64vs32 bits, struggling with plugins and bridges? READ THIS

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

64vs32 bits, struggling with plugins and bridges? READ THIS

Postby jb » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:36 pm

Tip for other users strugling witg plugins and bridges:
I am using the 32 bit version of cubase on a 64 bit operating system. This works fine, and I have no problems at all accessing my "old plugins"(!).

The idea is to use jbridge for 'big 64 bits plugins" the other way around as explained and tested in this article in "sound on sound" (read from: "bridging those bits"):

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/nov10/a ... 64-bit.htm
Studio: Cubase 6.5.5 (& 7.5) 32 bits on Windows 7 64 bit.
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/nov10/a ... 64-bit.htm (tip).

Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/2x RME Digiface PCI
Intel Q6600 @2.40Ghz /Asus P5K/4gb/NVIDIA GeForce 850 GT/RME multiface PCI
Controllers:
Ipad2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000, 2x BCF 2000
User avatar
jb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 64vs32 bits, struggling with plugins and bridges? READ T

Postby GargoyleStudio » Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:05 pm

That is an excellent article :)

I understand the pain of losing 32bit plugins, I have many favourites that don't work terribly well if at all, but my personal take on it is to invest in the future and embrace other plugins or updates which are 64bit and run natively in my 64bit OS and my 64bit Cubase. I will suffer the pain of transition at one time or another so I might as well go for it now! And the pay-off I think is that I have a simpler system with no bridges involved (although hat's off to Mr Fernandes for JBridge, its excellent!).

I should now add that I haven't got that far yet, I still use 32bit plugins with VSTBridge, but I'm gradually finding 64bit replacements....

Mike.
[Win7x64, Cb7.5.30]
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1083
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: 64vs32 bits, struggling with plugins and bridges? READ T

Postby hikarateboy » Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:38 pm

If running 32 bit version of cubase does this mean you can still access the full memory available to the 64 bit os?
Cubase 7, Win7, AMD FX 6100 Black Edition, 16 gigs Ram, 2 graphics card, running 4 displays, RME Hamerfall 5296, 24 ch A/D I/O, CC121, Soundcraft TS12 console, tons more. Avatar taken in worlds record holder for quietest place on earth.
User avatar
hikarateboy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 64vs32 bits, struggling with plugins and bridges? READ T

Postby GargoyleStudio » Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:43 pm

I believe yes and no!! Each 32bit plugin or 32 bit app can only access 3GB (edit - see below!) in total (MS Windows), but between them they don't have to share the 3GB so they can use all the memory. Although I wonder if this is a total for all bridged plugins or per bridged plugin...

Mike.
Last edited by GargoyleStudio on Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[Win7x64, Cb7.5.30]
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1083
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: 64vs32 bits, struggling with plugins and bridges? READ T

Postby mroekalea » Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:44 pm

No, 32 bit programs can only access 2 GB of memory, this is under a 32 bit system, some can with special setting (boot.ini) acces 3 GB. Theoratically the OS can adress 4 GB of memory but this also includes videomemory and hardware buffers, so you see many 32 bit systems wih 4GB installed only showing 3,5 till 3,2 GB available!

When using 32 bit software on a 64 bit os, the software should be able to acces 4 GB of ram, that's it! It's a limit of 32 bit addressing.
Menoj
Win8.1, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB with Cubase 7.5 & artist 7.5, wavelab 8 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, MR816X+Focusrite pro 26 IO, Adam P22a + sub8, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 5, VG2, Arturia AF, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), HSO library, Fender Jazz basses, MB octaver, fender bassman 100, Orange AD200B, MB TTE500, TECAMP, Fender & FMC 12 cabs!
mroekalea
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: 64vs32 bits, struggling with plugins and bridges? READ T

Postby jb » Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:00 am

I suggest you read the article in the link if you have any questions..quote:

"In our tests here, it matched the performance of 64-bit Cubase and Sonar by loading all eight instruments. But taking it further, this presents an alternative to trying to bridge all those Waves and UAD plug-ins into a 64-bit host so you can use the odd 64-bit instrument: instead, you could use the 32-bit plug-ins natively in a 32-bit host, and bridge the odd 64-bit instrument instead."

And another interesting thing( about the difference between jbridge and steinybridge):

In Sonar, the BitBridge happily managed four instruments, using 3.5GB RAM, and got stuck on the fifth. Swapping VSTBridge for jBridge in Cubase left it able to match Sonar’s performance in loading up four instruments. It’s almost as if VSTBridge is artificially restricted to the 2GB of a 32-bit OS.

So yes, there are limits, but this way of working opens new posibilities to solve compatibility and performance problems..that is why I posted this.
Studio: Cubase 6.5.5 (& 7.5) 32 bits on Windows 7 64 bit.
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/nov10/a ... 64-bit.htm (tip).

Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/2x RME Digiface PCI
Intel Q6600 @2.40Ghz /Asus P5K/4gb/NVIDIA GeForce 850 GT/RME multiface PCI
Controllers:
Ipad2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000, 2x BCF 2000
User avatar
jb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Henry1970, RitchieM and 6 guests