a small MIDI controller keyboard - something like a Korg Microkey 37 - it would open up a whole new world to you, I have a feeling.

And even without a controller, you can always create a simple Instrument Track and "draw" in whatever you want.

It's a wide open world. Sounds like you are going to have some fun 8-) .

Good luck and happy music making!
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Davenport, IA USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 75 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Elektrobolt » Sat Jan 11, 2014 12:03 am

True, though IMHO nothing beat hands-on sound creation... e.g. this, this, this, this, this, etc..
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Togbish » Sat Jan 11, 2014 11:34 pm

Elektrobolt wrote:True, though IMHO nothing beat hands-on sound creation... e.g. this, this, this, this, this, etc..

Those are work horses for the pros... :lol:
Togbish
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recording Multi Instruments On Several Tracks

Postby Elektrobolt » Tue Jan 14, 2014 2:41 am

Togbish wrote:
Elektrobolt wrote:True, though IMHO nothing beat hands-on sound creation... e.g. this, this, this, this, this, etc..

Those are work horses for the pros... :lol:

The references were really more for the knobs and buttons! :)

I have no experience with the Gaia, never got around to acquire one. I don't buy as many synthesizers anymore (unfortunately) because it's crowded here as it is. Would love to get my hands on one though. After all, It is relatively small in size. :D
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times


Return to Cubase LE and Cubase AI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests